Sapphire Ultimate X1950 Pro 256mb PCI-E

Test Setup & Game Settings

Test Setup

In order to give you a good idea of how the Sapphire X1950Pro ULTIMATE compares to its stock-clocked counterpart and other cards in its price bracket, the following pages will show comparative results using the 3 graphics cards below:

Sapphire X1950Pro ULTIMATE 256mb (580mhz / 1600mhz)
Xpertvision X1950Pro Super 512mb (575mhz / 1380mhz)
Asus Geforce 7900 GS (450mhz / 1320mhz)

The following high-spec, overclocked system was also used to remove any potential bottlenecks:

Sapphire X1950Pro Ultimate Sapphire X1950Pro Ultimate

CPU: Intel Core2Duo E6700 @ 3.6ghz
Memory: Patriot PC2-8500 @ 562mhz (5-5-5-8)
Motherboard: Asus Commando (Intel P965)
Hard Disks: 2x Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 80gb (Raid0)
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer
Software: Windows XP SP2 + DirectX 9.0c
Drivers: ATI Catalyst 7.2 / Nvidia Forceware 93.71
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-04-2007, 13:03:59

JN
"With the release of ATI/AMD's R600 graphics card range being 'slightly' delayed, we take a look Sapphire's top-of-the-range X1950 Pro based GPU. Overclocked out of the box and complete with a sexy Zalman cooler, will this be enough to keep the ATI fans loyal?"

Linkage

03-04-2007, 13:24:57

equk
Nice review

I like the new OC3D recommended retailers search looks professional.

03-04-2007, 15:58:53

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='equk'
Nice review

I like the new OC3D recommended retailers search looks professional.
Cheers mate. Ye, I still need to do some work on it, but all the prices are live from the retailers (hence why it takes a while to bring up the results).

03-04-2007, 17:09:37

Raging
nice review,looks to be a cracking card with an impressive price tag to boot

03-04-2007, 17:20:30

Ham
Looks good. One last ditch dx9 card before R600 rapes many, many psus?

03-04-2007, 17:22:59

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Looks good. One last ditch dx9 card before R600 rapes many, many psus?
We'll have to do an article on how many cheap-o psu's it takes to power it

04-04-2007, 20:50:57

Nagaru
I think the overclocking problems are because of Ati Tool, from the Ati Tool site "All NVIDIA and ATI cards except for Radeon X1950 Pro are supported in this release." The source.

05-04-2007, 05:13:59

Phunky
Nice little read, i think i will be heading back over to ATi once there DX10 range is out.

Nothing has felt quite as good as my old x800xt pe :/

05-04-2007, 05:25:25

FarFarAway
Actually my 6800GT was a legendary card and the best I've felt with an nVidia card ever I think

26-05-2007, 14:51:05

Pred
I just recently got this card and I currently have the GPU overclocked to 641 and the memory overclocked to 844 and it runs stable. If you use atitool, you have to check the driver level overclocking box in order to overclock the memory. Works great, got a 3Dmark05 score of 10520 on my system. Not too bad considering my weak 4000+ single core processor.

26-05-2007, 14:54:01

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Pred'
I just recently got this card and I currently have the GPU overclocked to 641 and the memory overclocked to 844 and it runs stable. If you use atitool, you have to check the driver level overclocking box in order to overclock the memory. Works great, got a 3Dmark05 score of 10520 on my system. Not too bad considering my weak 4000+ single core processor.
Good job Pred and thanks for the info.

Welcome to the forums btw

26-05-2007, 16:58:10

Pred
Glad to be here. I was wondering though... has anyone else been successful at overclocking the memory? From all the forums I've read and reviews, I can't find anyone that's gotten it past 800. I know it's possible, obviously, since I did it.

One other interesting thing to note about the card: I received a model that is obviously a new batch. The heatsink on the end of the card is no longer a gold color and no longer has the "S" on it, it's colored silver now. It also had their latest May release bios on it, which surprised me because the bios was only released about a week and a half or so before I bought the card.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.