Sapphire X1950 Pro Dual

Test Setup, installation and Notes

Installation

Installation was almost standard for a graphics card. As usual I installed the card screwing up the backplate onto the case. As the PC I was using the card in was watercooled this made for a pretty complicated situation and it didn't really fit in properly. It is well worth checking the dimensions of your case before you even buy the card as it really is very large in length and height.

sapphire x1950 pro dual installed sapphire x1950 pro dual installed 2

As you can see the card dwarfs a normal ATX motherboard and you really need to check the size of your case.

Test Setup and Notes

To test these high-end cards I set a PC that gives as little of a bottleneck as possible.

The setup is:

CPU: Intel Core2Duo E6700 @ 3.33Ghz
Motherboard: DFI iCFX3200 RD600 motherboard
RAM: Mushkin XP2-6400 4-4-4-12
Sound: Creative Labs X-Fi fatal1ty FPS
HDD: OS - 160gb Hitachi Deskstar SATA II
HDD: Gaming - 2 x 40gb Hitachi Deskstars in RAID 0
Power: Silverstone Zeus 560w
Case: Lian Li PC71b customised
Cooling: Custom Watercooling


I am again going to focus this review on FPS at certain resolutions and settings. I have reviewed the X1950 Pro before

I am using the numbers of the numbers from the 8800GTS shootout, as this system is easily comparible in setup.

I am still using a manual run-through of the games listed, exactly the same as in previous reviews, but doing it slightly differently to get some consistant numbers. Notice that for all games I ran through with 4 x AA and 8 x AF @ 1920 x 1200. For all of the 3Dmark benchmarks I did two runs. One run was with the stock settings that the free version of the benchmark comes with and one was with 4 x AA @ 1920 x 1200.

I am using a clean install of Windows XP Professional SP2 with all the latest patches.

Both 8800 cards are using the latest nVidia 97.92 Forceware drivers. The X1950 Pro Dual used the Catalyst 7.3 driver set with Catalyst Control Centre installed.

Overclocking was performed using Rivatuner on both 8800 cards and using the ATI "Overdrive" overclocking tool in the ATI drivers.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-05-2007, 05:06:26

FarFarAway
We take a look at this new ATI beast and see how it does

link

03-05-2007, 05:45:10

Toxcity
For an ATI card I am impressed with the performance!

I am not an ATI fan but that it pretty.

Nice review!

03-05-2007, 06:05:20

FarFarAway
Dunno about pretty

Pretty huge maybe?

03-05-2007, 06:23:53

llwyd
Pretty nasty point drop at high res in 3Dmark tbh

03-05-2007, 06:33:18

FarFarAway
Ye which was strange as gaming it didn't do too badly. 3DMark I always take with a pinch of salt but it is a bit disappointing

03-05-2007, 08:07:45

FarFarAway
UPDATE:

Sapphire have said that the retail version comes with 3DMark06 and more importantly 4 DVI outputs for a 4 monitor setup.

Pretty cool.

03-05-2007, 08:31:33

Nagaru
Good review, seems like a cool product, just a little late in the game. Hate to nit pick but on page 3 under Test Setup and Notes it says "To test these high-end nVidia cards I set a PC that gives as little of a bottleneck as possible." Again sorry to be annoying.

03-05-2007, 08:32:35

FarFarAway
Oops

03-05-2007, 08:35:18

Toxcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
UPDATE:

Sapphire have said that the retail version comes with 3DMark06 and more importantly 4 DVI outputs for a 4 monitor setup.

Pretty cool.
WOAH! Free 3Dmark06!!

And 4 monitors on one card, thats pretty damn good!

But who uses 4 monitors!? :eh:

03-05-2007, 08:36:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'

But who uses 4 monitors!? :eh:
Someone with 4 eyes?

03-05-2007, 08:45:54

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Someone with 4 eyes?
That was painful to read lol

The review is decent, as always.

Personally, I think the product is weak. It is dx9, overpriced (almost as much as a GTS but fails to perform as well, again, it is not dx10 either) stupidly large and... Almost pointless. IMO.

Look forward to seeing the HD2900XT

03-05-2007, 09:28:24

Rastalovich
Would u think again if they have an inside inclin that Dx10 might not be with us til Q4.2008 ?

(not a fact, just speculation)

Still pricey imo, I`d still lean the 8800 way if I`m looking to spend around $350.

05-05-2007, 12:09:26

TJS
Wouldn't touch it with the 8800GTS 320mb beating it in benchmarks and having DX10. The only thing nVidia has to do to really put the grind into ATI is make SLI usable with 2 or more monitors. The dual GPU thing just doesn't do it, ATI needs to come out with DX10 GPU's, and make the cards smaller not bigger. If I were ATI and wanted to come out swinging against nVidia, that would be priority #2--- a smaller video card. Priority #1 would be making the GPU less power hungry while still making faster/powerful cores. With the AMD merger, I don't know whats keeping this from happening because they're pretty much giving up on a market they once ruled but are repeatedly losing sight of.

TJS
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.