Sapphire HD4870 512mb DDR5

Quake 4 & Unreal Tournament III

 
Quake 4 is a game built on the Doom 3 engine. Benchmarking was performed using Quake4Bench and a custom timedemo recording. The benchmark was set to run a total of 5 times, with Quake4Bench automatically calculating an average result at the end of the run.
 
 
 
 
The Quake engine sees the NVidia cards once again take the advantage. I was bemused that the Quake engine seemed to limit the ATI's performance somewhat with the application of AA not making any discernible difference to the results. The NVidia cards had no such trouble ripping through the benchmark with ease. Perhaps not the best game for ATI fans.
  
 
 
Unreal Tournament 3 is the highly anticipated game from Epic Games and Midway. The game uses the latest Unreal engine, which combines fast gameplay along with high quality textures and lighting effects. All benchmarks were performed using UTbench with a fly-by of the DM-BioHazard map. As usual, all benchmarks were performed 5 times, with the highest and lowest results being removed and an average calculated from the remaining three.
 
 
 
Again NVidia land on top with the Unreal graphics engine proffering NVidia to ATI. This is not to say that the ATI cards had a poor showing in Unreal Tournament III as 136FPS is nothing to be sniffed at but they are some 35 FPS shy of their NVidia counterparts in this particular game.
 
Throughout all the benchmarks, particular attention should be given to cost per frame which shows that the ATI cards have a distinct advantage over NVidia - even after NVidia dropped their prices recently.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-08-2008, 16:50:04

w3bbo
"We take the Sapphire HD4870 512mb GDDR5 for a ride and pitch it up against its nearest rivals. in the latest review of ATI's flagship model."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214806338s.jpg

Read all about it HERE

01-08-2008, 19:01:11

Hassan
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280

01-08-2008, 19:16:09

Bungral
Naaaaa man it matches the 260 mostly.

Obviously varies on the odd game.

01-08-2008, 19:53:40

Brooksie
Good review, seems like a good card, nice to see it still performing well at high res and AA, as you said in the review it didn't cripple as the 3870 did.

02-08-2008, 04:21:19

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280
Webbo's been reviewing for a while

Nice review once again, Looks like a damn nice card.

02-08-2008, 08:27:58

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280
Cheers m8. Sadly the 4870 can't really hold a candle to the GTX280 - leave that to the 4870x2 .

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Brooksie'
Good review, seems like a good card, nice to see it still performing well at high res and AA, as you said in the review it didn't cripple as the 3870 did.
that was one aspect of the card I found to be great - I half expected the card to perform very well but die once AA was applied, I was pleased to be proven wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Webbo's been reviewing for a while

Nice review once again, Looks like a damn nice card.
Cheers m8.

02-08-2008, 08:42:47

Hassan
So the big question is what will you people buy?

The nVidia or the ATi

02-08-2008, 20:54:27

pafk0o
At this moment we want to have nvidia but we will buy ATI, 3 reasons for it : cheap price , good performance and stability.First and last one is what nvidia must work on ;] at least last one cause i dont think that nvidias cards will be at same price as ATI ever

I know that i`m mouning from few weeks about nvidias product but i have a major problem with my system going on SLI(or even without), after googling a bit and going thru different forums i have found many,many other ppl having same or similiar issues.

Sad but true.

03-08-2008, 13:22:38

w3bbo
I don't normally have a preference but NVidia, I usually go with whats best at the time which normally means NVidia. ATI however, are catching up pretty fast.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.