Sapphire HD4870 512mb DDR5

Call of Duty 4 & Bioshock

 
 
Call of Duty 4 is a stunning DirectX 9.0c based game that really looks awesome and has a very full feature set. With lots of advanced lighting, smoke and water effects, the game has excellent explosions along with fast gameplay. Using the in-built Call Of Duty features, a 10-minute long game play demo was recorded and replayed on each of the GPU's using the /timedemo command a total of 5 times. The highest and lowest FPS results were then removed, with an average being calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
 
The advantage the ATI cards held in the 3DMark set of benchmarks seems to have wavered once we start playing 'real' games. Although not a drastic deficit, the NVidia cards had the advantage in COD4, albeit at a greater cost per frame.
 
 
 
BioShock is a recent FPS shooter by 2K games. Based on the UT3 engine, it has a large amount of advanced DirectX techniques including excellent water rendering and superb lighting and smoke techniques. All results were recorded using F.R.A.P.S with a total of 5 identical runs through the same area of the game. The highest and lowest results were then removed, with an average being calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
 
 
Unsurprisingly the two 4870's were evenly matched. What is surprising as that both managed to out perform the GTX260 at both resolutions with the gap increasing once AA was applied. A very good performance for ATI in the first of our DX10 benchmarks.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-08-2008, 16:50:04

w3bbo
"We take the Sapphire HD4870 512mb GDDR5 for a ride and pitch it up against its nearest rivals. in the latest review of ATI's flagship model."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214806338s.jpg

Read all about it HERE

01-08-2008, 19:01:11

Hassan
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280

01-08-2008, 19:16:09

Bungral
Naaaaa man it matches the 260 mostly.

Obviously varies on the odd game.

01-08-2008, 19:53:40

Brooksie
Good review, seems like a good card, nice to see it still performing well at high res and AA, as you said in the review it didn't cripple as the 3870 did.

02-08-2008, 04:21:19

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280
Webbo's been reviewing for a while

Nice review once again, Looks like a damn nice card.

02-08-2008, 08:27:58

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280
Cheers m8. Sadly the 4870 can't really hold a candle to the GTX280 - leave that to the 4870x2 .

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Brooksie'
Good review, seems like a good card, nice to see it still performing well at high res and AA, as you said in the review it didn't cripple as the 3870 did.
that was one aspect of the card I found to be great - I half expected the card to perform very well but die once AA was applied, I was pleased to be proven wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Webbo's been reviewing for a while

Nice review once again, Looks like a damn nice card.
Cheers m8.

02-08-2008, 08:42:47

Hassan
So the big question is what will you people buy?

The nVidia or the ATi

02-08-2008, 20:54:27

pafk0o
At this moment we want to have nvidia but we will buy ATI, 3 reasons for it : cheap price , good performance and stability.First and last one is what nvidia must work on ;] at least last one cause i dont think that nvidias cards will be at same price as ATI ever

I know that i`m mouning from few weeks about nvidias product but i have a major problem with my system going on SLI(or even without), after googling a bit and going thru different forums i have found many,many other ppl having same or similiar issues.

Sad but true.

03-08-2008, 13:22:38

w3bbo
I don't normally have a preference but NVidia, I usually go with whats best at the time which normally means NVidia. ATI however, are catching up pretty fast.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.