VTX3D HD7970 PCIE2 vs PCIE3 Review

The Witcher 2

VTX3D HD7970 Review

The Witcher 2

Such is the detail level in The Witcher 2 that a single stock HD7970 is just shaded by the ultimate GTX580, but perhaps the most impressive aspect is the high minimum frame-rate ensuring a very smooth gaming experience in a hugely demanding title.

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-01-2012, 23:57:10

tinytomlogan


Today we start our mammoth look at the HD7970 with the VTX3D version, and a change of testing methodology.

Continue Reading

09-01-2012, 01:27:56

cerbrus2
only have to wait 12 hours till i get my mitts on one

09-01-2012, 03:14:29

Solidarity
It's good to see it doesn't matter too much.

09-01-2012, 03:31:26

dugdiamond
nice

09-01-2012, 08:01:13

Rastalovich
Good read.

Very hit and miss as to the newer kit helping in any way. Some yes, some no. But I'd still be banking that the x79 pcie3.0 lane usage isn't being capitalised on by the mobo for anything other than storage, at this point - so Intel boast. Which isn't fair atm as the 7970 is pcie3.0 boasting on AMD's website.

Artificial benchmarking-wize, for the higher numbers you want for your submission, you'd stick with the "older" i7... which is bizarre. Verging on madness imo. Although I do recognize that there are bios upd8s for mobos, particularly Gigabyte I seen the other day, that are allowing higher oc etc. To that extent it's still a work in progress I guess.

Still bizarre to me. Newer cpu, newer mobo, quad memory - I'd expect more. Seems the realization is that the z77 (or whatever they'll be released as) will be the pci3.0 'real utilizers'. We will have to see.

On another note, I'd be interested in knowing if Mafia 2 and Metro 2033 were benched with PhysX used on the cards. I know it's classed as "unfair" to do so, by those who can't use it gpu-wize, but if you're looking at a set of results of which to base your purchase of a game to play either of them, and your 440+, you'd want to be sure you can enable everything and expect the same results. Especially when comparing with the older 580 @ 360+ Today.

Judging from the euphoric nature of the responses to 7970 reviews, I thought it cleared the 580 by more than it did in many graphs here. It certainly does an outstanding job of raising the minimum fps across the board, even in those it didn't get a better average fps in. A good die shrink, which I'm pretty sure is the best you can hope for from nVidia for a fair time to come.

Memory usage is something people don't closely look at. I can remember benching one rig with.. GTA X (not sure if 2/3 or whatever) and the graphics levels were not permitted to be raised any further, quality wize, cos the preferences showed that the graphics memory wouldn't take it. And this wasn't a cheap card, so memory can be important. It would be nice to see more games show such a memory usage bar in their preferences.

It's good to have a choice from both card manufacturers to chose from now, although I didn't think the 6970 was "that-bad" as people reported.

09-01-2012, 09:08:03

yassarikhan786
Really awesome card.

09-01-2012, 11:41:51

dipzy
Im supprised, they turned out to be awesome. I wonder what ASUS have up their sleeves, an Ares II?

10-01-2012, 19:43:18

MaXiMiZe
Good card, however I think they focused too much on beating the 500 series, rather than thinking ahead and making sure they remain competitive with nvidia's forthcoming 28nm offerings.

10-01-2012, 21:38:54

unknownuser200
edit

21-01-2012, 13:02:40

MutleyUK
Good to see ATI/AMD come up trumps Gives the Green team something to think about and lets face it without competition prices would soar. A bit pricy for me at the moment and i will stick with my 2x 6950's in crossfire . A great report as usual from the impartial main man "TT". PS Im not a AMD Fanboy have had Nvidea cards to.

21-01-2012, 13:18:31

MaXiMiZe
Quote:
Originally Posted by MutleyUK View Post

Good to see ATI/AMD come up trumps Gives the Green team something to think about and lets face it without competition prices would soar. A bit pricy for me at the moment and i will stick with my 2x 6950's in crossfire . A great report as usual from the impartial main man "TT". PS Im not a AMD Fanboy have had Nvidea cards to.
Xfire 6950's are awesome. Tried bios unlocking them ?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.