Powercolor X1650 Pro Review

Test Setup and Notes

How we tested

With the pure speed of cards out on the market at the moment I tend to focus on gameplay in my reviews. I will play each of the test suite games on as high settings as I could possibly play them at while maintaining a frame rate that is enjoyable to play at. If the quality of the gaming looks the same at different settings then I will choose the setting with the best FPS. This differs from game to game and person to person but I play a lot of games and have played with a lot of graphics cards so I hope that I can impart a decent opinion.

To offset this angle I also run a test suite of 3dMark03, 05 and 06. These will give you some numbers on what the cards perform like at stock speeds, for comparison. I also ran 3dMark06 after overclocking the cards - to see how much of an effect the overclocking will make. Usually when reviewing one of ATI's cards I use the ATI "Overdrive" tool to overclock the card as much as possible. As I had to use beta drivers on this card the overclocking facility did not seem to be present at all. I alsi tried ATI tool and RivaTuner but both of these would not work. I have contacted Powercolor with this problem and hopefully we can get some overclocking results soon.

Hardware:

Intel Core2Duo Conroe E6600 @ 3379Mhz
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
2gb GSkill PC2 6400 (running spd @ 5-6-5-5)
160gb Hitachi deskstar SATA drive
Custom Watercooling in a Custom Lian Li PC71b
Lots of fans

I could not get the X1650 to initialise the driver at all on the latest ATI drivers, so Powercolor sent me some modified drivers to use. Thankfully these worked ok, though without the overclocking facility and without temperature monitoring.

Please take into consideration that this review is compiled with beta drivers (modified CAT 6.8's)

Powercolor X1650 Pro 256mb (GDDR3). Clock speed: 600. Memory Speed: 1400 (700)

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-08-2006, 15:00:22

FarFarAway
Take a look at our World Exclusive on this excellent mid-range card.

How does it do when we subject it to the Overclock3D bench suite?

Find out here

24-08-2006, 15:32:15

Hyper
As usual a good review kemp, it seems they will be in the competition range of the Nvidia 7600.

24-08-2006, 15:34:19

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
As usual a good review kemp, it seems they will be in the competition range of the Nvidia 7600.
And pretty cheap too

24-08-2006, 15:38:50

JN
Some very impressive in-game results there. Deffo a choice card for the budget caming build.

24-08-2006, 16:04:50

AKtodaface
very good review kemp! looks darn good for a mid range card.

24-08-2006, 18:07:45

NickS
ATi still lacks in the midrange department. Both my old GTO and our new XFX 7600GT XXX beat that thing in 05 by at least 400 points. Regardless, a great review Kempez .

24-08-2006, 18:54:32

glocktodahead
Nicely done review Kemp

24-08-2006, 18:58:15

shiftlocked
Nice review Kempz. One quick question tho. The card as it stands is it aimed at the mainstream or people who would overclock their system and get such a card?

The reason I ask is that the testings done on a clocked system, is that indicative of the people who would get this? Just wondering as you did all the testing on a clocked system?

Could we see some benchies on a stock and non stock system (like the custom pc magazine) for those of us in phear of clocking?

25-08-2006, 03:21:58

FarFarAway
I actually forgot I had my CPU clocked up during the tests. Regardless the C2D would play the games fast anyway. Unfortunately my test rig has been sold so I could not use that for the tests.

I am going to use the same PC for all my tests from now on so this was a base for future comparison

25-08-2006, 03:55:52

PV5150
Great review Kemp, and it's certainly a nice little card for the budget conscious

25-08-2006, 11:30:14

Vaerilis
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
I actually forgot I had my CPU clocked up during the tests. Regardless the C2D would play the games fast anyway. Unfortunately my test rig has been sold so I could not use that for the tests.
Nice review!

That setup would be VGA-limited in all games anyway, even a stock Allendale can push a lower-midrange card to its limits.

The X1650pro will be a great alternative to Nvidia's solutions at its level. It has an amazing price/performance ratio: 66€ is even less than what the 7300GTs clocked at 500/1400 are selling for!

25-08-2006, 16:05:43

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaerilis
Nice review!

That setup would be VGA-limited in all games anyway, even a stock Allendale can push a lower-midrange card to its limits.

The X1650pro will be a great alternative to Nvidia's solutions at its level. It has an amazing price/performance ratio: 66 is even less than what the 7300GTs clocked at 500/1400 are selling for!
Totally agreed mate
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.