XFX 5870 XXX Review

First Person Shooters

XFX 5870 XXX

First Person Shooters

For some among you this is the only genre that matters. Whether it's taking on the world alone in single-player, or grabbing your mates and teaming up you be top of the leaderboard, first-person shooters have been popular since the Quake days and been the primary driving force in improving our eye-candy.

Just Cause 2XFX 5870 XXX Just   Cause

Just Cause 2 is the latest "sandbox" style game that is best described as a melding of Mercenaries, Far Cry and Grand Theft Auto. Nothing bad about any of those. Graphically it really is a treat for the eyes and thankfully, unlike the game at the bottom of this page, actually plays well too.

The game comes with three built in benchmarks that test the different aspects of the engine from the dark, sparky, destruction of the test we ran today, through a Far Cry 2-esque desert environment to some of the most sumptuous day-to-night cycles we've ever seen.

Proof oh how far the graphics are pushing is that only in our overclock test do we pass 60FPS and then only barely. Thankfully the game itself isn't as power hungry, but still the 5870 XXX doesn't have difficulties.

 

 

Modern Warfare 2XFX 5870 XXX   Modern Warfare 2

What would be a first-person test without our next two games. Firstly the ever popular Modern Warfare series from Infinity Ward.

We love this for three big reasons. Firstly, and most importantly, the single-player experience is enjoyable. Too many companies make multi-player-centric games that aren't much fun for those of us who have enough shouty teenagers in our lives already. Secondly the multi-player is fantastic with busy servers and lots of game types to play with.

Finally it looks damn good but doesn't need a monolith to power it. Because of this the 5870 XXX laughs it off like a polar bear laughs off a kitten. There is nothing that Modern Warfare 2 can do the XXX can't make mincemeat of.

 

 

Crysis WarheadXFX 5870 XXX   Crysis Warhead Enthusiast

Everyone knows how much I loathe this game, but thankfully the HD5870 XXX has given me plenty to talk about without reiterating the same old guff.

Normally we run Warhead on Gamer settings without anti-aliasing because the boys at Crytek did such a poor optimising job anything else causes the system to become a slide show.

Not with the XFX it doesn't. Both our stock and overclocked tests gave us over 60 FPS. A massive achievement. Even if we allow for the Cat 10.3s giving a little performance boost, it's still a stunning result. In fact it's so stunning we're going to run the Enthusiast mode.

 

Enthusiast

Having got a jaw-dropping result from the Gamer test, we had to crank up the eye-candy to Enthusiast and add some AA. Even with so much glorious shiny detail we still got around 40FPS average, which is more than enough for Warhead to be a smooth experience. Much more than the gaudy numbers of MW2, this is the test that really makes our eyes widen with delight.

Time to go round and round in circles.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-04-2010, 04:51:49

tinytomlogan
Easter Monday? Bank Holiday? Here at OC3D we know you will all be looking for something to entertain you on a public holiday, thanks to XFX we have just the thing.

Continue Reading

05-04-2010, 13:43:20

AMD_PBz
Yet another Great Review Tom

What better way to spend a Holiday than testing an XFX 5870?

I know I'd rather be doing that than being stuck here at work selling car parts.

Cheers

05-04-2010, 15:42:20

zillion
Hello Tom

Im just abit curious here, coz as far as i understand u can run a Xfire setup involving a 5870 + 5850 so i was wondering if u would make such review and/or for instance also one including maybe a 5970 + 5870 to see how well this would scale in price/performance.

Regards.

05-04-2010, 16:35:08

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMD_PBz'
Yet another Great Review Tom
*VB wonders why we have our names at the top of the article*

05-04-2010, 17:15:00

zillion
Hey VB

Maybe u would be so kind to answer my question if possible.....

Can u run a Xfire setup with a 5870 and a 5850 and if so, do u have any experience with the performance?

Regards

06-04-2010, 01:22:22

lasher
Next time use the flashing font and larger type face vb

06-04-2010, 02:22:12

I Hunta x
@Zillion Yes you can, it performs ABOUT the same as 5850 crossfire in pretty much all the tests ive seen +/- a few %.

So say you have a 5870 and in a few months you find a cheap 5850 you can run them together for the extra performance of 5850 crossfire, just got to make sure you have enough power in your psu.

One thing i wouldnt mind seeing would be 2x 5850's and 1x 5870 VS 2x 5870 and 1x 5850 VS 3x 5850 VS 3x 5870 to see if it still scales down to the lowest cards performance in a 3 way situation.

06-04-2010, 04:09:53

zillion
Thanks for the answer Hunta.

Would it be possible for u to make a review of some of these setups, and yes im also interested in how the performance would be in a triple Xfire setup with various 5xxx cards.

ps. i have plenty of watts to go along

06-04-2010, 04:32:52

I Hunta x
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zillion'
Thanks for the answer Hunta.

Would it be possible for u to make a review of some of these setups,
Sadly no, i just dont have the funds to sink into ANY pc upgrades at the moment let alone a 3way crossfire mobo, a new psu AND 3 5850's and 3 5870's lol, (how ever if i won the lottery this week then it would be something to think about haha )

On a slight side note you can also pair a 5750 and 5770 but im unsure about a say... 5770 and a 5850, it may be it has to be the 57xx's OR 58xx's so that may also be something to look into if a large sellection of different card crossfire tests was done, for example a 5770 and a 5830??

06-04-2010, 20:12:41

cjone2
very nice personally be waiting a while to get any upgrade though my 9800gtx is still running fine

07-04-2010, 16:20:23

voodooleader
Right now i am wondering if i should go for a xfire setup of 5770 or i should go with one of the xfx 5870 xxx. The question i hope you can answer me here is what the difference is between the test settings of the games in this review and the review made the other day of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards. In that review it says that the tests were done on a Samsung 2433 24" @ 1920x1200 but here it says nothing as far as i have seen. Why i would like to know this is because there are quite some difference in the FPS numbers from the standard 5870 card in the review of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards and to the numbers of the 5870 card in this review.

For example in this review the none overclocked xfx 5870 xxx card scores 183,49 average fps in MW2 and the hd 5870 scores an average of 120 fps in the MW2 in the review of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards. both test are set to maximum settings but what are the resolutions in this review? same goes for crysis warhead with gamer 0xaa settings in this review the xfx 5870 xxx scores an average of 62,6 fps. And in the other preview with the two 5770 cards from sapphire the hd 5870 scores an average of 48 fps.

I hope someone can help me clear this out.

Regards

07-04-2010, 16:24:37

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='voodooleader'
Right now i am wondering if i should go for a xfire setup of 5770 or i should go with one of the xfx 5870 xxx. The question i hope you can answer me here is what the difference is between the test settings of the games in this review and the review made the other day of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards. In that review it says that the tests were done on a Samsung 2433 24" @ 1920x1200 but here it says nothing as far as i have seen. Why i would like to know this is because there are quite some difference in the FPS numbers from the standard 5870 card in the review of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards and to the numbers of the 5870 card in this review.

For example in this review the none overclocked xfx 5870 xxx card scores 183,49 average fps in MW2 and the hd 5870 scores an average of 120 fps in the MW2 in the review of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards. both test are set to maximum settings but what are the resolutions in this review? same goes for crysis warhead with gamer 0xaa settings in this review the xfx 5870 xxx scores an average of 62,6 fps. And in the other preview with the two 5770 cards from sapphire the hd 5870 scores an average of 48 fps.

I hope someone can help me clear this out.

Regards
Just go for the 5870. If you do you always have the option to go crossfire, and the performance is pretty much the same if not better than 2x5770's

07-04-2010, 16:43:19

voodooleader
Yes your right. But im still a bit curious what makes the difference in those two reviews.

Btw does anyone know what the differences are between the

Edition (HD-587A-ZND9)

and

Edition (HD-587A-ZNDA)

Of the XFX 5870 xxx cards?

Regards

02-05-2010, 03:55:29

fransystech
I know, and the difference between those GPU Edition (HD-587A-ZND9) and Edition (HD-587A-ZNDA)

is that the ZND9 came with a free Collin MCRae's DIrt 2 coupon and the ZNDA with a free Assassin's Creed 2 coupon to download, both are the same piece of hardware.

Sorry about my poor english...

Cheers!

02-05-2010, 03:56:37

fransystech
I know, and the difference between those GPU Edition (HD-587A-ZND9) and Edition (HD-587A-ZNDA)

is that the ZND9 came with a free Collin MCRae's DIrt 2 coupon and the ZNDA with a free Assassin's Creed 2 coupon to download, both are the same piece of hardware.

Sorry for my poor english...

Cheers!

02-05-2010, 05:43:27

Colossous
Good review duder

18-05-2010, 11:50:20

jarfin
nice review,but

what resolution you test crysis warhead,?

is it 1900x1200 or what?

thank you
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.