XFX 9600 GT XXX Alpha Dog Edition 740M 512mb

The card - a closer look

The XFX Alpha Dog XXX Edition 9600 GT - close in
 
Last time I looked at the 9600 GT it had a 3rd party cooler installed on it. This time, we're looking at the stock cooler from XFX. The Alpha Dog edition is based around a black PCB with a card-keeper-esque bracket to make sure that the whole thing doesn't flex too much.
 
xfx 9600 gt alpha dog edition xxx  xfx 9600 gt alpha dog edition
 
You'll notice that the cooler spreads all the way across the memory modules for the card, perhaps because they're running at a swift 2000Mhz.
 
xfx 9600 gt xxx edition  XFX logo
 
XFX have used all high quality Japanese capacitors for the card which gives it an air of quality. The XFX logo on the side of the card also shows a nice level of detail in the card.
 
power
 
The card requires a single 6PIN PCI-e power.
 
outputs
 
The card has two Dual DVI HDCP enabled outputs, as well as the usual TV-out S-Video. This is what we have come to expect, although I was slightly surprised HDMI wasn't included on the card itself. Still, there's a converter in the box that works just fine.
 
 
The Cooler
 
The cooler on the XFX 9600 GT Alpha Dog XXX Edition is the stock Nvidia cooler. With a copper base and copper fins it should do the trick to keep the GPU cool. Running at around 35°C idle and 58°C load, the card certainly does keep the GPU cool and does it's job very well.
 
9600 gt fan
 
BUT (you knew it was coming!), the cooler is obnoxiously loud at pretty much all times. Recording the sounds at idle and at load I uploaded them for you to hear:
 
Idle
Load
 
As you can hear, the card is very loud and even though it is bound to be a little quieter inside a case (the test setup is on a bench), it is whiny enough to get very annoying. This is slightly disappointing considering Nvidia's partners generally have been doing pretty well keeping these cool cards quiet.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-04-2008, 09:43:18

FarFarAway
Check out the Alpha Dog Edition 9600 GT from XFX!

Clicky here

07-04-2008, 10:10:22

Bungral
Nice review Matt.. Detailed as ever.

Neither of the 9600s are for me, but its good to see XFX bringing out an Alpha Dog editions as like you said it needed a little boost from stock to bring it in to a decent bracket.

07-04-2008, 10:15:16

Rastalovich
Great review m8. 114.. I mean we call it a "mid range" card, so arguably it`s a higher-mid-range for the 9 series, but the nVidia cards at present are all over the shop imo. - unless you forget about the 8 series completely.

Personally I like to compare the x6xx card with x6xx in the same series and the series below - only cos mid range is mid range - but it competes with the 8800GT in many respects, including it`s ability to clock better, and supposedly SLI better. `Would u SLI 88GT or 96GT ?`, many would say 96GT if that were the choice.

Then again also, XFX pushing the card very well imo.

07-04-2008, 10:48:44

ionicle
good review

medeocre card....hmm

07-04-2008, 13:58:44

FarFarAway
It's a mid-range card, of course it's mediocre!

07-04-2008, 14:46:28

ionicle
the 8600GT was quite exceptional, performance and feature wise

this is...medeocre, in comparison to the 9800GTX

wheras the 8600GT was just a cut down version of the 8800GTX

07-04-2008, 14:50:23

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
the 8600GT was quite exceptional, performance and feature wise

this is...medeocre, in comparison to the 9800GTX

wheras the 8600GT was just a cut down version of the 8800GTX
I swear you don't actually read half the reviews we do ya know...

07-04-2008, 14:59:30

ionicle
i do read them, but i also owned a 8600GT, great card it was too...

looking at the comparison of this to the 9800GTX it doesnt perform aswell as an 8600GT would when compared to an 8800GTS 320mb, IMO

unless you think i'm wrong ofcorse?

07-04-2008, 15:04:33

FarFarAway
The 9600 GT performs a fair amount better than the 8600 GT would, even when taking into consideration the generation cards.

07-04-2008, 15:05:22

ionicle
i dont doubt that, the point i was making, was the gap in performance between the 86xx and the 88xx is probably less than between the 96xx and the 98xx

07-04-2008, 15:21:52

FarFarAway
And I don't think that's true...which is the point I was making

07-04-2008, 15:33:55

ionicle
ahh, okay, so they're closing the gap performance wise? ...hmmmm....that doesnt make good business sense

they should all increase, all levels of cards, but only by the same amount, in the same...incriments....otherwise one level will get too high/too low, and merge into another...

07-04-2008, 15:41:19

tinytomlogan
Strange how the admiration for a review changes once you have written one.

Nice one dude great read.

07-04-2008, 15:43:33

FarFarAway
Thanks mate

07-04-2008, 17:25:47

dxs
damn u guyz bang out reviews fast. nice review tho. wasn't likin the stock 9600 much but this looks better
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.