Sapphire HD4870 512mb DDR5

Crysis & F.E.A.R

 
Crysis is without doubt one of the most visually stunning and hardware-challenging games to date. By using CrysisBench - a tool developed independently of Crysis - we performed a total of 5 timedemo benchmarks using a GPU-intensive pre-recorded demo. To ensure the most accurate results, the highest and lowest benchmark scores were then removed and an average calculated from the remaining three.
 
 
 
Being a DX10 game and seeing how the Sapphire card performed in Bioshock I half expected to see the ATI cards out perform the GTX260 in Crysis aswell. However this game seems to favour NVidia based setups at both resolutions. The NVidia cards also claw back a little bit of cost in this game but are still more expensive cost per frame. Still a very good performance from the ATI cards given that they are alot cheaper and still keep within a couple of FPS of their main rival.
 
 
 
F.E.A.R. is a game based on the Lithtech Jupiter EX engine. It has volumetric lighting, soft shadows, parallax mapping and particle effects. All results were recorded using F.R.A.P.S, with a total of 5 identical runs through the same area of the game. The highest and lowest results were then removed, with an average being calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
 
 
 
F.E.A.R has always taken a preference to the NVidia camp and today was no different seeing the GTX260 and 280 cards easily dispatch the ATI offerings. The NVidia cards do take a much bigger hit when AA was applied though and one can only assume that the more AA and higher the resolution the more even the playing field would be.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-08-2008, 16:50:04

w3bbo
"We take the Sapphire HD4870 512mb GDDR5 for a ride and pitch it up against its nearest rivals. in the latest review of ATI's flagship model."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214806338s.jpg

Read all about it HERE

01-08-2008, 19:01:11

Hassan
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280

01-08-2008, 19:16:09

Bungral
Naaaaa man it matches the 260 mostly.

Obviously varies on the odd game.

01-08-2008, 19:53:40

Brooksie
Good review, seems like a good card, nice to see it still performing well at high res and AA, as you said in the review it didn't cripple as the 3870 did.

02-08-2008, 04:21:19

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280
Webbo's been reviewing for a while

Nice review once again, Looks like a damn nice card.

02-08-2008, 08:27:58

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280
Cheers m8. Sadly the 4870 can't really hold a candle to the GTX280 - leave that to the 4870x2 .

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Brooksie'
Good review, seems like a good card, nice to see it still performing well at high res and AA, as you said in the review it didn't cripple as the 3870 did.
that was one aspect of the card I found to be great - I half expected the card to perform very well but die once AA was applied, I was pleased to be proven wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Webbo's been reviewing for a while

Nice review once again, Looks like a damn nice card.
Cheers m8.

02-08-2008, 08:42:47

Hassan
So the big question is what will you people buy?

The nVidia or the ATi

02-08-2008, 20:54:27

pafk0o
At this moment we want to have nvidia but we will buy ATI, 3 reasons for it : cheap price , good performance and stability.First and last one is what nvidia must work on ;] at least last one cause i dont think that nvidias cards will be at same price as ATI ever

I know that i`m mouning from few weeks about nvidias product but i have a major problem with my system going on SLI(or even without), after googling a bit and going thru different forums i have found many,many other ppl having same or similiar issues.

Sad but true.

03-08-2008, 13:22:38

w3bbo
I don't normally have a preference but NVidia, I usually go with whats best at the time which normally means NVidia. ATI however, are catching up pretty fast.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.