Sapphire X1900XT-X 512mb

Game Tests

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 29/01/2006
Author: Matthew Kemp (kempez815) 
Hardware Acquired: SCAN Computers


Game Tests

FarCry:


Farcry is a game by Crytec Labs that uses the HDR features of DX 9.0C. Its a stunning game that looks simply awe-inspiring on this card. I used the 3.33 patch and a beta patch for the game to enable both HDR and AA in-game. This looks great with smooth frames, great looks, amazing High Dynamic Range lighting and no jaggies due to AA being enabled. This is possible with the "fix patch" beta made available on the internet from Guru 3

 Farcry X1900XTX Farcry X1900XTX HDR and AA

Card X1900XT-X 7800GTX 512mb
Resolution 1900x1200 1900x1200
AA 2x TAA 0x AA
AF 16x HQAF 16x AF
HDR HDR 7 HDR 7
Very High Settings used, apart from "Ultra" quality water.

As you can see this look great and certainly plays very smoothly. Using FRAPS I checked that the framerates were ok and at no point did this drop below 35FPS. The experience in Farcry with AA enabled on the X1900XT-X is far superior to that of the 7800GTX. The Nvidia card cannot play with AA and HDR enabled at the same time on Farcry and this gives the ATI card another edge over the GTX as regards quality.

Battlefield 2

Battlefield 2 is a demanding and large multiplayer online game that uses many features of directX 9.0, though does not use Shader Model 3.0; instead using SM 2.0++. This gives a good visual experience with huge maps and detailed scenary.

BF2 X1900XTX BF2 X1900XTX 2

Card X1900XT-X 7800GTX 512mb
Resolution 1900x1200 1900x1200
AA 6x TAA 4x AA
AF 16x HQAF 16x AF
HDR n/a n/a
Highest detail settings used.

This gave an incredibly smooth gaming experience and at no point did the game drop below 35FPS, maxing out at an incredibly 75FPS - very high for this resolution and detail setting. The X1900XT-X gave a smoother and slightly more details experience than the 7800GTX 512mb.

Quake 4

Quake 4 is a game built on the Doom 3 engine. This uses many DX 9.0c features and is a game that has not always ran so well on ATI hardware, being an OpenGL game. Quake 4 ran very well on the X1900XT-X, though this ran comparibly well on the 7800GTX 512mb. The experience was the same on each card, neither really having the edge over the other, though the High Quality AF and TAA features of the ATI card possibly rendered the game a bit nicer. Both cards ran Quake 4 fine at 1600 x 1200 with the game running in "widescreen mode". Widescreen mode also seems to be affecting the screenshot, but the actual experience is very good

Quake 4 X1900XTX

Card X1900XT-X 7800GTX 512mb
 Resolution  1600 x 1200 (16:10)  1600 x 1200 (16:10)
 AA  4x TAA  4x AA
 AF  16 x HQAF  16x AF
 HDR  n/a n/a
"Ultra" Settings enabled

Quake 4 is a "draw" between the two cards the way I see it, though I am waiting for ATI's next set of drivers before I really judge the X1900XT-X. These drivers seem to be holding the card back somewhat.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-01-2006, 10:12:50

FarFarAway
A few minor adjustments to do: but here is where you can discuss the review:

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews_show.php?id=19&page=1

31-01-2006, 10:14:14

JN
Great review mate. Props too ya . Hopefully the begining of a lot of top class reviews for OC3D

31-01-2006, 10:41:36

FragTek
Very nice mate!! Keep up the awesome reviewing

31-01-2006, 14:13:41

FarFarAway
Thanks lads

I've added a few more pics and amended a few bits of the review

31-01-2006, 14:20:26

Tec
Very nice review Kemp , keep up the good work, have you tried overclocking the card with Ati Tools or are they both have same speed limits ?

31-01-2006, 14:27:01

FarFarAway
No Imma get something to OC today mefinks

31-01-2006, 16:15:37

WC Annihilus
Nice review man. I did the same with this review as the other (hope you don't mind )

31-01-2006, 16:29:18

Tec
Little addon to spice up the benchys.

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.4186518/oc3dati1900xtxkemp.swf

I had to do this quickly , i can alter the background colour to match sites background colour so it looks embedded.

If you want to get numbers for the games too then i can do charts for them too.

Hope you like it.. See you around.

31-01-2006, 16:34:36

FarFarAway
Nice work Tec

I don't want to do game numbers for this one seeing as I don't have an nvidia card anymore and I don't think that thats what this card is about.

The add-in would need to be below 400px wide to fit on the page so feel free to go ahead and change it to match and I'll put it in with credit

31-01-2006, 18:06:38

Tec
.swf should fit into any width Kempez , autofit anysize i meant if it doesnt i ll do another one. No need for credit as its all for OC3D

31-01-2006, 18:57:18

Danni
Nice review- I could understand everything (always a good sign).

Hope it's the beginning of a great future for OC3D

31-01-2006, 18:58:58

Tec
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danni
Nice review- I could understand everything (always a good sign).

Hope it's the beginning of a great future for OC3D
I am sure it is

02-02-2006, 08:13:05

FarFarAway
some pretty decent news:

Type in "sapphire x1900xt-x review"

and here's what ya get:



w00t

02-02-2006, 08:14:57

JN
Page 1 baby

And OC3D hasn't even been submitted to the engines yet!

02-02-2006, 08:25:18

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMS
Page 1 baby

And OC3D hasn't even been submitted to the engines yet!
Verrry nice. Maybe we shouldn't submit it Maybe that's what fucked up the SX listings, lol.

02-02-2006, 08:43:03

JN
Yeah, i think i'll wait and see. If Google indexes the entire site (its only doing the index atm) then i wont bother submitting it

EDIT: THB, what you said could well be true Frag. Maybe google penalizes sites that submit directly to it. Maybe google believe that the sites that are found via word of mouth (eg, SX linking to OC3D) carry more weight.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.