VTX3D HD7790 Review

Hitman Absolution and Sleeping Dogs

VTX3D HD7790 Review

Hitman Absolution

The answer, in short, is yes the poor DirectX 11 performance continues in Hitman. 13 frames per second is a slideshow.

Sleeping Dogs

The VTX3D HD7790 finally gets closer to the GTX650Ti in Sleeping Dogs. Still nothing to write home about, but at least it's not getting destroyed this time.

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-04-2013, 07:50:17

tinytomlogan
Hot on the heels of the GTX650Ti, AMD have released their value GPU, the HD7790. We take a look at the VTX3D model.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...091755217l.JPG


Continue Reading

08-04-2013, 08:04:01

Redspeed93
Is AMD really removing the 7850 from their lineup?

I haven't heard or read that anywhere else.

08-04-2013, 08:04:25

VengeanceUK
all i can say is amd fails again, which is a massive massive shame

08-04-2013, 08:06:47

Redspeed93
Quote:
Originally Posted by VengeanceUK View Post
all i can say is amd fails again, which is a massive massive shame
Agreed. Sadly we're approaching the point where failure is more of a regularity than success for AMD.

08-04-2013, 08:16:56

tinytomlogan
Its the 1GB 7850 thats being discontinued, and thats the one thats right on the same sort of money as the 7790. Fuzzy logic IMHO.

08-04-2013, 08:22:33

SPS
I don't like to be the one to complain but I'm finding it harder and harder to parse the graphs nice and easily. Is there a way we can get some sort of sorting going on?

08-04-2013, 08:25:22

Redspeed93
I have a question with regard to the graphs as well. Are they running different versions of the drivers? Or are you benchmarking all of them again every time a new driver version comes out?

08-04-2013, 08:25:52

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
I don't like to be the one to complain but I'm finding it harder and harder to parse the graphs nice and easily. Is there a way we can get some sort of sorting going on?

A quick answer is without redoing them every time manually.... No :/

08-04-2013, 08:29:04

Spiderz
Compared to the 650Ti boost this is shockingly bad. AMD seem to be focusing on undercutting NVIDIA on price across the board but at this price range, 20-40 more gets you such a big jump in performance (Gtx 660 starts at 150 on Aria) that you would be a bit daft to get one of these.

08-04-2013, 08:31:59

SeekaX
http://i.imgur.com/00FdXKG.jpg
jesus f*cking christ that is a disgusting card.
really sad to see this card perform that bad, i though AMD would do better since they released the 7870 le. too bad they are removing that card as well.
650ti boost looks and performs better.

08-04-2013, 08:32:25

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
A quick answer is without redoing them every time manually.... No :/
Oh

It would be pretty trivial to do using Javascript and RGraph but I don't know how the current system works and I assume you've already looked into it anyways.

Thanks for the answer nonetheless

08-04-2013, 08:50:30

darklighthim
for an extra 20-25 odds you can get a Gainward or Palit 2gb 660ti's from aria or spend a bit more again for an MSI variant albeit it not a twin frozr but still looks like it'll perform more than well enough.

You could also get a 2gb MSI 650ti boost with Twin Frozr cooler for not a lot more than a 7790 so i'm struggling to see what AMD were thinking of with this one.

08-04-2013, 09:48:14

badtaylorx
i think what AMD is doing here is preying on the "not so knowledgeable" user that "thinks s/he is getting a top of the line card...mixing in the 7's and 9's....

may easily be confused with a 7970

08-04-2013, 11:08:32

jiyang1018
If this card were single slot design, the lack of shroud may have gotten away.

08-04-2013, 11:47:47

FTLN
Could be good little card for opencl apps like cs6 etc

08-04-2013, 16:36:21

F-alienware
*Blows a very loud raspberry*

*walks away*

Ed. *pops back quickly to say thanks for the review*

09-04-2013, 07:58:17

Greenback
Looking at the graphs I'd be surprised if this card could be classed as an upgrade from a 6870 considering your tomb raider scores weren't that far off of what I got on my old 6870.
And for 18 more you can pick up a 7850 it would seem this card has no real place for this card

11-08-2014, 15:49:04

bobalazs
These low fps issues since been fixed with newer catalyst drivers.
Unfortunately the reviewer forgot to mention that those drivers were inadequate for the HD 7790.
As of 2014, this card is a beast, measures up almost to the HD 7850...

11-08-2014, 16:01:33

RadeonHDx
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobalazs View Post
These low fps issues since been fixed with newer catalyst drivers.
Unfortunately the reviewer forgot to mention that those drivers were inadequate for the HD 7790.
As of 2014, this card is a beast, measures up almost to the HD 7850...
This thread has been unused for over a year, why are you commenting on a thread so old?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.