Sapphire HD 2900 XT

Benchmarks - 3DMark03, 06 and 06

Benchmarking - 3DMark

I used the popular gaming benchmarks made by Futuremark to bench all of the cards. I used 3dMark 03, 05 and 06. All benches were performed at stock speeds for this section. I ran all benchmarks from the stock settings as well as at 1920 x 1200 (4 x AA).

3dMark 03

First we start with 3dMark03. This is a benchmark that relies heavily on DirectX 8 features. This will give an indication of how the card will run on games that rely on DX 8.


3dmark03

The stock test saw the 2900 XT stomp over the two nVidia cards and at 1920 x 1200 it didn't fare too badly either, handling the high res and beating the nVidia offerings by 1000 3DMarks.

3dMark05

I ran 3dMark05. This benchmark requires some more features of DirectX 9 and gets slightly more taxing on the cards.

3dmark05

Again here the trend is shown with the ATI card really putting out some nice figures in the slightly more taxing benchmark.

3dMark06

3dMark06 is the latest in the benchmarking tests from Futuremark. It has a lot of DirectX 9.0c features such as HDR and use of Shader model 3.0. This benchmark is very taxing for the cards and also includes quite a harsh CPU benchmark. Seeing as this was run with the exact same CPU this was not an issue. This is the latest Futuremark benchmark and so carries a bit more weight for modern games than the previous two.

3dmark06

3DMark06 shows us that the 2900 XT really kicks it in the Futuremark suite, bringing home some very good figures compared to the nVidia 8800's.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-07-2007, 03:39:55

FarFarAway
I know some of you have been awaiting this one for a while

Sorry about that

Here we go

Enjoy

09-07-2007, 06:56:17

mVp24
As always, nice review Kempez!

09-07-2007, 07:04:16

ionicle
wow, it kicked the 8800's ass at some things :O

in 3dmark it dominated

nice looking card

09-07-2007, 07:45:41

FarFarAway
Tis nice looking, not kind on the ears though

09-07-2007, 07:47:23

mVp24
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Tis nice looking, not kind on the ears though
I heard a crossfire setup of those. Man oh man hecka loud! If ATI sorted their size/power/noise issue, then I'd have definitely considered an HD2900XT.

09-07-2007, 07:53:10

Ham
Not a fan on the sandwich heatsink. The 8800 Blocks are expensive enough, the 2900s are going too need even more copper = higher price again. Same goes for after-market air coolers.

But at the oblivion results

09-07-2007, 07:58:50

nunzio
Looks nice..

But a question, would this be a good upgrade from my x1900xt or should i go for a 2600xt? I am in two minds, as i dont really play a lot of games. But i do run two 1600x1200 monitors, and would like to be able to do dual screen with dx3d apps.

Or would a 8800GTS 640mb be better, given the price differences between them.

09-07-2007, 08:30:27

Rastalovich
Tremendous review Kemp. I wonder why an 8 pin pci-e thingy isn`t in the bundle ? Seems strange to adopt a personalized connection type and not equip the average user with the means to use it.

That aside, bundle scores very nicely - tbh other manufacturers can learn a whole lot from this. Users love `free` stuff, and when it`s closely associated with the product too it`s great. Jeez a user would be happy with an XL "I score with Ati" shirt folded at the bottom of the box

Slightly off topic perhaps, but I see the Oblivion scores are silly-high in comparison with a 8800GTS... leads me to think if the game was heavily dev`d around an Ati engine. Would answer a few questions tbh. I can`t remember whether it boasts a card manuf when u run it.

Over all tho, I think it turned out as u may have previously thought, a good solid competitor for an 8800GTS. And it seems if u`r a really big Oblivion fan, u should seriously consider it.

09-07-2007, 12:12:28

NickS
Nice review but I think the comment about the "needing the extra 2 pins" was unnecessary. If you take a look @ the rear of your 8800GTX, you'll notice there is in fact a 6 pin and an 8 pin. NVIDIA chose to only solder on 6 of those 8 pins though. ATi could've done the same thing, you don't need 8 pins. ATi's Overdrive unlocks when you use an 8 pin and a 6 pin, but some people @ XS have discovered you can use two 6 pins and short the remaining 2 with a paperclip and Overdrive unlocks

09-07-2007, 12:55:21

FarFarAway
This I know, what I am questioning is why did ATI choose to include this? And why have they chosed not to unlock overdrive if you dont use the 6 PIN. Normal users won't be sticking paperclips into graphics cards and why the hell should they?

I am not just catering for the knowledgable enthusiasts in the reviews, it has to be everyone tbh

09-07-2007, 13:34:24

equk
long review

On the quake4 test. Did you do a timedemo the results seem a bit 'wild'

All of the fps results are a bit wierd how do you get the avg fps etc?

edit: Once again I did three two minute runs on Quake 4 on each card and took the average of all my readings from these.

Sounds like a FRAPS type job?

The oblivion benchmark? is quite interesting.

On the hardware side, the cooler is quite nice

Shame about it being noisy

I thought the review was excellent. I really liked the beginning with the hardware images and little bits of info like the fan being noisy etc

I would be interested to see the HDMI capabilities of the card

09-07-2007, 13:50:15

FarFarAway
Ye I use FRAPS to record FPS and play a manual run through of the game. Not sure why you say "wild", tis just min, max and average FPS. I know it works well cause the FPS stay the same every time and comparing two similar cards gets similar results. Some cards handle games well staying very steady, some really fluctuate ate certain points. That's where my impressions of the game come in so I can say if it was smooth or not (not just let the graphs do the talking)

Ta mate

I would have tested HDMI but I don't have an HDMI TV/Monitor (yet). Still, I know HDCP works well

17-07-2007, 05:27:54

badsykes
There is a flaw in the review and nvidia cards were in disadvantage ..

"Both nVidia cards are using the nVidia !!! 97.92 !!! Forceware drivers.

The ATI card was installed with the Catalyst Control Center 7.6's."

The latest oficial is 158.22 and the latest beta is 163 ... Can the reviewer repeat the tests with latest official if not beta drivers...I hate nvidia very much but the reviews must be fair..

Latest drivers VS latest drivers

7.6 official VS 158.22 official

17-07-2007, 05:44:37

FarFarAway
The review clearly states that these results were taken from a previous review which is the reason for the older drivers.

Yes there would perhaps be a difference, but not to the extent it would skew the results.

I no longer have the 8800 GTS's as they are back with the manufacturers.

17-07-2007, 06:27:40

badsykes
Ya .. sorry..I forgot that the review states that thing.

06-08-2007, 09:57:59

badsykes
Hello Kempez.After 7.8 will be released is any chance to update the review.The AA performance has been improved radically.

06-08-2007, 10:46:07

FarFarAway
I no longer have a 2900XT, and unfortunately I can't redo each review after every driver release, I have enough trouble reviewing the new stuff that comes in!

06-08-2007, 13:25:17

!TIMMY!
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='badsykes'
Hello Kempez.After 7.8 will be released is any chance to update the review.The AA performance has been improved radically.
When will they be out? These 7.7's look nice, but performance sucks.

07-09-2007, 09:23:24

badsykes
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
I no longer have a 2900XT, and unfortunately I can't redo each review after every driver release, I have enough trouble reviewing the new stuff that comes in!
Heh sorry mate :P..I think the reviews for a new VGA should be done after a couple of month..The trend is too early releases but with buggy drivers

08-09-2007, 14:57:50

FarFarAway
Trouble is this isn't when the graphics cards companies want them done, and we kind of have to live by their schedule I'm afraid
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.