Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review

Up Close

Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review

A Close Look at the Toxic

Packaging and Accessories

From the outside the Toxic isn't very expressive about the many changes that it has undergone when compared to the standard 5970. At a glance you'd struggle to tell the difference except for the Toxic branding just above the model name. We're big fans of premium products not shouting about it, but this is perhaps taking things a step too far.

Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review Box     Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review Packaging  

Within the box we get a great selection of accessories. There are your standard adaptors and bridges along with codes for full versions of Dirt 2 and Modern Warfare 2.

On the right is the real hidden gem in the package though. An active DisplayPort adaptor. When you want to use Eyefinity you need two DVI monitors and a DisplayPort capable monitor. DisplayPort monitors tend to be both expensive, and not readily available. If, like us, you prefer to have all your monitors matching then the extra cost of having a DisplayPort model quickly multiplies and becomes almost prohibitively expensive. An active DisplayPort adaptor overcomes this by allowing you to connect the DisplayPort out from the card into a standard DVI port on the monitor and still take advantage of Eyefinity. Considering these are the best part of £90 it's fantastic to have one included in the box.

Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review Accessories     Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review DisplayPort  

The Card Itself

Moving on to the card we can instantly see how Sapphire have managed to overcome the heat issues of the standard 5970. Although it isn't labelled as such we'd be willing to bet that this is an Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme, a third-party cooler reknowned for its excellent performance.

It does mean that the card is three slots wide, but with modern motherboards having plenty of room, and the Toxic having so much potential power you're unlikely to need more than one, this isn't likely to be an issue. It's something to be aware of though nonetheless.

Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review Card     Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review Cooler  

Of course if we have two GPUs then it's not a surprise to see two 8-pin PCIe power connectors on board.

From the side you can see the subtle Toxic branding on the visible edge of the card. Much like the box this is a product for those who don't want to shout about their performance.

Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review Heatsink     Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review Looks

The Cooler

Heat-pipes aplenty on a full length heat-sink, coupled to three fans, ensure that the Toxic can definitely keep these highly-clocked GPUs under control.

Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review Cooler     Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review Tri Fan  

There is one more trick up the sleeve of the Sapphire 5970 Toxic. Unlike most non-reference boards this still utilises a reference design board so if you want to transition to water, or perhaps already have a loop, then you can take any 'off the shelf' water block and fit it straight to the Toxic.

Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review Three Fan     Sapphire 5970 Toxic Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-08-2010, 13:14:11

tinytomlogan
Sapphire have weighed into the ultra high-end of the graphics marketplace with their Toxic branded 5970. We take a good look.

Continue Reading

06-08-2010, 13:25:07

killablade
Wow. I'd love one of those for my system! I didn't expect it to overclock THAT well!

By the way, I see the award images have changed? (atleast for the performance award?) I like it, looks nice

06-08-2010, 14:02:25

VonBlade
Yes indeed the awards have all been updated to match the new OC3D logo. If you think the performance one is lush, wait til we bring the others out.

06-08-2010, 14:04:12

silenthill
great review but I really can't understand why in crysis warhead the asus ares kicks the ass of the toxic in the minima and average FPS even in stock clocks - what's going on here guys?

06-08-2010, 14:51:35

VonBlade
Couple of things explain that. Firstly the Toxic had a few less CPU clocks to handle the Physx, and the Toxic is a 5970 whereas the Ares is twin 5870s.

So the CPU will account for most of it, and the tiny extra theoretical grunt of the Ares gives us the few extra. If you look back at the Ares XF results you'll see that Crysis is pants no matter how much hardware you have. So really take it with a pinch of salt.

06-08-2010, 17:25:43

F-alienware
Hmm. Is it me or does that cooler either -

A. Completely rip off the Arctic Accelero Xtreme

B. Use an Arctic Accelero Xtreme.

'cos from where I am sitting it has to be one or the other.

06-08-2010, 17:30:08

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
If you look back at the Ares XF results you'll see that Crysis is pants no matter how much hardware you have. So really take it with a pinch of salt.
Why use it then? That's a polite question BTW as it could be taken out of context, but why use something that's blatantly crappy and heavily weighted toward the green corner?

It's not just OC3D. Every website is "Crysis this, Crysis that". Seriously, the game is old hat now (and I'm not saying that at your or to you, just saying it in general).

Do the manufacturers (in this case Sapphire) suggest that you use Crysis?

06-08-2010, 17:33:53

tinytomlogan
We use a range of games, some people might play Crysis and want to know what cards play it best. Metro is heavily green team weighted too. Just the way it is and we will always use what ever is POPULAR

The cooler is an AC unit.

06-08-2010, 17:57:21

F-alienware
Ah OK cheers Tom. I thought it looked like an AC Not a bad thing, best cooler for large cards ever IMO.

07-08-2010, 05:50:06

Maverick1dj
Am I reading the Crysis bench properly? How comes the Stock out performs the overclock @ Maximum for the toxic?

Also I like to see bench's for Crysis as I find it very easy to compare real performance, I use it like a control of sort, to gauge GPU real world performance, much more useful than synthetic benchies!

07-08-2010, 07:58:23

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRiMiNaLNiNJa View Post

Am I reading the Crysis bench properly? How comes the Stock out performs the overclock @ Maximum for the toxic?

Also I like to see bench's for Crysis as I find it very easy to compare real performance, I use it like a control of sort, to gauge GPU real world performance, much more useful than synthetic benchies!
yes I noticed that but it's only happening with the maximum FPS.sometimes that does happen when I OC my 480's in crysis

07-08-2010, 07:58:44

tinytomlogan
Sometime the results can be a bit strange, just the way it is dude, maybe crysis didnt like the overclock. Without spending hours researching every result we'll never know.

07-08-2010, 08:39:55

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Sometime the results can be a bit strange, just the way it is dude, maybe crysis didnt like the overclock. Without spending hours researching every result we'll never know.
This is just a suggestion I noticed some of the websites and magazines don’t put the maximum FPS they say it doesn’t reflect the true performance of the graphic card because most important in game play is the minimum and average FPS which actually shows you if you can play the game between 30FPS and 60FPS which is considered (very playable) and also the maximum FPS behaviour is very strange when overclocking the GPU so why don’t you scrap the maximum from your benchmarks to avoid these kinds of issues I know the maximum FPS shows the muscles of the GPU but it’s not really true performance.

*stop making your replies bold*

07-08-2010, 08:55:41

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

This is just a suggestion I noticed some of the websites and magazines dont put the maximum FPS they say it doesnt reflect the true performance of the graphic card because most important in game play is the minimum and average FPS which actually shows you if you can play the game between 30FPS and 60FPS which is considered (very playable) and also the maximum FPS behaviour is very strange when overclocking the GPU so why dont you scrap the maximum from your benchmarks to avoid these kinds of issues I know the maximum FPS shows the muscles of the GPU but its not really true performance.

*stop making your replies bold*
We put all the details up fella, we are pretty sure if you are reading our reviews your not a complete nub and can formulate your own oppinions. The fact you are saying that average is more important means you dont actually 'need' us to remove the max

PS - stop bolding your replies.

22-08-2010, 08:48:55

Telltale
"The biggest compliment we can pay, and it is a big one, is that if this had arrived before Ares we'd have looked at that differently"

But the Toxic DID arrive before the Ares. You can see the date on this review is April 22nd; over 2 months before the arrival of the Ares.

*LINK REMOVED*

22-08-2010, 09:05:48

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telltale View Post

"The biggest compliment we can pay, and it is a big one, is that if this had arrived before Ares we'd have looked at that differently"

But the Toxic DID arrive before the Ares. You can see the date on this[/url] review is April 22nd; over 2 months before the arrival of the Ares.
With us matey, we had not tested it.

22-08-2010, 11:56:56

Telltale
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

With us matey, we had not tested it.
Oh ok sorry, you literally meant arriving with you, not just on the market.

30-10-2010, 03:16:36

MrHDizzla
I still don't 100% get the difference between your everyday 5970 and the ASUS Ares.... looking at the specs on AMD website it looks to me as if the 5970 has just double the specifications of the 5870..

sorry about my ignorance

30-10-2010, 07:23:33

Mr. Strawberry
holy thread revival batman

a normal 5970 is basicly 2 5870 chips underclocked to 5850 speeds

where was the ares, toxic and so on are full on 5870 chips
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.