XFX 8800 GTS 320mb Fatal1ty Edition

The Card - close up

Meet the card - XFX 8800GTS Fatal1ty Edition 320mb

XFX have kept the standard cooler for the 8800GTS on the card but brightened it up with a ncie red and black sticker. I would have liked to see an impressive cooler added to the card but I assume this would drive up costs and XFX want this aimed at a certain price range.

XFX 8800GTS front

8800 gts rear

The good thing about the sticker is that you can ignore Fatal1ty's face on it and imagine it's a cool red and black sticker with a random pattern on it...almost.

card power


card top

XFX have missed a trick here I think. There's space for a cool bit of branding on the edge of the card so that people with windows can show off the "XFX inside".

dual HDCP DVI

Two Dual-Link HDCP capable DVI ports reside on the card as you'd expect with an additional TV-Out for those wanting to hook it up to an HDTV. Of course if your TV's got VGA in you can make use of the DVI to VGA connector for that purpose too, though you lose the HDCP with the analogue connection.

The cooler

As with most other 8800GTS cards, the cooler on the Fatal1ty 8800 GTS is the stock copper base/aluminium pipe-fin combo that we've seen before. This is a pretty good cooler and I'm not surprised XFX have used it again here in all honesty. Surprisingly when recording the temperatures the card was pretty cool, a nice 52°C idle and 74°C load, better than some of the others tested previously.

xfx 8800gts fatal1ty cooler

The fan is quiet and will be fine for all but the most discerning quiet-PC enthusiast.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-09-2007, 18:29:02

FarFarAway
We take a look at a card XFX claims is the "Worlds fastest 8800GTS"

Does it really live up to the hype?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...180202420s.jpg

Check it out!

30-09-2007, 18:40:31

PV5150
Awesome review Kemp and a great card to boot. Loved the inclusion of the DX9 vs DX10 comparison.

30-09-2007, 18:42:23

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Awesome review Kemp and a great card to boot. Loved the inclusion of the DX9 vs DX10 comparison.
Cheers.

I'm seeing what I can do about getting a more thorough analysis of that, keep your eyes peeled folks

30-09-2007, 19:34:21

darkorb
Nice review man, im still reading it and thought i should post this.

I just won this card on bjorn3d.com, so i am totally excited for it. Would this 320mb version work with my existing 640mb in SLI?

01-10-2007, 02:38:38

FarFarAway
Not sure mate tbh, worth a try I suppose

01-10-2007, 05:15:55

Toxcity
Very good review kemp!

I am loving the DX9 and DX10 comparison, was a suprise!

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
Nice review man, im still reading it and thought i should post this.

I just won this card on bjorn3d.com, so i am totally excited for it. Would this 320mb version work with my existing 640mb in SLI?
It would work perfect, as long as you have the card with the smallest amount of memory in the primary slot.

That is what I found to make it work without a BSOD.

Guide

That has some more infomation!

01-10-2007, 05:32:36

Mr. Smith
I enjoyed reading that mate

I also drooled over the dx10 screenies, and was suprised to see the average dx10 (vista) frame frate higher than dx9 (xp).

I may just get vista soon

01-10-2007, 08:00:37

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
Very good review kemp!

I am loving the DX9 and DX10 comparison, was a suprise!

It would work perfect, as long as you have the card with the smallest amount of memory in the primary slot.

That is what I found to make it work without a BSOD.

Guide

That has some more infomation!
Thankd mate and good work, reps for you

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
I enjoyed reading that mate

I also drooled over the dx10 screenies, and was suprised to see the average dx10 (vista) frame frate higher than dx9 (xp).

I may just get vista soon
DX10 looks awesome at points although generally Bioshock looks pretty damn good anyway

01-10-2007, 10:35:44

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Thankd mate and good work, reps for you
Thanks dude!

Only relaying a problem I had with BSODs and SLI with two cards with different memory.

It is amazing what can make cards BSOD.. and what can make them stop.

01-10-2007, 10:59:36

Rastalovich
Not a bad price for such a decent card tbh.

Agree with the missing embossed "XFX Fat" sunken-green-print on the black rear plates. So simple and definately a missed oportunity. XFX should do it tbh, getting a bit tired of the blank black pci-slot feature myself. Looks naff with the shiney silver LL case rears especially.

The less said about the face on the sticker, the better. Be nice to have an OC3D printable sticky label to put over it Easily done with some lazer-label sheets.

Great review Kemp.

01-10-2007, 16:05:01

darkorb
enabling coolbits will stop BSoD if i get any?

01-10-2007, 16:33:34

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
enabling coolbits will stop BSoD if i get any?
Catch me on MSN, and I will explain all the details!

08-10-2007, 18:37:07

cube
A bit of a pointless card since the 320MB version is being phased out - the Fatal1ty series are also meant to represent high performance components, not mid range etc. like the 320MB 8800GTS is - it would have made more sense to do either the 640MB GTS or the GTX

08-10-2007, 19:56:32

darkorb
well there is a 8600gt fatality card if im not mistaking, and thats not high performance

09-10-2007, 07:41:04

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cube'
A bit of a pointless card since the 320MB version is being phased out - the Fatal1ty series are also meant to represent high performance components, not mid range etc. like the 320MB 8800GTS is - it would have made more sense to do either the 640MB GTS or the GTX
XFX and fatal1ty brand are marketed as Pro Gamers Gear. That doesn't mean high or low end, it means things gamers would want to buy. Generally easily marketable high volume products.

A bit pointless? In what way? It beats out 640MB versions easily due to massive out of the factory clocks and Ultra fast shader processors. Some games in the future may need the extra memory but look at the figures, most games out now run fine

09-10-2007, 08:05:47

Rastalovich
Think we were implying so many months ago that cards with 1G on them were pretty ambitious.

Meh guess it depends what u`r doing.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.