Sapphire Ultimate X1950 Pro 256mb PCI-E

Benchmark Results

Benchmark Results

3Dmark06 3DMark05
3DMark is a popular synthetic gaming benchmark used by many gamers and overclockers to gauge the performance of their PC's and graphics subsystem. All 3DMark runs were performed 3 times with averages being calculated from each of the results. To stress the capabilities of the cards, 4xAA and 1024x768 / 1440x900 resolutions were used.

Sapphire X1950 Pro 3DMark05 Sapphire X1950Pro 3DMark06

In both 3DMark05 and 3DMark06 the Sapphire X1950Pro ULTIMATE managed to beat out the stock-clocked XpertVision by around 2%. Taking bronze was the Asus 7900 GT, which despite a respectable score, fell behind both X1950Pro cards by an insignificant 1-2%.


Counter-Strike:Source
Counter-Strike:Source is a popular multi-player FPS based on the extremely scaleable Source engine. The game takes advantage of many DirectX 9.0c features, but is still fairly undemanding on the GPU unlike the other games in this test. With a card like the X1950Pro we'll be expecting to see framerates in excess of 200fps at 1024x768 and around 160fps at 1440x900.

Sapphire X1950Pro CSS

As expected all 3 cards managed well over 200fps at 1024x768, with the Sapphire taking the lead by a respectable 7fps over its stock-clocked counterpart. Increasing the resolution to 1440x900 brought the results much closer together with the XpertVision trailing behind the Sapphire by just over 3fps.


Sapphire X1950Pro FEAR
F.E.A.R. is a game based on the Lithtech Jupiter EX engine that uses many features of DirectX 9.0c. It has volumetric lighting, soft shadows, parallax mapping and particle effects, with a slow-motion mode that really taxes today's top of the line GPU's. Once again, all benchmarks were run 3 times to obtain an average at settings of 4xAA, 8xAF and 1024x768 / 1440x900 resolutions.

Sapphire X1950Pro F.E.A.R

With only 1fps difference between the two X1950Pro’s at 1024x768 and no difference between the cards at 1440x900, this really goes to show how taxing F.E.A.R can be on the GPU.


Quake4
Quake 4 is a game built on the Doom 3 engine. This uses many DX 9.0c features and is a game that has not always ran so well on ATI hardware being an OpenGL based. Benchmarking was performed using Quake4Bench and a custom timedemo recording along with 4xAA, 8xAF and resolutions of 1024x768 and 1440x900.

Sapphire X1950 Pro Quake 4

The OpenGL orientated Asus 7900GS really steals the show in Quake 4, showing a massive 38fps increase over the ATI based cards. Despite this humiliating defeat, the Sapphire’s overclocked memory gives it a diminutive advantage over the XpertVision card.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-04-2007, 13:03:59

JN
"With the release of ATI/AMD's R600 graphics card range being 'slightly' delayed, we take a look Sapphire's top-of-the-range X1950 Pro based GPU. Overclocked out of the box and complete with a sexy Zalman cooler, will this be enough to keep the ATI fans loyal?"

Linkage

03-04-2007, 13:24:57

equk
Nice review

I like the new OC3D recommended retailers search looks professional.

03-04-2007, 15:58:53

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='equk'
Nice review

I like the new OC3D recommended retailers search looks professional.
Cheers mate. Ye, I still need to do some work on it, but all the prices are live from the retailers (hence why it takes a while to bring up the results).

03-04-2007, 17:09:37

Raging
nice review,looks to be a cracking card with an impressive price tag to boot

03-04-2007, 17:20:30

Ham
Looks good. One last ditch dx9 card before R600 rapes many, many psus?

03-04-2007, 17:22:59

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Looks good. One last ditch dx9 card before R600 rapes many, many psus?
We'll have to do an article on how many cheap-o psu's it takes to power it

04-04-2007, 20:50:57

Nagaru
I think the overclocking problems are because of Ati Tool, from the Ati Tool site "All NVIDIA and ATI cards except for Radeon X1950 Pro are supported in this release." The source.

05-04-2007, 05:13:59

Phunky
Nice little read, i think i will be heading back over to ATi once there DX10 range is out.

Nothing has felt quite as good as my old x800xt pe :/

05-04-2007, 05:25:25

FarFarAway
Actually my 6800GT was a legendary card and the best I've felt with an nVidia card ever I think

26-05-2007, 14:51:05

Pred
I just recently got this card and I currently have the GPU overclocked to 641 and the memory overclocked to 844 and it runs stable. If you use atitool, you have to check the driver level overclocking box in order to overclock the memory. Works great, got a 3Dmark05 score of 10520 on my system. Not too bad considering my weak 4000+ single core processor.

26-05-2007, 14:54:01

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Pred'
I just recently got this card and I currently have the GPU overclocked to 641 and the memory overclocked to 844 and it runs stable. If you use atitool, you have to check the driver level overclocking box in order to overclock the memory. Works great, got a 3Dmark05 score of 10520 on my system. Not too bad considering my weak 4000+ single core processor.
Good job Pred and thanks for the info.

Welcome to the forums btw

26-05-2007, 16:58:10

Pred
Glad to be here. I was wondering though... has anyone else been successful at overclocking the memory? From all the forums I've read and reviews, I can't find anyone that's gotten it past 800. I know it's possible, obviously, since I did it.

One other interesting thing to note about the card: I received a model that is obviously a new batch. The heatsink on the end of the card is no longer a gold color and no longer has the "S" on it, it's colored silver now. It also had their latest May release bios on it, which surprised me because the bios was only released about a week and a half or so before I bought the card.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.