Sapphire X1900XT-X 512mb

Benchmarks

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 29/01/2006
Author: Matthew Kemp (kempez815) 
Hardware Acquired: SCAN Computers


Benchmarks and Overclocking

Benchmarks


I ran 3dMark06, 3dMark05 and 3dMark03 and 3dMark01 to get a flavour of how the card performs in these benchmarks. These benchmarks are all from Futuremark and test a variety of 3d effects, from DirectX7 and upwards to 3dMark06 that is a real test on a lot of DirectX 9.0c features.

Scores:

7800GTX 512mb (630/1830)

3dMark01: 36057
3dMark03: 22818
3dMark05: 10869
3dMark06: 5826

X1900XT-X (690/800)

3dMark01: 34871
3dMark03: 20298
3dMark05: 11608
3dMark06: 5990

These benchmarks came out very strange, some with the X1900XT-X winning over the 7800GTX, some not so. Remember that the 7800GTX is clocked at as high as it would go on air, whereas the X1900XT-X is simply an OC that is being held back by the drivers. Also I believe that the ATI drivers really need some optimising to get up there with the 7800GTX, and I will certainly push the card much further than this.


Overclocking

I have only done what I consider as a mild overclock on this card using the "ATI Overdrive" feature in the ATI drivers.

The max that you can get to in that is 690 Core and 800 Memory. I pressed the "run automated clock configuration utility" and this went straight up to the maximum.

I ran all of the tests at this setting as I considered that this overclock is only a mild OC and the card has a far higher headroom than this, especially with the 900Mhz rated Samsung Memory. The card is not even struggling at this speed and I will certainly be getting it higher!

Notes on ATI's control Centre

ATI's control centre is very good for the options that I wanted to enable on this card such as Temporal Anti-aliasing, Anisotropic Filtering and Adaptive Aliasing.

ATI Control centre X1900XTX

Overclocking does not fair quite as well compared to nvidia's "Coolbits" reg hack. The ATI drivers only allowed up to 690/800 for this card, which was very blatently far lower than the card could achieve.

ATI Control centre X1900XTX 1

Here is where nvidia\'s excellent well thought out drivers fair much better in my opinion, but I\'m off to hunt myself a tool that will do it for me better (RivaTuner) so its really a minor point.

The drivers with the card did do some very strange things at times at times, but I have at points found that the nvidia drivers did the same thing, especially at the release of the 7800GTX 512mb.



 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-01-2006, 10:12:50

FarFarAway
A few minor adjustments to do: but here is where you can discuss the review:

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews_show.php?id=19&page=1

31-01-2006, 10:14:14

JN
Great review mate. Props too ya . Hopefully the begining of a lot of top class reviews for OC3D

31-01-2006, 10:41:36

FragTek
Very nice mate!! Keep up the awesome reviewing

31-01-2006, 14:13:41

FarFarAway
Thanks lads

I've added a few more pics and amended a few bits of the review

31-01-2006, 14:20:26

Tec
Very nice review Kemp , keep up the good work, have you tried overclocking the card with Ati Tools or are they both have same speed limits ?

31-01-2006, 14:27:01

FarFarAway
No Imma get something to OC today mefinks

31-01-2006, 16:15:37

WC Annihilus
Nice review man. I did the same with this review as the other (hope you don't mind )

31-01-2006, 16:29:18

Tec
Little addon to spice up the benchys.

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.4186518/oc3dati1900xtxkemp.swf

I had to do this quickly , i can alter the background colour to match sites background colour so it looks embedded.

If you want to get numbers for the games too then i can do charts for them too.

Hope you like it.. See you around.

31-01-2006, 16:34:36

FarFarAway
Nice work Tec

I don't want to do game numbers for this one seeing as I don't have an nvidia card anymore and I don't think that thats what this card is about.

The add-in would need to be below 400px wide to fit on the page so feel free to go ahead and change it to match and I'll put it in with credit

31-01-2006, 18:06:38

Tec
.swf should fit into any width Kempez , autofit anysize i meant if it doesnt i ll do another one. No need for credit as its all for OC3D

31-01-2006, 18:57:18

Danni
Nice review- I could understand everything (always a good sign).

Hope it's the beginning of a great future for OC3D

31-01-2006, 18:58:58

Tec
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danni
Nice review- I could understand everything (always a good sign).

Hope it's the beginning of a great future for OC3D
I am sure it is

02-02-2006, 08:13:05

FarFarAway
some pretty decent news:

Type in "sapphire x1900xt-x review"

and here's what ya get:



w00t

02-02-2006, 08:14:57

JN
Page 1 baby

And OC3D hasn't even been submitted to the engines yet!

02-02-2006, 08:25:18

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMS
Page 1 baby

And OC3D hasn't even been submitted to the engines yet!
Verrry nice. Maybe we shouldn't submit it Maybe that's what fucked up the SX listings, lol.

02-02-2006, 08:43:03

JN
Yeah, i think i'll wait and see. If Google indexes the entire site (its only doing the index atm) then i wont bother submitting it

EDIT: THB, what you said could well be true Frag. Maybe google penalizes sites that submit directly to it. Maybe google believe that the sites that are found via word of mouth (eg, SX linking to OC3D) carry more weight.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.