Sapphire HD7950 Overclock Edition Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Sapphire HD7950 Overclock Edition Review

Introduction

In our final part of our look at three different takes upon the HD7950, we look at the Sapphire offering.

Sapphire have long provided us with some of the best variants of the Radeon cards and the HD7950 Overclock Edition is no exception. A huge heat-sink bristling with heatpipes should ensure it remains cool no matter the loading, and an out of the box 900MHz GPU core speed will help it fit in with the plug and forget models.

So rather than repeat things you already know, let's get on and look at it.

Technical Specifications

A beast of a cooler, a big old overclock and a copy of the excellent TriXX software. There is a lot to like about the Sapphire HD7950.

ModelSapphire HD7950 Overclock Edition
Core Clock900MHz
Memory Size3GB
Memory TypeGDDR5
Memory Bus384 bit
Memory Speed1250 MHz
PCI BusPCI Express 3.0
Stream Processors1792
Outputs

2x Mini DisplayPort
DVI-I
HDMI

 

Enough preamble. Onwards to the photos...

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-01-2012, 00:00:29

tinytomlogan


Fancy a HD7950 that's truly blazingly fast? Welcome to the Overclocked Edition from Sapphire.

Continue Reading

31-01-2012, 00:51:49

MaXiMiZe
Great review Tom. The 7950 is looking like a really good buy. Hopefully it drops at the 350 mark.

31-01-2012, 06:40:33

kilobravo
I like the look of that twin cooler.

31-01-2012, 09:33:01

Grim_Reaper
Great review! Looks sweet. Need some other vendors to come in for challenge and lower price.

31-01-2012, 11:22:30

Adajer
Might be a stupid question. Were those test results taken with the card OC'd to 1150 or at the stock OC of 900mhz?

31-01-2012, 12:26:51

Lord Stark
I take it you've tested using the lastest Catalyst, 8.921.2 RC11? Other review I read showed recent drivers improved performance anywhere from 10-22% depending on the game.

31-01-2012, 12:58:35

Lollipop
WHY DO YOU DO THIS!? A f'king blue PCB!? AGAIN!!!???

31-01-2012, 17:13:58

unknownuser200
its a SAPPHIRE card of course its going to blue. its in there name

31-01-2012, 17:36:43

BanziMick
Great review, as usual!

Just one question: you wrote the Sapphire have removed the dual BIOS, but from theis pic it seems that the switch is still there! Am I wrong?

Because if the dual-BIOS is there, I really think I'm gonna buy this card...

01-02-2012, 07:59:32

MichaelH

01-02-2012, 16:28:19

unknownuser200
see my post above

01-02-2012, 17:53:03

MichaelH
Quote:
Originally Posted by unknownuser200 View Post

see my post above
It doesn't matter. Blue PCBs are ugly and they need to move forward to Black PCBs or they'll lose customers to better looking cards.

Besides, you can get different coloured Sapphires. And just because of the brand name...it doesn't give them excuse to use the same blue PCB on cards they've been using for years.

01-02-2012, 19:38:57

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelH View Post

It doesn't matter. Blue PCBs are ugly and they need to move forward to Black PCBs or they'll lose customers to better looking cards.

Besides, you can get different coloured Sapphires. And just because of the brand name...it doesn't give them excuse to use the same blue PCB on cards they've been using for years.
Well I hate the colour blue so Im never buying them. I always wanted have a purple PCB in kinda silver and purple pimp rig.

01-02-2012, 19:42:16

murphy7801
Or imagine wood panelling style pcb lol

01-02-2012, 19:48:15

unknownuser200
not everyone hates blue

02-02-2012, 05:06:04

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by unknownuser200 View Post

not everyone hates blue
I don't mind it . If you're going for a blue themed rig then a blue PCB is perfect .

04-02-2012, 10:40:34

lspaddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelH View Post


This (I mean it cant be that hard to change...)

05-02-2012, 15:40:23

Zaim
The only thing that would put me off a little is the Blue PCB, but since this card is very quiet and cool I would still consider it.

At the moment I'm liking the Asus DirectCUII, my 570 runs cool and very quiet, would be nice to see how they compare.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.