XFX 5870 XXX Review

Real Time Strategy

XFX 5870 XXX

Real Time Strategy

Today we're splitting our testing up into genres to hopefully make it easier to find the results you want. Do let us know if you like the change or prefer the old method. We're always happy to listen here at OC3D.

 

Company of Heroes - Tales of ValorXFX 5870 XXX   Benchmarks

Relics Company of Heroes franchise is still one of the greatest games of all time and a good test of any system with large particle effects and deep draw distances combining with many things to apply the anti-aliasing too.

The XFX HD5870 XXX is a Flak 88 to the rest of the competition completely chewing the game up and spitting it out, asking for more.

As the engine has so many physics effects a lot of the work is processor based and so our overclock doesn't give us a huge advantage, but it doesn't need it. No settings with make the XXX even jog, much less break into a sweat.

 

 

Dawn of War 2 - Chaos RisingXFX 5870 XXX   Overclocking

Chaos Rising is the latest update to the popular Dawn of War franchise, adding the Chaos armies to help eradicate the green tide from the world.

Based upon a modified version of the Engine Relic used for Company of Heroes we can see how they have really cranked the detail up to almost unprecedented levels for a Real-Time Strategy game with blood flying, bodies dismembering and more particle and lighting effects that we could have dreamt of a small time ago.

Our results follow those from COH with the 5870 XXX happily churning out the frames without a problem even under the most extreme conditions we could test.

 

World In Conflict - Soviet AssaultXFX 5870 XXX   Review

World in Conflict never really took off as a great RTS with the gameplay changing quite a lot from what we expected at the time.

Of course Command and Conquer 4 makes World in Conflict seem like Chess, but with the Soviet Assault add-on World in Conflict makes for a great stress test thanks to its built-in benchmark that produces more smoke and fog than a gathering of pipe-enthusiasts on The Moors. 

Despite the insane amount of things going on at once the XFX HD5870 XXX still keeps us about the magic 60FPS mark we need for smooth gaming and even the minimum frame rate never takes it to unplayable levels.

 

So if you're a fan of farming resources, building bases and generally taking it to the enemy as an army rather than a Rambo-esque soldier, the 5870 XXX has your back.

What if you prefer being a one man army though?

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-04-2010, 04:51:49

tinytomlogan
Easter Monday? Bank Holiday? Here at OC3D we know you will all be looking for something to entertain you on a public holiday, thanks to XFX we have just the thing.

Continue Reading

05-04-2010, 13:43:20

AMD_PBz
Yet another Great Review Tom

What better way to spend a Holiday than testing an XFX 5870?

I know I'd rather be doing that than being stuck here at work selling car parts.

Cheers

05-04-2010, 15:42:20

zillion
Hello Tom

Im just abit curious here, coz as far as i understand u can run a Xfire setup involving a 5870 + 5850 so i was wondering if u would make such review and/or for instance also one including maybe a 5970 + 5870 to see how well this would scale in price/performance.

Regards.

05-04-2010, 16:35:08

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMD_PBz'
Yet another Great Review Tom
*VB wonders why we have our names at the top of the article*

05-04-2010, 17:15:00

zillion
Hey VB

Maybe u would be so kind to answer my question if possible.....

Can u run a Xfire setup with a 5870 and a 5850 and if so, do u have any experience with the performance?

Regards

06-04-2010, 01:22:22

lasher
Next time use the flashing font and larger type face vb

06-04-2010, 02:22:12

I Hunta x
@Zillion Yes you can, it performs ABOUT the same as 5850 crossfire in pretty much all the tests ive seen +/- a few %.

So say you have a 5870 and in a few months you find a cheap 5850 you can run them together for the extra performance of 5850 crossfire, just got to make sure you have enough power in your psu.

One thing i wouldnt mind seeing would be 2x 5850's and 1x 5870 VS 2x 5870 and 1x 5850 VS 3x 5850 VS 3x 5870 to see if it still scales down to the lowest cards performance in a 3 way situation.

06-04-2010, 04:09:53

zillion
Thanks for the answer Hunta.

Would it be possible for u to make a review of some of these setups, and yes im also interested in how the performance would be in a triple Xfire setup with various 5xxx cards.

ps. i have plenty of watts to go along

06-04-2010, 04:32:52

I Hunta x
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zillion'
Thanks for the answer Hunta.

Would it be possible for u to make a review of some of these setups,
Sadly no, i just dont have the funds to sink into ANY pc upgrades at the moment let alone a 3way crossfire mobo, a new psu AND 3 5850's and 3 5870's lol, (how ever if i won the lottery this week then it would be something to think about haha )

On a slight side note you can also pair a 5750 and 5770 but im unsure about a say... 5770 and a 5850, it may be it has to be the 57xx's OR 58xx's so that may also be something to look into if a large sellection of different card crossfire tests was done, for example a 5770 and a 5830??

06-04-2010, 20:12:41

cjone2
very nice personally be waiting a while to get any upgrade though my 9800gtx is still running fine

07-04-2010, 16:20:23

voodooleader
Right now i am wondering if i should go for a xfire setup of 5770 or i should go with one of the xfx 5870 xxx. The question i hope you can answer me here is what the difference is between the test settings of the games in this review and the review made the other day of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards. In that review it says that the tests were done on a Samsung 2433 24" @ 1920x1200 but here it says nothing as far as i have seen. Why i would like to know this is because there are quite some difference in the FPS numbers from the standard 5870 card in the review of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards and to the numbers of the 5870 card in this review.

For example in this review the none overclocked xfx 5870 xxx card scores 183,49 average fps in MW2 and the hd 5870 scores an average of 120 fps in the MW2 in the review of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards. both test are set to maximum settings but what are the resolutions in this review? same goes for crysis warhead with gamer 0xaa settings in this review the xfx 5870 xxx scores an average of 62,6 fps. And in the other preview with the two 5770 cards from sapphire the hd 5870 scores an average of 48 fps.

I hope someone can help me clear this out.

Regards

07-04-2010, 16:24:37

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='voodooleader'
Right now i am wondering if i should go for a xfire setup of 5770 or i should go with one of the xfx 5870 xxx. The question i hope you can answer me here is what the difference is between the test settings of the games in this review and the review made the other day of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards. In that review it says that the tests were done on a Samsung 2433 24" @ 1920x1200 but here it says nothing as far as i have seen. Why i would like to know this is because there are quite some difference in the FPS numbers from the standard 5870 card in the review of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards and to the numbers of the 5870 card in this review.

For example in this review the none overclocked xfx 5870 xxx card scores 183,49 average fps in MW2 and the hd 5870 scores an average of 120 fps in the MW2 in the review of the 2 x 5770 sapphire cards. both test are set to maximum settings but what are the resolutions in this review? same goes for crysis warhead with gamer 0xaa settings in this review the xfx 5870 xxx scores an average of 62,6 fps. And in the other preview with the two 5770 cards from sapphire the hd 5870 scores an average of 48 fps.

I hope someone can help me clear this out.

Regards
Just go for the 5870. If you do you always have the option to go crossfire, and the performance is pretty much the same if not better than 2x5770's

07-04-2010, 16:43:19

voodooleader
Yes your right. But im still a bit curious what makes the difference in those two reviews.

Btw does anyone know what the differences are between the

Edition (HD-587A-ZND9)

and

Edition (HD-587A-ZNDA)

Of the XFX 5870 xxx cards?

Regards

02-05-2010, 03:55:29

fransystech
I know, and the difference between those GPU Edition (HD-587A-ZND9) and Edition (HD-587A-ZNDA)

is that the ZND9 came with a free Collin MCRae's DIrt 2 coupon and the ZNDA with a free Assassin's Creed 2 coupon to download, both are the same piece of hardware.

Sorry about my poor english...

Cheers!

02-05-2010, 03:56:37

fransystech
I know, and the difference between those GPU Edition (HD-587A-ZND9) and Edition (HD-587A-ZNDA)

is that the ZND9 came with a free Collin MCRae's DIrt 2 coupon and the ZNDA with a free Assassin's Creed 2 coupon to download, both are the same piece of hardware.

Sorry for my poor english...

Cheers!

02-05-2010, 05:43:27

Colossous
Good review duder

18-05-2010, 11:50:20

jarfin
nice review,but

what resolution you test crysis warhead,?

is it 1900x1200 or what?

thank you
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.