Sapphire Ultimate X1950 Pro 256mb PCI-E

Card Appearance

Card Appearance

Often dubbed as "Leaf Blowers", it's fair to say that some of ATI's past stock cooling solutions have been anything but quiet. Many ATI AIB's have ditched these stock coolers in favor of their own custom solutions, and from the images below we can see that Sapphire have taken a similar approach.

Sapphire X1950Pro Front Sapphire X1950Pro Back

Rather than going for a generic 3rd party solution, Sapphire have teamed up with Korean silent cooling guru's Zalman who are well known for their "flower" style heatsinks.

Using the popular and well respected all-copper VF900-Cu (which actually retails for around £27), you can expect noise output between ~18-25dbA depending how how the cards BIOS is configured to manage the fan speed.

Sapphire X1950Pro Core Sapphire X1950Pro Cooler

The VF900-Cu makes good contact with the X1950 Pro's RV570 core, and Sapphire have even gone to the trouble of using some kind of generic Silver-based TIM for improved heat transfer.

All of this seems to pay off very well considering the reported temperatures from Rivatuner came in at 34°C idle and 45°C load with an ambient temperature of 22°c.

Sapphire X1950Pro PWM Sapphire X1950Pro Memory Sinks

The memory IC's are passively cooled by blue annodised aluminium chipsinks. These should prove pretty effective considering their close proximity to the airflow from the main Zalman cooler.

We can also see that the PWM mosfets on the back of the card have been given their own 'funky' gold aluminium heatsink to help dissipate heat, and promote greater voltage stability to the cards components.

Sapphire X1950Pro DVI

The card has two DVI ports, both of which feature HDCP support and can be used with older VGA screens by use of the included DVI>VGA converter blocks.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-04-2007, 13:03:59

JN
"With the release of ATI/AMD's R600 graphics card range being 'slightly' delayed, we take a look Sapphire's top-of-the-range X1950 Pro based GPU. Overclocked out of the box and complete with a sexy Zalman cooler, will this be enough to keep the ATI fans loyal?"

Linkage

03-04-2007, 13:24:57

equk
Nice review

I like the new OC3D recommended retailers search looks professional.

03-04-2007, 15:58:53

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='equk'
Nice review

I like the new OC3D recommended retailers search looks professional.
Cheers mate. Ye, I still need to do some work on it, but all the prices are live from the retailers (hence why it takes a while to bring up the results).

03-04-2007, 17:09:37

Raging
nice review,looks to be a cracking card with an impressive price tag to boot

03-04-2007, 17:20:30

Ham
Looks good. One last ditch dx9 card before R600 rapes many, many psus?

03-04-2007, 17:22:59

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Looks good. One last ditch dx9 card before R600 rapes many, many psus?
We'll have to do an article on how many cheap-o psu's it takes to power it

04-04-2007, 20:50:57

Nagaru
I think the overclocking problems are because of Ati Tool, from the Ati Tool site "All NVIDIA and ATI cards except for Radeon X1950 Pro are supported in this release." The source.

05-04-2007, 05:13:59

Phunky
Nice little read, i think i will be heading back over to ATi once there DX10 range is out.

Nothing has felt quite as good as my old x800xt pe :/

05-04-2007, 05:25:25

FarFarAway
Actually my 6800GT was a legendary card and the best I've felt with an nVidia card ever I think

26-05-2007, 14:51:05

Pred
I just recently got this card and I currently have the GPU overclocked to 641 and the memory overclocked to 844 and it runs stable. If you use atitool, you have to check the driver level overclocking box in order to overclock the memory. Works great, got a 3Dmark05 score of 10520 on my system. Not too bad considering my weak 4000+ single core processor.

26-05-2007, 14:54:01

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Pred'
I just recently got this card and I currently have the GPU overclocked to 641 and the memory overclocked to 844 and it runs stable. If you use atitool, you have to check the driver level overclocking box in order to overclock the memory. Works great, got a 3Dmark05 score of 10520 on my system. Not too bad considering my weak 4000+ single core processor.
Good job Pred and thanks for the info.

Welcome to the forums btw

26-05-2007, 16:58:10

Pred
Glad to be here. I was wondering though... has anyone else been successful at overclocking the memory? From all the forums I've read and reviews, I can't find anyone that's gotten it past 800. I know it's possible, obviously, since I did it.

One other interesting thing to note about the card: I received a model that is obviously a new batch. The heatsink on the end of the card is no longer a gold color and no longer has the "S" on it, it's colored silver now. It also had their latest May release bios on it, which surprised me because the bios was only released about a week and a half or so before I bought the card.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.