XFX 8800 GTS 320mb Fatal1ty Edition

Introduction, packaging, package and specification

Introduction

XFX have somewhat of a reputation to uphold in the video card market. As one of nVidia's biggest AIB's they supply some of the fastest clocked cards money can buy.

Today I am looking at a card they have teamed up with Jonathan "Fatal1ty" Wendell to make. Their "PROFESS1ONAL" series are a set of cards clocked even higher than the rest of their cards, straight out of the factory. With 320mb DDR3 onboard and clock very high, how will it match up to a 640mb card? Let's see...

Packaging

As usual with their Profess1onal series, XFX have gone for the bright red and black packaging on the box. This would definitely stand out on the shelves as it is a striking and interesting design. The flipside, of course, is that XFX insist on putting Fatal1ty's face on everything, which could be enough to put people off.

fatal1ty 320mb 8800 gts

box appearance

Something I always love is being able to see the product through the packaging and XFX have certainly enabled you to do just that.

box inside 1

box inside 2

The inside of the box is up to XFX's usual excellent standards and your card will be well wrapped up for it's journey to your door.

Package

XFX have put together a nice little software package for the 8800GTS Fatal1ty Edition card. In the box is Lost Planet, which although is not to my taste, is a DirectX 10 game and a fairly big release. I was a little disappointed with the lack of HDTV hardware included but then you have to bear in mind that this is a card aimed at gamers and not HTPC enthusiasts. Also an S-Video adapter is included so most people should be able to get by with this.

Included is:

* Manual and Instructions booklet
* Quick Install Guide
* S-Video guide sheet
* Driver CD
* XFX "Don't disturb me I'm gaming" door sign
* Lost Planet Full game
* 1 x S-Video to S-Video connector
* 1 x DVI to VGA connector

package

Not a bad bundle by anyone's books and it should please those who are wanting to buy the card anyway.

Specification

MFG Model Number: PVT80GG1D4

Product Name: GF 8800 GTS 650M 320MB DDR3 DUAL DVI TV

Package Contents: S-Video Cable, DVI Adaptor x 2, HDTV Component Adaptor

Main Description: GEFORCE 8800 GTS 650M 320MB / DUAL DVI

Supplemental Description: HDCP / HDTV / PCI-E / DDR3 / RoHS / Vista

UPC Number: 778656044326

Chipset: GF 8800 GTS
BUS Type: PCI-E
GPU Clock 650 MHz
Memory Bus 320 bit
Memory Type DDR3
Memory Size 320MB
Memory Speed 2.0 GHz
Shader clock 1500 MHz
Cooling Type FANSINK
TV OUT YES
VGA NO
DVI OUT YES (DUAL)
DUAL-LINK DVI YES (DUAL)
Max Supported Resolution 2560x1600
HDMI NO
RoHS YES
HDCP YES
NVIDIA-SLI READY YES
Windows Vista Ready YES
Low Profile Compatible NO

Specs are looking good, let's take a look at the card.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-09-2007, 18:29:02

FarFarAway
We take a look at a card XFX claims is the "Worlds fastest 8800GTS"

Does it really live up to the hype?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...180202420s.jpg

Check it out!

30-09-2007, 18:40:31

PV5150
Awesome review Kemp and a great card to boot. Loved the inclusion of the DX9 vs DX10 comparison.

30-09-2007, 18:42:23

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Awesome review Kemp and a great card to boot. Loved the inclusion of the DX9 vs DX10 comparison.
Cheers.

I'm seeing what I can do about getting a more thorough analysis of that, keep your eyes peeled folks

30-09-2007, 19:34:21

darkorb
Nice review man, im still reading it and thought i should post this.

I just won this card on bjorn3d.com, so i am totally excited for it. Would this 320mb version work with my existing 640mb in SLI?

01-10-2007, 02:38:38

FarFarAway
Not sure mate tbh, worth a try I suppose

01-10-2007, 05:15:55

Toxcity
Very good review kemp!

I am loving the DX9 and DX10 comparison, was a suprise!

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
Nice review man, im still reading it and thought i should post this.

I just won this card on bjorn3d.com, so i am totally excited for it. Would this 320mb version work with my existing 640mb in SLI?
It would work perfect, as long as you have the card with the smallest amount of memory in the primary slot.

That is what I found to make it work without a BSOD.

Guide

That has some more infomation!

01-10-2007, 05:32:36

Mr. Smith
I enjoyed reading that mate

I also drooled over the dx10 screenies, and was suprised to see the average dx10 (vista) frame frate higher than dx9 (xp).

I may just get vista soon

01-10-2007, 08:00:37

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
Very good review kemp!

I am loving the DX9 and DX10 comparison, was a suprise!

It would work perfect, as long as you have the card with the smallest amount of memory in the primary slot.

That is what I found to make it work without a BSOD.

Guide

That has some more infomation!
Thankd mate and good work, reps for you

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
I enjoyed reading that mate

I also drooled over the dx10 screenies, and was suprised to see the average dx10 (vista) frame frate higher than dx9 (xp).

I may just get vista soon
DX10 looks awesome at points although generally Bioshock looks pretty damn good anyway

01-10-2007, 10:35:44

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Thankd mate and good work, reps for you
Thanks dude!

Only relaying a problem I had with BSODs and SLI with two cards with different memory.

It is amazing what can make cards BSOD.. and what can make them stop.

01-10-2007, 10:59:36

Rastalovich
Not a bad price for such a decent card tbh.

Agree with the missing embossed "XFX Fat" sunken-green-print on the black rear plates. So simple and definately a missed oportunity. XFX should do it tbh, getting a bit tired of the blank black pci-slot feature myself. Looks naff with the shiney silver LL case rears especially.

The less said about the face on the sticker, the better. Be nice to have an OC3D printable sticky label to put over it Easily done with some lazer-label sheets.

Great review Kemp.

01-10-2007, 16:05:01

darkorb
enabling coolbits will stop BSoD if i get any?

01-10-2007, 16:33:34

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
enabling coolbits will stop BSoD if i get any?
Catch me on MSN, and I will explain all the details!

08-10-2007, 18:37:07

cube
A bit of a pointless card since the 320MB version is being phased out - the Fatal1ty series are also meant to represent high performance components, not mid range etc. like the 320MB 8800GTS is - it would have made more sense to do either the 640MB GTS or the GTX

08-10-2007, 19:56:32

darkorb
well there is a 8600gt fatality card if im not mistaking, and thats not high performance

09-10-2007, 07:41:04

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cube'
A bit of a pointless card since the 320MB version is being phased out - the Fatal1ty series are also meant to represent high performance components, not mid range etc. like the 320MB 8800GTS is - it would have made more sense to do either the 640MB GTS or the GTX
XFX and fatal1ty brand are marketed as Pro Gamers Gear. That doesn't mean high or low end, it means things gamers would want to buy. Generally easily marketable high volume products.

A bit pointless? In what way? It beats out 640MB versions easily due to massive out of the factory clocks and Ultra fast shader processors. Some games in the future may need the extra memory but look at the figures, most games out now run fine

09-10-2007, 08:05:47

Rastalovich
Think we were implying so many months ago that cards with 1G on them were pretty ambitious.

Meh guess it depends what u`r doing.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.