XFX 5870 XXX Review

Racing Games

XFX 5870 XXX

Racing Games

Finally we reach the genre I love best. 2 wheels, 4 or more, dirt, tarmac or mud I don't care. If it involves racing you can put money on me playing it.

Dirt 2XFX 5870 XXX Dirt   2

Dirt 2 is the latest in the ever popular line of off-road games from Codemasters that started with Colin McRae Rally and have been brilliant (CMR2) or very average (CMR3). However with the Dirt re-brand the quality has risen dramatically.

One of the biggest selling points for Dirt 2 on PC is how it's one of the first titles to introduce DirectX 11 features and on a game with so much water and cloth it makes a huge difference to visual quality.

Even with everything as high as it could go the XFX HD5870 XXX provides us with outstanding frame-rates. Even more impressive is how well it responds to the overclock gaining 11FPS average from our 100MHz extra clock speed without gaining either noise or heat.

 

 

Race Driver : GRiDXFX 5870 XXX Race   Driver Grid

GRiD is a whiskered old man now, but it is still as playable as it was when it was a fresh faced youth.

Because it's well known that GRiD responds very well to ATI hardware we made a slight change to our testing and rather than run the same benchmark multiple times, we ran five races at five American tracks (the most graphically stressful) and then averaged those results.

To the surprise of absolutely nobody the XFX was so relaxed it almost fell asleep whilst churning out frame-rates in the 140+ bracket even at minimum. Despite staying at the back of a huge field of cars we just couldn't make it twitch.

 

 

Need For Speed : ShiftXFX 5870 XXX Need   For Speed Shift

If GRiD is playable and Dirt 2 is graphically sumptuous then Need For Speed Shift is the lovechild of the two.

A quick glance at our screenshot demonstrates how truly brilliant the graphics are and EA have made sure the game treads that oh-so-fine line between forgiving and a simulation.

The scenery is magnificent and every car makes us wonder why Polyphony are taking so damn long.

Despite putting the details, as always, to the maximum the HD5870 XXX, as always, just merrily plodded along without so much as a tiny hiccup.

 

Time to wrap this up.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-04-2010, 04:51:49

tinytomlogan
Easter Monday? Bank Holiday? Here at OC3D we know you will all be looking for something to entertain you on a public holiday, thanks to XFX we have just the thing.

Continue Reading

05-04-2010, 13:43:20

AMD_PBz
Yet another Great Review Tom

What better way to spend a Holiday than testing an XFX 5870?

I know I'd rather be doing that than being stuck here at work selling car parts.

Cheers

05-04-2010, 15:42:20

zillion
Hello Tom

Im just abit curious here, coz as far as i understand u can run a Xfire setup involving a 5870 + 5850 so i was wondering if u would make such review and/or for instance also one including maybe a 5970 + 5870 to see how well this would scale in price/performance.

Regards.

05-04-2010, 16:35:08

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMD_PBz'
Yet another Great Review Tom
*VB wonders why we have our names at the top of the article*

05-04-2010, 17:15:00

zillion
Hey VB

Maybe u would be so kind to answer my question if possible.....

Can u run a Xfire setup with a 5870 and a 5850 and if so, do u have any experience with the performance?

Regards

06-04-2010, 01:22:22

lasher
Next time use the flashing font and larger type face vb

06-04-2010, 02:22:12

I Hunta x
@Zillion Yes you can, it performs ABOUT the same as 5850 crossfire in pretty much all the tests ive seen +/- a few %.

So say you have a 5870 and in a few months you find a cheap 5850 you can run them together for the extra performance of 5850 crossfire, just got to make sure you have enough power in your psu.

One thing i wouldnt mind seeing would be 2x 5850's and 1x 5870 VS 2x 5870 and 1x 5850 VS 3x 5850 VS 3x 5870 to see if it still scales down to the lowest cards performance in a 3 way situation.

06-04-2010, 04:09:53

zillion
Thanks for the answer Hunta.

Would it be possible for u to make a review of some of these setups, and yes im also interested in how the performance would be in a triple Xfire setup with various 5xxx cards.

ps. i have plenty of watts to go along

06-04-2010, 04:32:52

I Hunta x
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zillion'
Thanks for the answer Hunta.

Would it be possible for u to make a review of some of these setups,
Sadly no, i just dont have the funds to sink into ANY pc upgrades at the moment let alone a 3way crossfire mobo, a new psu AND 3 5850's and 3 5870's lol, (how ever if i won the lottery this week then it would be something to think about haha )

On a slight side note you can also pair a 5750 and 5770 but im unsure about a say... 5770 and a 5850, it may be it has to be the 57xx's OR 58xx's so that may also be something to look into if a large sellection of different card crossfire tests was done, for example a 5770 and a 5830??

06-04-2010, 20:12:41

cjone2
very nice personally be waiting a while to get any upgrade though my 9800gtx is still running fine

07-04-2010, 16:20:23

voodooleader
Right now i am wondering if i should go for a xfire setup of 5770 or i should go with one of the xfx 5870 xxx. The question i hope you can answer me here is what the difference is between the test settings of the games in this review and the review made the other day of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards. In that review it says that the tests were done on a Samsung 2433 24" @ 1920x1200 but here it says nothing as far as i have seen. Why i would like to know this is because there are quite some difference in the FPS numbers from the standard 5870 card in the review of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards and to the numbers of the 5870 card in this review.

For example in this review the none overclocked xfx 5870 xxx card scores 183,49 average fps in MW2 and the hd 5870 scores an average of 120 fps in the MW2 in the review of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards. both test are set to maximum settings but what are the resolutions in this review? same goes for crysis warhead with gamer 0xaa settings in this review the xfx 5870 xxx scores an average of 62,6 fps. And in the other preview with the two 5770 cards from sapphire the hd 5870 scores an average of 48 fps.

I hope someone can help me clear this out.

Regards

07-04-2010, 16:24:37

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='voodooleader'
Right now i am wondering if i should go for a xfire setup of 5770 or i should go with one of the xfx 5870 xxx. The question i hope you can answer me here is what the difference is between the test settings of the games in this review and the review made the other day of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards. In that review it says that the tests were done on a Samsung 2433 24" @ 1920x1200 but here it says nothing as far as i have seen. Why i would like to know this is because there are quite some difference in the FPS numbers from the standard 5870 card in the review of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards and to the numbers of the 5870 card in this review.

For example in this review the none overclocked xfx 5870 xxx card scores 183,49 average fps in MW2 and the hd 5870 scores an average of 120 fps in the MW2 in the review of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards. both test are set to maximum settings but what are the resolutions in this review? same goes for crysis warhead with gamer 0xaa settings in this review the xfx 5870 xxx scores an average of 62,6 fps. And in the other preview with the two 5770 cards from sapphire the hd 5870 scores an average of 48 fps.

I hope someone can help me clear this out.

Regards
Just go for the 5870. If you do you always have the option to go crossfire, and the performance is pretty much the same if not better than 2x5770's

07-04-2010, 16:43:19

voodooleader
Yes your right. But im still a bit curious what makes the difference in those two reviews.

Btw does anyone know what the differences are between the

Edition (HD-587A-ZND9)

and

Edition (HD-587A-ZNDA)

Of the XFX 5870 xxx cards?

Regards

02-05-2010, 03:55:29

fransystech
I know, and the difference between those GPU Edition (HD-587A-ZND9) and Edition (HD-587A-ZNDA)

is that the ZND9 came with a free Collin MCRae's DIrt 2 coupon and the ZNDA with a free Assassin's Creed 2 coupon to download, both are the same piece of hardware.

Sorry about my poor english...

Cheers!

02-05-2010, 03:56:37

fransystech
I know, and the difference between those GPU Edition (HD-587A-ZND9) and Edition (HD-587A-ZNDA)

is that the ZND9 came with a free Collin MCRae's DIrt 2 coupon and the ZNDA with a free Assassin's Creed 2 coupon to download, both are the same piece of hardware.

Sorry for my poor english...

Cheers!

02-05-2010, 05:43:27

Colossous
Good review duder

18-05-2010, 11:50:20

jarfin
nice review,but

what resolution you test crysis warhead,?

is it 1900x1200 or what?

thank you
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.