Sparkle X560 Ti DF Calibre Review

Conclusion

Sparkle X560 Ti DF Calibre Review

Conclusion

Stunning.

It's been a while since we've reviewed a Sparkle card here at OC3D and to say we're impressed is an understatement.

Starting with the looks, this is a gorgeous card. An all-black design isn't exactly new and to a certain extent your own mileage may vary with whether you like the almost heraldic logo, but it's small and inoffensive if you don't. However the combination of the pretty cooler and subtle packaging and logos really lends an air of class to the whole proceedings.

Overclocking was a breeze too. Out of the box the Sparkle Calibre is the fastest GTX560Ti on the planet, and we still had enough headroom to get an extra 70MHz out of the core, pushing it past the 1GHz barrier. This isn't "numbers only" performance either as the overclock gave us visibly higher performance in every single one of our tests.

Indeed, if the looks are understated, the performance screams from the rooftops. The difference between this Calibre version of the GTX560Ti and the reference design is so wide that it turns a card that is targeted at people who want a little bit of performance and light gaming, into something that can keep pace with a stock GTX570!

We're so used to seeing cards that can give us good numbers in 3D Mark but fall down when the gaming gets tough that to find a card which, if anything, underperforms in 3D Mark when compared to its gaming abilities is quite astonishing. It doesn't even come at a price to your ears or central heating either as the cooler is quiet and capable of keeping the GPU well under 80°C despite our 1GHz overclock.

In fact the only black mark on the Sparkle card is how hard it is to get hold of. One would assume that a card that has this huge level of performance would be available everywhere, yet it's extremely hard to find anywhere that is selling it. If you can find one the pricing doesn't reflect it's premium abilities being available, in the few places we've found it, for less than many other GTX560Ti's, at around £170.

Even if it was £200 we'd be raving about it, so to find that all these great qualities don't break the bank either means this has to go straight in as one of our highest recommended products for gamers on a budget and worthy of our Gold Award.

   

Thanks to Sparkle for providing the X560 Ti DF Calibre for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-11-2011, 06:09:16

tinytomlogan


Today we're taking a look at a hardcore version of the GTX560Ti, courtesy of Sparkle.

Continue Reading

07-11-2011, 06:51:25

SieB
Looks like Sparkle have done a good job, I never knew of them until now tough.

07-11-2011, 06:56:01

yassarikhan786
Nice review Tom. Sparkle did a brill job on this .

07-11-2011, 07:43:17

iiTzMaTTy
Good written review

07-11-2011, 08:31:41

badtaylorx
ive said it before and ill say it again...the GF 104/114 is the best gpu to date period!!! the 460 was brilliant and the die shrink made it even more so!!!

this is a GORGEOUS card......if they make a 580 like this instead of the arctic cooling triple fan one......im in.....ill sell my 6970's is a second!!!!!!!

and you know what.......it's at this point id like to send a big middle finger to the exec's over at nvidia.....no tri-sli on the 560Ti is a DAMN shame!!!!!!

07-11-2011, 08:35:51

dipzy
Sparkle are a solid brand, very goods cards, i still got a AGP Sparkle Radeon 7000 in my old AMD rig and its still working

Nice review by the way

07-11-2011, 08:40:25

badatgames18
nice review tom!

look inside? standard vrm arrangement?

07-11-2011, 10:00:22

paulb1972
Check out the linky to the Calibre Web Site - the ones on offer here have slightly different design and COOOOOOOL PURPLE fan blades!!!!!!!!!!!!!

07-11-2011, 10:01:58

SparkleDJackson
But where do you get them

07-11-2011, 10:36:13

paulb1972
Seems like thats a million dollar Q!

Amazon US has the ones reviewed here (currently out of stock) but whether you can get shipping to UK..............

Only "official" supplier doesnt have the reviewed version OR the Purple Blade version on the Calibre Site (incidentally clock speeds are even higher than the one reviewed 1ghz out the box)

So guess the only way to find em is troll the web or perhaps ebay...

07-11-2011, 11:43:01

Earthmonger
You didn't take the cooler off. Is this a reference PCB or not? I'm going to assume it is since it bares the nVidia logo on the PCIe steppe.

Looks like a solid card though. I'm really happy Sapphire isn't exclusive to ATi these days.

07-11-2011, 12:32:23

wotevajjjj
tried ordering one online... you just need to find a company that sells sparkle stuff and then ask em for this card

07-11-2011, 13:13:19

Mr. Strawberry
Quote:
Originally Posted by badatgames18 View Post

nice review tom!

look inside? standard vrm arrangement?
in this picture you can see Nvidia printed on the PCB that means it is reference

07-11-2011, 13:31:34

Earthmonger
Isn't that what I just said...

The good news there is that a waterblock is available for it.

07-11-2011, 13:33:15

yassarikhan786
The factory OC is awesome and the price makes it a brill card indeed.

07-11-2011, 14:19:37

paulb1972
Saphire = Sparkle??? - Thought they were seperate companies (not even an offshoot like Asus/ROG) as far as im aware (but if im wrong "stands corrected" in the corner with a big hat with D on it!!!!)

GeForce GTX 560 Ti (PCI-E 2.0)- Core Clock:1000 MHz/Memory Clock:4800 MHz - Stream processors:384 - Memory: 1024MB GDDR5 (256bit) - DVI x 2/Mini HDMI x 1



Bring back the PURPLE fans I say

GeForce GTX 570 (PCI-E 2.0)- Core Clock:772 MHz/Memory Clock:4212 MHz - Stream processors:480 - Memory:1280MB GDDR5 (320bit) - DVI x 2/Mini HDMI x 1



http://www.calibrestyle.com.tw/index.asp

07-11-2011, 15:01:46

yassarikhan786
Those purple fans look pretty funky .

07-11-2011, 15:13:23

Lollipop
I wish i had bought this card, because i'm thinking of WC'ing my GPU, but gotta wait until the new AMD/NVID GPU's arrive

07-11-2011, 15:29:51

Earthmonger
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulb1972 View Post

Saphire = Sparkle???
You got me there. I somehow mixed up Sapphire's Intel lineup, with Sparkle's nVidia lineup. I guess I ran a bit too much voltage and fused some neurons.

07-11-2011, 15:52:35

Mr. Strawberry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Earthmonger View Post

Isn't that what I just said...

The good news there is that a waterblock is available for it.
oops quoted wrong post

fixed it now ;D

16-02-2012, 05:39:41

Mr Muggles
Such a big jump from the 6850 to a 560OC, that's my next upgrade decided.

17-02-2012, 07:36:45

Joecoral
anyone know where this can be bought in the UK?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.