XFX 8800 GT XXX Alpha Dog Edition - G92 Performance

Close up

Close Up - XFX 8800 GT XXX Alpha Dog Edition

The first thing you notice about the card is that the 8800 series has suddenly lost a lot of weight. No longer the dual slot girth of the GTS/GTX/Ultra, the 8800 GT has lost a few inches. This is seriously good news for those who want those adjoining PCI slots for useful things like sound cards and RAID controllers.

8800 gt side on

A nice touch is the "GeForce" logo on the side of the card. Now people will know you've got an Nvidia card nestling in your case.

8800 gt xfx card front 8800 gt xfx card rear

The heatsink covers the whole card and Nvidia have included a rather piddly looking fan...more on that later. XFX have branded the card again with their Alpha dog character, which doesn't intrude too much on the aesthetics of the card too much. The funny thing about this card is that it feels somehow less powerful with a single slot cooler, just from looks alone (I'll admit: I'm a bit strange). E-Penises aside, it's not a bad looking card, apart from missing the usual XFX sexy black PCB.

xfx 8800 gt xxx edition cooler xfx 8800 gt xxx edition cooler 2

Another good thing about the 8800 GT is that it doesn't need extra power for those few extra shader processors, or additional features that G92 has packed in there.
8800gt xfx xxx edition power

Here again we see just how thin the card really is. It's 100% a single slot card with a nice single power inlet. Now let's see how big it looks when we stick the beastly 8800 U next to it...

8800 gt size comparison 8800 gt size

It's almost as if Nvidia said "right lads, we've run out of materials, start making small cards now". Of course, 65nm will certainly help this along...

8800 gt outputs

As usual with the latest cards, Nvidia have produced a card with two Dual-link DVI outputs as well as a TV out. The card is again HDCP-ready for those with spangly HDTV's with HDCP.

The Cooler

The cooler is somewhat of an enigma to me. Whilst it keeps the 65nm G92 at 53°C idle, it loads the card up at 78°C load. Whilst this is still decent for a current gen chip it does make me wonder just how good the cooler is.

xfx 8800 gt cooler 8800 gt paste

8800 gt naked

As you can see, the cooler is made of a copper base with aluminium fins and memory contact area. XFX have applied a liberal spread of thermal paste, perhaps a little too much, but overall the cooler does OK.

Noise

Right now I don't have any type of scientific sound recording equipment so you will have to rely on my ears for now.

8800 gt fan 8800 gt fan 2

Which would quite frankly be bleeding if the cards fan was set to 100% all of the time. Luckily it never breaks a sweat in games (obviously Nvidia realised this would be a sticking point), and so you simply do not hear it. However, open up nTune and put that coolers fan on 100% and you will start crying. The noise is basically unbearable, so beware if this is something you do to keep your card that much cooler when overclocking.

Gratuitious pictures:

8800 gt vs ultra 8800 gt xxx edition
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-11-2007, 14:17:38

FarFarAway
Check out what we think of the new Nvidia card on the block

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214638139s.jpg

Click

01-11-2007, 14:50:13

Toxcity
Wow, pretty nice card, eh?

I am guessing the 10% is an error... :eh:

Loving thing review Kemp, Well done mate.

01-11-2007, 14:56:32

FarFarAway
Clear your cache mate, it's 92%

01-11-2007, 14:57:31

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Clear your cache mate, it's 92%
Ah, thats better!

Brilliant write up none the less Kemp!

01-11-2007, 15:27:28

Brooksie
Lovely review Kempez

01-11-2007, 15:55:03

sbrehm72255
Nice review........that's one of the cards I'm currently looking at getting......

One small question for you all though, with those 2 sets of mounting holes around the core, what type of GPU water blocks will fit w/wo adapter plates/fittings????? Just wondering if my current Swiftech MCW60 will fit without having to get any sort of adapters.

01-11-2007, 17:51:02

Rastalovich
Outstanding review.

Completely agree with the summation in the conclusion.

Does beg a question as to what they test the Crysis engine with in-house. Unless they test it at lower resolutions than they think the community are using.

Theoretical Quad SLI, Quad X6850, best mobo, best memory, all overclocked under sub-space temps - and u`ll be "playable" ? - sounds pretty poor dev to me. DX9 tho and it kicks.

Anywho, it`s gotta be the card of choice atm, particularly bang per buck.

Drivers will improve, theres no doubt. Kinda widens the gap between generations when this happens, be interesting to see the same cards tested with those drivers in so many months time. Or maybe by then the top of the range card will be out and the others will be fairly insignificant.

Excellent read, been really looking forward to a trusted opinion on these cards, and the choice of this XFX model caps it all off.

Speaking of the HSF houver tho - can the usual suspects be fitted to this as a replacement ?

01-11-2007, 18:24:58

FarFarAway
Full cover blocks won't fit at all so I've heard, but blocks fitting just the core should be OK.

As far as Crysis is concerned I don't think it's bad development, it's just a far more stressful game in DX10 mode. You really can tell (even at a low res) why the current gen cards are having problems, there's some awesome effects and detailing in there. The current gen cards (sort of including 8800GT) are still the first batch of cards to come to the market supporting DX10...remember the FX series? You get my point.

Crysis will look truly stunning once we have hardware that can play it at an appropriate level

01-11-2007, 19:52:15

Hyper
Amazingly well done review Kemp

Cant wait to give mine a proper go when I find some free time

01-11-2007, 20:08:43

ali_james
Excellent review

Can't wait to get my hands on one of these myself!

01-11-2007, 20:47:29

Bungral
Nice review Kept... Very detailed.

Just wanna crack open my GT now but gotta be up early so its gonna have to wait until tomorrow. Ahhhh sucks!

02-11-2007, 05:32:36

ken_shiro
Great review, can't wait to see how this preforms with an aftermarket cooler!

02-11-2007, 18:05:27

SuB
nice review kemp as regards to crysis you said beta?

i saw SP demo shots? is that classed as beta?

just a nit pick i guess as i'm unsure :P

nice card and hopefully a winner with matured drivers ?

03-11-2007, 13:56:21

FarFarAway
SP demo is in beta stage afaik

I did not have at any stage any issues with drivers

03-11-2007, 15:18:26

Mr. Smith
This card seems pretty good, 3dm06 score is ~15.5K with one stick of turd ram.

I think the ram issue is preventing me from getting more from the card.

Clocks like a champ, see sig. Not even at max yet!

Edit: The mcw60 does fit this card with the standard/old mounting plate (read non g80 plate). I'm in two minds wheather or not to stick this on water as the temps seem ok to me, 81 max at load after a few hours...

After playing with the card more I'm leaning towards it's 'OK' rather than amazing, seems to be a lot of hype. This is possibly due to me swapping out the GTS for the GT and expecting some GTX-esque performance as people were stating, I've yet so see/feel that tbh. Probably because my rig is crippled with one stick of ram.

The hsf is small, I beleive iirc 500cm2 where as the GTS is 2000cm2, but seems adequate.

Once my ram arrives I'll re-edit this post with a more definitive opinion.

07-02-2008, 23:25:28

nicktg
I'm not a gamer, even though I won't mind playing with this new system I got. I got a Dell with the Q6600 Quad processor. I am a videographer though and I'd like to be able to show HD video to my clients on large monitors that support 1920x1080 with no stutter. Newegg has this card for about 259 and a cheaper version of this card the XFX PVT88PYHF4 GeForce 8800GT 512MB http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...XFX-_-14150272

for about $30 less. Are the extra $30 for this version worth it? Also, I've read that these GT8800 cards run pretty hot. What's a decent inexpensive cooling system that would fit in a small case, like the ones the Dell Inspiron 530 have?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.