XFX 8800 GTS 320mb Fatal1ty Edition

Game Benchmarks - CoD 2, F.E.A.R. and Oblivion

Call of Duty 2

Call of Duty 2 is a fairly recent game that uses a lot of DirectX 9.0c features, including real time shadows, amazing smoke effects and some nice looking HDR effects. This makes the game very taxing at these high resolutions. I played a fully patched up version of the game. Once again I played through the game with a two minute gaming session including explosions, smoke and also lots of snow.

Let's see how the Fatal1ty 8800 does here:

call of duty 2

The XFX Fatal1ty GTS keeps up with the others cards here and indeed beats them out by a few FPS. Only the 2900XT manages to top it on Maximum FPS.

F.E.A.R.

F.E.A.R. is a game based on an engine that uses many features of DirectX 9.0c. It has volumetric lighting, soft shadows, parallax mapping and particle effects, with a slow-motion mode that really taxes today's top of the line GPU's. I fully patched version the game with the latest patch. I played three two-minute runs on a taxing part of the game with plenty of action, using slow-motion for the full time whilst firing at enemy soldiers and using grenades that produce a cool "blast" contortion effect when blown up.

F.E.A.R. looks great on the 8 series for sure, but how playable was it?

fear fatal1ty gts


F.E.A.R. was very smooth and looked gorgeous on the 8800GTS Fatal1ty. The 320MB less memory making no difference to the gameplay. Those 1500MHz clocked shader processors and stellar clock speeds made all the difference getting the 8800 GTS Fatal1ty to the top of the pile here.

Oblivion

Oblivion is an awesome RPG with a simply huge immersive environment, great graphics and incredibly realistic scenery. This game is currently one of the most testing games that you can buy and it is certainly a test of the high-end cards here. I chose to do a run-through of the Arena part of the game. I spoke to a character, did some magic whilst in a fight and fought in the arena that is pretty huge. Also as well as doing this test I took a wander around to make sure that the benchmark resembled the general gameplay with each card.

Settings used are below:

oblivion settings

And the results:

oblivion fps

Strange results here but the XFX Fatal1ty 8800 GTS kept a far more playable frame rate than it's 640MB brothers with only the awesome Oblivion performance of the ATI hardware beating it to the top of the charts.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-09-2007, 18:29:02

FarFarAway
We take a look at a card XFX claims is the "Worlds fastest 8800GTS"

Does it really live up to the hype?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...180202420s.jpg

Check it out!

30-09-2007, 18:40:31

PV5150
Awesome review Kemp and a great card to boot. Loved the inclusion of the DX9 vs DX10 comparison.

30-09-2007, 18:42:23

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Awesome review Kemp and a great card to boot. Loved the inclusion of the DX9 vs DX10 comparison.
Cheers.

I'm seeing what I can do about getting a more thorough analysis of that, keep your eyes peeled folks

30-09-2007, 19:34:21

darkorb
Nice review man, im still reading it and thought i should post this.

I just won this card on bjorn3d.com, so i am totally excited for it. Would this 320mb version work with my existing 640mb in SLI?

01-10-2007, 02:38:38

FarFarAway
Not sure mate tbh, worth a try I suppose

01-10-2007, 05:15:55

Toxcity
Very good review kemp!

I am loving the DX9 and DX10 comparison, was a suprise!

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
Nice review man, im still reading it and thought i should post this.

I just won this card on bjorn3d.com, so i am totally excited for it. Would this 320mb version work with my existing 640mb in SLI?
It would work perfect, as long as you have the card with the smallest amount of memory in the primary slot.

That is what I found to make it work without a BSOD.

Guide

That has some more infomation!

01-10-2007, 05:32:36

Mr. Smith
I enjoyed reading that mate

I also drooled over the dx10 screenies, and was suprised to see the average dx10 (vista) frame frate higher than dx9 (xp).

I may just get vista soon

01-10-2007, 08:00:37

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
Very good review kemp!

I am loving the DX9 and DX10 comparison, was a suprise!

It would work perfect, as long as you have the card with the smallest amount of memory in the primary slot.

That is what I found to make it work without a BSOD.

Guide

That has some more infomation!
Thankd mate and good work, reps for you

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
I enjoyed reading that mate

I also drooled over the dx10 screenies, and was suprised to see the average dx10 (vista) frame frate higher than dx9 (xp).

I may just get vista soon
DX10 looks awesome at points although generally Bioshock looks pretty damn good anyway

01-10-2007, 10:35:44

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Thankd mate and good work, reps for you
Thanks dude!

Only relaying a problem I had with BSODs and SLI with two cards with different memory.

It is amazing what can make cards BSOD.. and what can make them stop.

01-10-2007, 10:59:36

Rastalovich
Not a bad price for such a decent card tbh.

Agree with the missing embossed "XFX Fat" sunken-green-print on the black rear plates. So simple and definately a missed oportunity. XFX should do it tbh, getting a bit tired of the blank black pci-slot feature myself. Looks naff with the shiney silver LL case rears especially.

The less said about the face on the sticker, the better. Be nice to have an OC3D printable sticky label to put over it Easily done with some lazer-label sheets.

Great review Kemp.

01-10-2007, 16:05:01

darkorb
enabling coolbits will stop BSoD if i get any?

01-10-2007, 16:33:34

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
enabling coolbits will stop BSoD if i get any?
Catch me on MSN, and I will explain all the details!

08-10-2007, 18:37:07

cube
A bit of a pointless card since the 320MB version is being phased out - the Fatal1ty series are also meant to represent high performance components, not mid range etc. like the 320MB 8800GTS is - it would have made more sense to do either the 640MB GTS or the GTX

08-10-2007, 19:56:32

darkorb
well there is a 8600gt fatality card if im not mistaking, and thats not high performance

09-10-2007, 07:41:04

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cube'
A bit of a pointless card since the 320MB version is being phased out - the Fatal1ty series are also meant to represent high performance components, not mid range etc. like the 320MB 8800GTS is - it would have made more sense to do either the 640MB GTS or the GTX
XFX and fatal1ty brand are marketed as Pro Gamers Gear. That doesn't mean high or low end, it means things gamers would want to buy. Generally easily marketable high volume products.

A bit pointless? In what way? It beats out 640MB versions easily due to massive out of the factory clocks and Ultra fast shader processors. Some games in the future may need the extra memory but look at the figures, most games out now run fine

09-10-2007, 08:05:47

Rastalovich
Think we were implying so many months ago that cards with 1G on them were pretty ambitious.

Meh guess it depends what u`r doing.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.