XFX 8800 GT XXX Alpha Dog Edition - G92 Performance

Introduction, packaging, package and specifications

Introduction

Whenever a new graphics card comes out there's always people asking if "this one's worth buying". My job is to take the newest, latest and greatest and to test them as thoroughly as I can so I can hopefully answer that question for those who simply must know.

With that in mind, today I'll be looking at the talked about and anticipated 8800GT. With 112 shader processors and clocked at a stonking 670MHz, the XFX 8800 GT XXX Edition looks pretty great on paper. I'll be taking you through what exactly you can expect from this new card.

Brief Techie Bit

8800 gt naked

OK so we have to have some form of explanation of what's changed between the previous iteration G80 chips and the 8800 GT G92 chip.

First off, Nvidia have moved to a 65nm process, but still with more transistors than G80 (754Million versus a measly 681Million to be correct). This is mainly due to Nvidia adding to the video processing power of the actual chip. In G80, Nvidia used an external chip to process video (VP2), now it resides in the G92's silicon.

Nvidia have also added some features to keep the frames pumping along smoothly at higher resolutions. This should certainly help those wanting to run big res displays. In addition to these two...additions (sorry ran out of words in that one), Nvidia has increased the amount of texture address units to texture filtering units. This should mean that memory bandwidth performance is improved as is performance.

Nvidia have also settled for a "middle ground" in the GT as far as memory is concerned, using a 512mb memory size, on a 256mb memory bus.

Packaging

XFX have again used the familiar cybernetic dog on their packaging. The 8800 GT XXX Edition has been christened the "Alpha Dog" Edition and the packaging again reflects this.

XFX 8800 gt alpha dog edition

xfx 8800 gt packaging 2

As usual, XFX have done a good job with the packaging for the card. Any gamer worth their salt should know that this card can "do the bizz".

xfx 8800 gt alpha dog

Packaged up tightly with foam and a few layers of cardboard, your baby won't be getting hurt unless the delivery driver decides to play hit and run with it.

Package

XFX have gone and put together a superb bundle with the XFX 8800 GT XXX Alpha Dog edition. Consisting of:

* 2 x DVI to VGA connectors
* 1 x S-Video to S-Video connector
* 1 x S-Video to Component connector
* 1 x Dual molex power to PCI-e power connector
* 1 x Instruction manual
* 1 x Quick install guide
* 1 x "I'm Gaming: Do not disturb" Door sign
* 1 x S-Video connector sheet
* 1 x Driver Disc
* 1 x Full Game Company of Heroes

xfx 8800 gt xxx edition bundle

By anyone's standards that's a pretty good deal of bundle to be included in a graphics card package. Of course, Company of Heroes has a DirectX 10 patch so you can play a DirectX 10 game right out of the box. Impressive stuff indeed, especially as CoH is a great game and an AAA title.

Specification

Taken from information provided by XFX:

MFG Model Number:    PVT88PYDD4            
Product Name:    XFX GEFORCE 8800 GT 512MB PCI-E XXX EDITION
Package Contents:    Driver CD, Installation Guide, S-Video Cable, DVI Adapter, Company of Heroes DVD CD
Main Description:    GEFORCE 8800 GT 512MB / ALPHA DOG XXX EDITION / PCI-E 2.0
Supplemental Description:    DDR3 / DUAL DVI / HDTV / HDCP / RoHS / Vista Ready / Company of Heroes Game Bundle
Chipset:    GF 8800 GT            
BUS Type:    PCI-E 2.0            
GPU Clock    670 MHz            
Memory Bus    256-bit            
Memory Type    DDR3            
Memory Size    512MB            
Memory Speed    1.95 GHz            
Shader clock    1650            
Cooling Type    FANSINK            
HDTV OUT    YES            
VGA    NO            
DVI OUT    YES (DUAL)            
DUAL-LINK DVI    YES (DUAL)            
Max Supported Resolution    2560 X 1600            
HDMI    NO            
RoHS    YES            
HDCP    YES            
NVIDIA-SLI READY    YES            
Windows Vista Ready    YES            
Low Profile Compatible    NO

As I said earlier: the cards looks to be pretty nice for your money, so let's get going!
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-11-2007, 14:17:38

FarFarAway
Check out what we think of the new Nvidia card on the block

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214638139s.jpg

Click

01-11-2007, 14:50:13

Toxcity
Wow, pretty nice card, eh?

I am guessing the 10% is an error... :eh:

Loving thing review Kemp, Well done mate.

01-11-2007, 14:56:32

FarFarAway
Clear your cache mate, it's 92%

01-11-2007, 14:57:31

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Clear your cache mate, it's 92%
Ah, thats better!

Brilliant write up none the less Kemp!

01-11-2007, 15:27:28

Brooksie
Lovely review Kempez

01-11-2007, 15:55:03

sbrehm72255
Nice review........that's one of the cards I'm currently looking at getting......

One small question for you all though, with those 2 sets of mounting holes around the core, what type of GPU water blocks will fit w/wo adapter plates/fittings????? Just wondering if my current Swiftech MCW60 will fit without having to get any sort of adapters.

01-11-2007, 17:51:02

Rastalovich
Outstanding review.

Completely agree with the summation in the conclusion.

Does beg a question as to what they test the Crysis engine with in-house. Unless they test it at lower resolutions than they think the community are using.

Theoretical Quad SLI, Quad X6850, best mobo, best memory, all overclocked under sub-space temps - and u`ll be "playable" ? - sounds pretty poor dev to me. DX9 tho and it kicks.

Anywho, it`s gotta be the card of choice atm, particularly bang per buck.

Drivers will improve, theres no doubt. Kinda widens the gap between generations when this happens, be interesting to see the same cards tested with those drivers in so many months time. Or maybe by then the top of the range card will be out and the others will be fairly insignificant.

Excellent read, been really looking forward to a trusted opinion on these cards, and the choice of this XFX model caps it all off.

Speaking of the HSF houver tho - can the usual suspects be fitted to this as a replacement ?

01-11-2007, 18:24:58

FarFarAway
Full cover blocks won't fit at all so I've heard, but blocks fitting just the core should be OK.

As far as Crysis is concerned I don't think it's bad development, it's just a far more stressful game in DX10 mode. You really can tell (even at a low res) why the current gen cards are having problems, there's some awesome effects and detailing in there. The current gen cards (sort of including 8800GT) are still the first batch of cards to come to the market supporting DX10...remember the FX series? You get my point.

Crysis will look truly stunning once we have hardware that can play it at an appropriate level

01-11-2007, 19:52:15

Hyper
Amazingly well done review Kemp

Cant wait to give mine a proper go when I find some free time

01-11-2007, 20:08:43

ali_james
Excellent review

Can't wait to get my hands on one of these myself!

01-11-2007, 20:47:29

Bungral
Nice review Kept... Very detailed.

Just wanna crack open my GT now but gotta be up early so its gonna have to wait until tomorrow. Ahhhh sucks!

02-11-2007, 05:32:36

ken_shiro
Great review, can't wait to see how this preforms with an aftermarket cooler!

02-11-2007, 18:05:27

SuB
nice review kemp as regards to crysis you said beta?

i saw SP demo shots? is that classed as beta?

just a nit pick i guess as i'm unsure :P

nice card and hopefully a winner with matured drivers ?

03-11-2007, 13:56:21

FarFarAway
SP demo is in beta stage afaik

I did not have at any stage any issues with drivers

03-11-2007, 15:18:26

Mr. Smith
This card seems pretty good, 3dm06 score is ~15.5K with one stick of turd ram.

I think the ram issue is preventing me from getting more from the card.

Clocks like a champ, see sig. Not even at max yet!

Edit: The mcw60 does fit this card with the standard/old mounting plate (read non g80 plate). I'm in two minds wheather or not to stick this on water as the temps seem ok to me, 81 max at load after a few hours...

After playing with the card more I'm leaning towards it's 'OK' rather than amazing, seems to be a lot of hype. This is possibly due to me swapping out the GTS for the GT and expecting some GTX-esque performance as people were stating, I've yet so see/feel that tbh. Probably because my rig is crippled with one stick of ram.

The hsf is small, I beleive iirc 500cm2 where as the GTS is 2000cm2, but seems adequate.

Once my ram arrives I'll re-edit this post with a more definitive opinion.

07-02-2008, 23:25:28

nicktg
I'm not a gamer, even though I won't mind playing with this new system I got. I got a Dell with the Q6600 Quad processor. I am a videographer though and I'd like to be able to show HD video to my clients on large monitors that support 1920x1080 with no stutter. Newegg has this card for about 259 and a cheaper version of this card the XFX PVT88PYHF4 GeForce 8800GT 512MB http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...XFX-_-14150272

for about $30 less. Are the extra $30 for this version worth it? Also, I've read that these GT8800 cards run pretty hot. What's a decent inexpensive cooling system that would fit in a small case, like the ones the Dell Inspiron 530 have?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.