Powercolor X1650 Pro Review

Introduction and Packaging

Introduction

ATI have decided that it is time to do a refresh on a couple of their mid-high range GPU's. The X1950 and the X1650 are the result of this refresh. Based on the R530 chip and using an 80nm process, the X1650 runs at a sweet 600MHz core and 1400Mhz, the card has 256mb of GDDR3.

How does this card perform when we run it through our test suite? You'll have to read on to find out...

Packaging

Powercolor are a company known for no-fuss products that have what you need and none of the extra's that a lot of people don't need. The retail packaging on our sample is a pretty cool silver colour with an 'avenging angel' grasping a sword. It's a shame Powercolor didn't stick to showing the card on the box as they have done in the past. This is always good for the buyer, in my opinion.

x1650

The rear of the box has a rather disappointing amount of blurb about ATI's AVIVO features. It would have been nice to see some meaty info on the card, but AVIVO is an attractive feature so I won't blame Powercolor for this.

X1650 pro

Opening up the package we see that Powercolor have got this card wrapped up nicely. I don't think any harm is going to come to the card.

x1650 inside box 1

And as you can see - everything is compartmentalised.

x1650 inside box 2

Now we've seen that the card is nicely packaged, lets take a closer look at the board...

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-08-2006, 15:00:22

FarFarAway
Take a look at our World Exclusive on this excellent mid-range card.

How does it do when we subject it to the Overclock3D bench suite?

Find out here

24-08-2006, 15:32:15

Hyper
As usual a good review kemp, it seems they will be in the competition range of the Nvidia 7600.

24-08-2006, 15:34:19

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
As usual a good review kemp, it seems they will be in the competition range of the Nvidia 7600.
And pretty cheap too

24-08-2006, 15:38:50

JN
Some very impressive in-game results there. Deffo a choice card for the budget caming build.

24-08-2006, 16:04:50

AKtodaface
very good review kemp! looks darn good for a mid range card.

24-08-2006, 18:07:45

NickS
ATi still lacks in the midrange department. Both my old GTO and our new XFX 7600GT XXX beat that thing in 05 by at least 400 points. Regardless, a great review Kempez .

24-08-2006, 18:54:32

glocktodahead
Nicely done review Kemp

24-08-2006, 18:58:15

shiftlocked
Nice review Kempz. One quick question tho. The card as it stands is it aimed at the mainstream or people who would overclock their system and get such a card?

The reason I ask is that the testings done on a clocked system, is that indicative of the people who would get this? Just wondering as you did all the testing on a clocked system?

Could we see some benchies on a stock and non stock system (like the custom pc magazine) for those of us in phear of clocking?

25-08-2006, 03:21:58

FarFarAway
I actually forgot I had my CPU clocked up during the tests. Regardless the C2D would play the games fast anyway. Unfortunately my test rig has been sold so I could not use that for the tests.

I am going to use the same PC for all my tests from now on so this was a base for future comparison

25-08-2006, 03:55:52

PV5150
Great review Kemp, and it's certainly a nice little card for the budget conscious

25-08-2006, 11:30:14

Vaerilis
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
I actually forgot I had my CPU clocked up during the tests. Regardless the C2D would play the games fast anyway. Unfortunately my test rig has been sold so I could not use that for the tests.
Nice review!

That setup would be VGA-limited in all games anyway, even a stock Allendale can push a lower-midrange card to its limits.

The X1650pro will be a great alternative to Nvidia's solutions at its level. It has an amazing price/performance ratio: 66€ is even less than what the 7300GTs clocked at 500/1400 are selling for!

25-08-2006, 16:05:43

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaerilis
Nice review!

That setup would be VGA-limited in all games anyway, even a stock Allendale can push a lower-midrange card to its limits.

The X1650pro will be a great alternative to Nvidia's solutions at its level. It has an amazing price/performance ratio: 66 is even less than what the 7300GTs clocked at 500/1400 are selling for!
Totally agreed mate
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.