XFX 8800 GT XXX Alpha Dog Edition - G92 Performance

Benchmarks - 3dmark

Benchmarking - 3DMark

I used the popular gaming benchmarks made by Futuremark to bench all of the cards. I used 3dMark 03, 05 and 06. I ran all benchmarks from the stock settings as well as at 1920 x 1200 (4 x AA).

3DMark 03

First we start with 3DMark03. This is a benchmark that relies heavily on DirectX 8 features. This will give an indication of how the card will run on games that rely on DX 8.

3dmark03 benchmark

Falling just behind the other cards (apart from the 8800 GTS Fatal1ty) in 3DMark03, the 8800 GT puts up a good fight in the earlier benchmark.

3DMark05

I ran 3dMark05. This benchmark requires some more features of DirectX 9 and gets slightly more taxing on the cards.

3dmark05 benchmark

In the stock resolution benchmark the XFX 8800 GT XXX Alpha Dog Edition card holds its own. However in the slightly higher resolution situations the better endowed cards start to step up a little.

3DMark06

3dMark06 is the latest in the benchmarking tests from Futuremark. It has a lot of DirectX 9.0c features such as HDR and use of Shader model 3.0. This benchmark is very taxing for the cards and also includes quite a harsh CPU benchmark. Seeing as this was run with the exact same CPU this was not an issue. This is the latest Futuremark benchmark and so carries a bit more weight for modern games than the previous two.

3dmark06 benchmark

The same pattern occurs in 3DMark06, with the XFX 8800 GT falling off a little at the higher resolution. There's no doubting, however, that the Alpha Dog Edition GT can beat out the fastest 8800 GTS we've tested in our labs.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-11-2007, 14:17:38

FarFarAway
Check out what we think of the new Nvidia card on the block

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214638139s.jpg

Click

01-11-2007, 14:50:13

Toxcity
Wow, pretty nice card, eh?

I am guessing the 10% is an error... :eh:

Loving thing review Kemp, Well done mate.

01-11-2007, 14:56:32

FarFarAway
Clear your cache mate, it's 92%

01-11-2007, 14:57:31

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Clear your cache mate, it's 92%
Ah, thats better!

Brilliant write up none the less Kemp!

01-11-2007, 15:27:28

Brooksie
Lovely review Kempez

01-11-2007, 15:55:03

sbrehm72255
Nice review........that's one of the cards I'm currently looking at getting......

One small question for you all though, with those 2 sets of mounting holes around the core, what type of GPU water blocks will fit w/wo adapter plates/fittings????? Just wondering if my current Swiftech MCW60 will fit without having to get any sort of adapters.

01-11-2007, 17:51:02

Rastalovich
Outstanding review.

Completely agree with the summation in the conclusion.

Does beg a question as to what they test the Crysis engine with in-house. Unless they test it at lower resolutions than they think the community are using.

Theoretical Quad SLI, Quad X6850, best mobo, best memory, all overclocked under sub-space temps - and u`ll be "playable" ? - sounds pretty poor dev to me. DX9 tho and it kicks.

Anywho, it`s gotta be the card of choice atm, particularly bang per buck.

Drivers will improve, theres no doubt. Kinda widens the gap between generations when this happens, be interesting to see the same cards tested with those drivers in so many months time. Or maybe by then the top of the range card will be out and the others will be fairly insignificant.

Excellent read, been really looking forward to a trusted opinion on these cards, and the choice of this XFX model caps it all off.

Speaking of the HSF houver tho - can the usual suspects be fitted to this as a replacement ?

01-11-2007, 18:24:58

FarFarAway
Full cover blocks won't fit at all so I've heard, but blocks fitting just the core should be OK.

As far as Crysis is concerned I don't think it's bad development, it's just a far more stressful game in DX10 mode. You really can tell (even at a low res) why the current gen cards are having problems, there's some awesome effects and detailing in there. The current gen cards (sort of including 8800GT) are still the first batch of cards to come to the market supporting DX10...remember the FX series? You get my point.

Crysis will look truly stunning once we have hardware that can play it at an appropriate level

01-11-2007, 19:52:15

Hyper
Amazingly well done review Kemp

Cant wait to give mine a proper go when I find some free time

01-11-2007, 20:08:43

ali_james
Excellent review

Can't wait to get my hands on one of these myself!

01-11-2007, 20:47:29

Bungral
Nice review Kept... Very detailed.

Just wanna crack open my GT now but gotta be up early so its gonna have to wait until tomorrow. Ahhhh sucks!

02-11-2007, 05:32:36

ken_shiro
Great review, can't wait to see how this preforms with an aftermarket cooler!

02-11-2007, 18:05:27

SuB
nice review kemp as regards to crysis you said beta?

i saw SP demo shots? is that classed as beta?

just a nit pick i guess as i'm unsure :P

nice card and hopefully a winner with matured drivers ?

03-11-2007, 13:56:21

FarFarAway
SP demo is in beta stage afaik

I did not have at any stage any issues with drivers

03-11-2007, 15:18:26

Mr. Smith
This card seems pretty good, 3dm06 score is ~15.5K with one stick of turd ram.

I think the ram issue is preventing me from getting more from the card.

Clocks like a champ, see sig. Not even at max yet!

Edit: The mcw60 does fit this card with the standard/old mounting plate (read non g80 plate). I'm in two minds wheather or not to stick this on water as the temps seem ok to me, 81 max at load after a few hours...

After playing with the card more I'm leaning towards it's 'OK' rather than amazing, seems to be a lot of hype. This is possibly due to me swapping out the GTS for the GT and expecting some GTX-esque performance as people were stating, I've yet so see/feel that tbh. Probably because my rig is crippled with one stick of ram.

The hsf is small, I beleive iirc 500cm2 where as the GTS is 2000cm2, but seems adequate.

Once my ram arrives I'll re-edit this post with a more definitive opinion.

07-02-2008, 23:25:28

nicktg
I'm not a gamer, even though I won't mind playing with this new system I got. I got a Dell with the Q6600 Quad processor. I am a videographer though and I'd like to be able to show HD video to my clients on large monitors that support 1920x1080 with no stutter. Newegg has this card for about 259 and a cheaper version of this card the XFX PVT88PYHF4 GeForce 8800GT 512MB http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...XFX-_-14150272

for about $30 less. Are the extra $30 for this version worth it? Also, I've read that these GT8800 cards run pretty hot. What's a decent inexpensive cooling system that would fit in a small case, like the ones the Dell Inspiron 530 have?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.