Sapphire HD4870 512mb DDR5

3D Mark

 
3DMark is a popular synthetic gaming benchmark used by many gamers and overclockers to gauge the performance of their PC's. All 3DMark runs were performed a total of 5 times, with the highest and lowest results being removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
 
As was to be expected, the Sapphire and Powercolour cards give the same results, both bettering the GTX260 and not too far behind the NVidia flagship model GTX280.
 
 
Again we see the Sapphire card matching that of the Powercolour but this time the GTX260 takes a slight advantage over the ATI counterparts. The results however are a little closer once the resolution is increased and AA applied.
 
 
Finally we arrive at Futuremark's latest benchmark. The 4870's struggle to keep up with their NVidia rivals here and considering that the PhysX driver was not used in this run, one can only assume that the gap would increase further. For a card costing apx £40 less though it is a very good showing from ATI. I was especially pleased to see that when adding AA the card didn't appear to be crippled as with the 3870 series. So far so good!
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-08-2008, 16:50:04

w3bbo
"We take the Sapphire HD4870 512mb GDDR5 for a ride and pitch it up against its nearest rivals. in the latest review of ATI's flagship model."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214806338s.jpg

Read all about it HERE

01-08-2008, 19:01:11

Hassan
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280

01-08-2008, 19:16:09

Bungral
Naaaaa man it matches the 260 mostly.

Obviously varies on the odd game.

01-08-2008, 19:53:40

Brooksie
Good review, seems like a good card, nice to see it still performing well at high res and AA, as you said in the review it didn't cripple as the 3870 did.

02-08-2008, 04:21:19

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280
Webbo's been reviewing for a while

Nice review once again, Looks like a damn nice card.

02-08-2008, 08:27:58

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280
Cheers m8. Sadly the 4870 can't really hold a candle to the GTX280 - leave that to the 4870x2 .

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Brooksie'
Good review, seems like a good card, nice to see it still performing well at high res and AA, as you said in the review it didn't cripple as the 3870 did.
that was one aspect of the card I found to be great - I half expected the card to perform very well but die once AA was applied, I was pleased to be proven wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Webbo's been reviewing for a while

Nice review once again, Looks like a damn nice card.
Cheers m8.

02-08-2008, 08:42:47

Hassan
So the big question is what will you people buy?

The nVidia or the ATi

02-08-2008, 20:54:27

pafk0o
At this moment we want to have nvidia but we will buy ATI, 3 reasons for it : cheap price , good performance and stability.First and last one is what nvidia must work on ;] at least last one cause i dont think that nvidias cards will be at same price as ATI ever

I know that i`m mouning from few weeks about nvidias product but i have a major problem with my system going on SLI(or even without), after googling a bit and going thru different forums i have found many,many other ppl having same or similiar issues.

Sad but true.

03-08-2008, 13:22:38

w3bbo
I don't normally have a preference but NVidia, I usually go with whats best at the time which normally means NVidia. ATI however, are catching up pretty fast.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.