Sapphire X1900XT-X 512mb

Test Setup

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 29/01/2006
Author: Matthew Kemp (kempez815) 
Hardware Acquired: SCAN Computers


Test Setup


Test Rig Spec:

CPU AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.75GHz
Motherboard DFI LANPARTY SLi-D
RAM 2 x 1gb Crucial Ballistix PC4000 1:1 3-3-3-8
Graphics Sapphire X1900XT-X 512mb
HDD OS: Maxtor 76gb 8mb Cache IDE
HDD Gaming: 2 x Hitachi Deskstars in 74gb RAID 0 Array
Case Coolermaster Stacker on wheels
PSU PCP&C 510 SLi
Sound Audigy ZS
Optical Sony DVD-ROM/CD-RW Combo Drive
Monitor Dell 2405FPW 24" TFT

OS: Windows XP Professional Edition Fully Patched SP2

Tests:

F.E.A.R.
Quake 4
Battlefield 2
Call of Duty 2
Counter Strike: Source
Farcry

3dMark03
3dMark05
3dMark06

Notes

For the Game Tests I try to get the very best possible looks for playing each game at the native Res of the Dell 2405FPW. This is 1920 x 1200. I also make sure that the games are maintaining a playable frame rate. Basically I try to get the very best graphical experience without losing the fast pace and enjoyment of each game.

For the benchmark tests I used the beta drivers that came with the X1900XTX. I believe these are a modified version of the Catalyst 6.2 beta

Card Features

The ATI X1900XT-X has a few high end features that I have used in this review. I will explain briefly about these.

TAA

TAA is temporal Antialising. This doubles the effect of antialiasing by alternating the sample pattern every other frame. This improves the quality of AA immensly, especially when coupled with

Adaptave Anti-aliasing

This enables Supersampling aliasing on transparent textures and multi-sampling aliasing on all other textures. This improves both quality and performance in one click.

HQAF

Standing for High Quality Anisotropic Filtering, HQAF is a feature that hugely inproves filtering on ATI cards. I have used this throughout the whole review and is a feature that really makes the ATI card stand out from the Nvidia one.

Super-Sampling on Nvidia Cards

Super-sampling does about the same as Adaptive AA does on the ATI card. I have found that at resolutions higher than 1680 x 1080, the Nvidia card does not perform too well in the most demanding games, but does increase the gaming experience.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-01-2006, 10:12:50

FarFarAway
A few minor adjustments to do: but here is where you can discuss the review:

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews_show.php?id=19&page=1

31-01-2006, 10:14:14

JN
Great review mate. Props too ya . Hopefully the begining of a lot of top class reviews for OC3D

31-01-2006, 10:41:36

FragTek
Very nice mate!! Keep up the awesome reviewing

31-01-2006, 14:13:41

FarFarAway
Thanks lads

I've added a few more pics and amended a few bits of the review

31-01-2006, 14:20:26

Tec
Very nice review Kemp , keep up the good work, have you tried overclocking the card with Ati Tools or are they both have same speed limits ?

31-01-2006, 14:27:01

FarFarAway
No Imma get something to OC today mefinks

31-01-2006, 16:15:37

WC Annihilus
Nice review man. I did the same with this review as the other (hope you don't mind )

31-01-2006, 16:29:18

Tec
Little addon to spice up the benchys.

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.4186518/oc3dati1900xtxkemp.swf

I had to do this quickly , i can alter the background colour to match sites background colour so it looks embedded.

If you want to get numbers for the games too then i can do charts for them too.

Hope you like it.. See you around.

31-01-2006, 16:34:36

FarFarAway
Nice work Tec

I don't want to do game numbers for this one seeing as I don't have an nvidia card anymore and I don't think that thats what this card is about.

The add-in would need to be below 400px wide to fit on the page so feel free to go ahead and change it to match and I'll put it in with credit

31-01-2006, 18:06:38

Tec
.swf should fit into any width Kempez , autofit anysize i meant if it doesnt i ll do another one. No need for credit as its all for OC3D

31-01-2006, 18:57:18

Danni
Nice review- I could understand everything (always a good sign).

Hope it's the beginning of a great future for OC3D

31-01-2006, 18:58:58

Tec
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danni
Nice review- I could understand everything (always a good sign).

Hope it's the beginning of a great future for OC3D
I am sure it is

02-02-2006, 08:13:05

FarFarAway
some pretty decent news:

Type in "sapphire x1900xt-x review"

and here's what ya get:



w00t

02-02-2006, 08:14:57

JN
Page 1 baby

And OC3D hasn't even been submitted to the engines yet!

02-02-2006, 08:25:18

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMS
Page 1 baby

And OC3D hasn't even been submitted to the engines yet!
Verrry nice. Maybe we shouldn't submit it Maybe that's what fucked up the SX listings, lol.

02-02-2006, 08:43:03

JN
Yeah, i think i'll wait and see. If Google indexes the entire site (its only doing the index atm) then i wont bother submitting it

EDIT: THB, what you said could well be true Frag. Maybe google penalizes sites that submit directly to it. Maybe google believe that the sites that are found via word of mouth (eg, SX linking to OC3D) carry more weight.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.