Sapphire HD4870 512mb DDR5

Test Setup & Overclocking

Test Setup
 
A common mistake made when benchmarking graphics cards is that the rest of the PC system isn't sufficient enough to test the GPU to its limits. This results in a bottleneck situation, where the system can only run at the speed of its slowest component. For this reason, the test configuration chosen below has been specially selected to give each of the graphics cards on test the headroom they require in order to produce the best results.
 
 
A selection of games and benchmark suites has also been chosen to test each of the cards with several game engines. Each of the cards will be run at both low and high resolutions with varying levels of texture filtering to represent the use of the card with both small and large screen sizes.
 
3DMark05
1024x768 / 0xAA / 0xAF (Default)
1920x1200 / 4xAA / 0xAF
 
3DMark 06
1280x1024 / 0xAA / 0xAF
1920x1200 / 4xAA / 0xAF

3DMark Vantage
1280x1024 / Performance Mode
1900x1200 / Extreme Mode
 
Quake4
1280x1024 / Ultra / 4xAA / 4xAF
1920x1200 / Ultra / 4xAA / 4xAF
 
Unreal Tournament III
1280x1024 / DX10 / High / 0xAA / 0xAF
1920x1200 / DX10 / High / 0xAA / 0xAF
 
Call of Duty 4
1280x1024 / Max / 4xAA / 4xAF
1920x1200 / Max / 4xAA / 4xAF
 
F.E.A.R
1280x1024 / Max / 4xAA / 4xAF
1920x1200 / Max / 4xAA / 0xAF
 
BIOSHOCK
1280x1024 / DX10 / High / 0xAA / 0xAF
1920x1200 / DX10 / High / 0xAA / 0xAF
 
Crysis
1280x1024 / DX10 / High / 0xAA / 0xAF
1920x1200 / DX10 / High / 0xAA / 0xAF
 
During the benchmarking phase, we will be using the following prices extracted from aria.co.uk on 30/07/08 to produce our CPF graphs. Please remember that these graphs are static and only represent a snapshot of the market at the time of this review.
 
MSI GTX280 - £317.19
ASUS 4850 - £123.90
ASUS GTX260 - £199.69
PowerColor HD4870 - £174.97
Sapphire HD4870 - £183.07
 
Overclocking
 
The Powercolour version of the same card we have here manage to max out the ATI Overdrive tool in our previous review so lets see how the Sapphire fairs :
 
 
True to form the Sapphire HD4870 also maxes out the ATI overdrive tool. I am in no doubt that this card can be pushed much  further but cooling could become an issue as at idle the card is reading 77c. Load temps will no doubt be a limiting factor in any overclocking adventure but it is nice to know that the card is capable should you find the means to keep it cool.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-08-2008, 16:50:04

w3bbo
"We take the Sapphire HD4870 512mb GDDR5 for a ride and pitch it up against its nearest rivals. in the latest review of ATI's flagship model."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214806338s.jpg

Read all about it HERE

01-08-2008, 19:01:11

Hassan
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280

01-08-2008, 19:16:09

Bungral
Naaaaa man it matches the 260 mostly.

Obviously varies on the odd game.

01-08-2008, 19:53:40

Brooksie
Good review, seems like a good card, nice to see it still performing well at high res and AA, as you said in the review it didn't cripple as the 3870 did.

02-08-2008, 04:21:19

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280
Webbo's been reviewing for a while

Nice review once again, Looks like a damn nice card.

02-08-2008, 08:27:58

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
Did u review that? Coz it was damn good!

However I thought that the 4870 was meant to outperform the gtx280
Cheers m8. Sadly the 4870 can't really hold a candle to the GTX280 - leave that to the 4870x2 .

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Brooksie'
Good review, seems like a good card, nice to see it still performing well at high res and AA, as you said in the review it didn't cripple as the 3870 did.
that was one aspect of the card I found to be great - I half expected the card to perform very well but die once AA was applied, I was pleased to be proven wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Webbo's been reviewing for a while

Nice review once again, Looks like a damn nice card.
Cheers m8.

02-08-2008, 08:42:47

Hassan
So the big question is what will you people buy?

The nVidia or the ATi

02-08-2008, 20:54:27

pafk0o
At this moment we want to have nvidia but we will buy ATI, 3 reasons for it : cheap price , good performance and stability.First and last one is what nvidia must work on ;] at least last one cause i dont think that nvidias cards will be at same price as ATI ever

I know that i`m mouning from few weeks about nvidias product but i have a major problem with my system going on SLI(or even without), after googling a bit and going thru different forums i have found many,many other ppl having same or similiar issues.

Sad but true.

03-08-2008, 13:22:38

w3bbo
I don't normally have a preference but NVidia, I usually go with whats best at the time which normally means NVidia. ATI however, are catching up pretty fast.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.