Sapphire X1950 Pro Dual

Game Tests - Counter Strike Source and Call of Duty 2

Counter Strike: Source

Counter Strike: Source is a hugely popular online FPS game based on the Source engine by Valve. This will show what a typical gamer will play on their PC and is a great indication of real-world gaming performance as the engine is so scalable.

sapphire x1950 pro dual css

The Sapphire X1950 Pro Dual keeps up with the slower 8800GTS in Counter Strike: Source although the minimum framerate is slightly lower.

Call of Duty 2

Call of Duty 2 is a fairly recent game that uses a lot of DirectX 9.0c features, including real time shadows, amazing smoke effects and some nice looking HDR effects. This makes the game very taxing at these high resolutions. I played a fully patched up version of the game. Once again I played through the game with a two minute gaming session including explosions, smoke and also lots of snow.

sapphhire x1950 pro dual call of duty 2

In Call of Duty 2 the X1950 pro Dual falls behind somewhat. The more advanced pipelines in the more expensive 8800GTS seem to really be able to pump out the frames. It still fared pretty well and was nice and playable at this high resolution.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-05-2007, 05:06:26

FarFarAway
We take a look at this new ATI beast and see how it does

link

03-05-2007, 05:45:10

Toxcity
For an ATI card I am impressed with the performance!

I am not an ATI fan but that it pretty.

Nice review!

03-05-2007, 06:05:20

FarFarAway
Dunno about pretty

Pretty huge maybe?

03-05-2007, 06:23:53

llwyd
Pretty nasty point drop at high res in 3Dmark tbh

03-05-2007, 06:33:18

FarFarAway
Ye which was strange as gaming it didn't do too badly. 3DMark I always take with a pinch of salt but it is a bit disappointing

03-05-2007, 08:07:45

FarFarAway
UPDATE:

Sapphire have said that the retail version comes with 3DMark06 and more importantly 4 DVI outputs for a 4 monitor setup.

Pretty cool.

03-05-2007, 08:31:33

Nagaru
Good review, seems like a cool product, just a little late in the game. Hate to nit pick but on page 3 under Test Setup and Notes it says "To test these high-end nVidia cards I set a PC that gives as little of a bottleneck as possible." Again sorry to be annoying.

03-05-2007, 08:32:35

FarFarAway
Oops

03-05-2007, 08:35:18

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
UPDATE:

Sapphire have said that the retail version comes with 3DMark06 and more importantly 4 DVI outputs for a 4 monitor setup.

Pretty cool.
WOAH! Free 3Dmark06!!

And 4 monitors on one card, thats pretty damn good!

But who uses 4 monitors!? :eh:

03-05-2007, 08:36:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'

But who uses 4 monitors!? :eh:
Someone with 4 eyes?

03-05-2007, 08:45:54

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Someone with 4 eyes?
That was painful to read lol

The review is decent, as always.

Personally, I think the product is weak. It is dx9, overpriced (almost as much as a GTS but fails to perform as well, again, it is not dx10 either) stupidly large and... Almost pointless. IMO.

Look forward to seeing the HD2900XT

03-05-2007, 09:28:24

Rastalovich
Would u think again if they have an inside inclin that Dx10 might not be with us til Q4.2008 ?

(not a fact, just speculation)

Still pricey imo, I`d still lean the 8800 way if I`m looking to spend around $350.

05-05-2007, 12:09:26

TJS
Wouldn't touch it with the 8800GTS 320mb beating it in benchmarks and having DX10. The only thing nVidia has to do to really put the grind into ATI is make SLI usable with 2 or more monitors. The dual GPU thing just doesn't do it, ATI needs to come out with DX10 GPU's, and make the cards smaller not bigger. If I were ATI and wanted to come out swinging against nVidia, that would be priority #2--- a smaller video card. Priority #1 would be making the GPU less power hungry while still making faster/powerful cores. With the AMD merger, I don't know whats keeping this from happening because they're pretty much giving up on a market they once ruled but are repeatedly losing sight of.

TJS
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.