XFX 8400 GS 256mb

Conclusion

Article <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 05/08/07
Author: Matt Kemp
Source: XFX


Conclusion

The XFX 8400 GS is a pretty decently performing little card. Gaming at 1024 x 768 with 2 x AA is a nice experience and was fairly smooth throughout testing. HD playback was good and the cards features are definately suitable for a media centre.

However my biggest problem is that the fan on the cooler is whiney at full speed and would get incredibly annoying, especially if it was a tense moment in a game or it happened to ramp up during movie playback.

For around £30 from our recommended retailer Komplett and SpecialTech the card is certainly well whithin reach for a large amount of the people wanting to play decent modern games at respectable resolutions.

komplett recommended retailer

This is also available at CCL Online

As such I am giving the card a "Value for Money Award". When XFX brings out the card with a passive cooler I won't hesitate to award our "HTPC Approved" Award too, and we'll look forward to this in the near future.

Value For $$ Award

The Good

+ Decent performance at 1024 x 768
+ Good HD Media playback
+ Excellent Value for money
+ DX10 on a budget

The Mediocre

* Not too bad looking
* Fairly cool

The Bad

- Very loud fan at full load

Thanks to XFX for the review sample

Do you like the idea of DX10 for the budgeteer? Discuss in our Forums
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-08-2007, 08:10:56

FarFarAway
DX10 gaming on a budget? Looking for a cheap card for your PC?

Take a look at this then

07-08-2007, 08:46:38

Rastalovich
Have tbh Kemp, u`ve been pretty fair with that summation of the card considering that u`ve obviously be cranking out on rigs with 8800+++.

The card and packaging are as I expected. I`ve got 3 cards in this range previously (meaning below the x600), the 7300, 6500, 6200 (one of those may be wrong number) from XFX and they`ve pretty much been packaged as u`ve described. Box about the size of the card, low profile and the only difference being a passive old-skool looking sink. (which they seem to be implying the 8400 will have in the future)

I know this is around 30, but as time goes by it`ll push 20 as close as it can - especially around the dawn of the 98xx arrivals. There after u`ll catch them for less than 20. (I bought some of the above for 15-18 pfft)

This card is what it is, as were the previous ones, I think we should appreciate that. It`ll work in a working desktop very well, a workhorse server type pc that u just basically want a display, and has the benefits of crossing to u`r htpc with some added kick.

20-30 - and knowing what u`r buying it for, they fill the gap for me. I am a little supprized it doesn`t play C&C a bit better, usually tho with this range of card u can get away with shutting everything down to minimum u can get away with it - but u have to appreciate that that is what u are doing.

Fits in the market well for me.

07-08-2007, 08:49:39

FarFarAway
Aye indeed. I think the card fits well in it's niche and really is great vfm

It's hard to look at a card like this when you're playing around with uber high end stuff all day but I think I gave it a fair shout and it performed well for it.

Hope y'all think it's a fair review

07-08-2007, 08:53:26

Ham
What more do you need for a non-gaming HTPC?

Good job as ever.

07-08-2007, 09:55:27

Hyper
Great job as ever Kemp

Our of interest, how many views does the average review get?

07-08-2007, 10:15:02

Toxcity
Very nice read Kemp!

Looks like a solid card for the average user.

07-08-2007, 16:05:28

markkleb
I also enjoyed ur review Kempez..It is especially helpful because there is a large group around me that will never be able to go with the 8800 series.

Its nice to know you dont have to spend a lot to get a GPU.

07-08-2007, 16:16:04

Allsorts
That's one fantastic value gfx card. I agree about the HSF, my first impression was "why not use a big Alu passive heatsink?".

18-11-2007, 16:35:29

krzysiek.uk
Hello, i got a guestion about memory clock wich shall be a 800mhz in stock but in the ntune and RivaTuner it shows 400 someone know what might be wrong or i just dont know something

18-11-2007, 16:42:38

Hatman
DDR is double data rate, which means your normal memory clock is doubled. So 400mhz = 800mhz DDR, this is where it gets it from, that applies whether its ddr, ddr2, gddr3, w/e.

18-11-2007, 17:07:58

krzysiek.uk
Thank you very much mate, now i know hoe it works

08-03-2008, 01:36:17

faaaaq
thanks very much, just purchased an HP Media Center PC (m9040n) and it comes with an 8400 pre-installed. Altho not exactly the same as the one in your review, it should be similar enough for me to base my choice on whether or not to upgrade or not. I have a very low budget, so upgrade choices may not even be worth the purchase. THank you again

08-03-2008, 06:18:48

FarFarAway
No probs. If you're on a budget the 8400 is a decent enough card to play basic games on

08-03-2008, 17:31:26

faaaaq
the card should be fine, but do you have any recommendations for cards around 50-$100 that are worth a purchase? I might have found some, but im not sure and im on a really small budget. I know spending 50-100 more than that would get me a much better card, but i dont have that much to spare.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.