PowerColor LCS HD6970 Review

AvP and Crysis Warhead

PowerColor LCS HD6970 Review

Alien vs Predator

Such is the shader performance of the HD6970 and the overclock available from the PowerColor LCS that in Alien vs Predator the LCS HD6970 is up there with the GTX570 Overclocked. Mighty performance indeed.

 

Crysis Warhead

As Crysis 2 has turned out to be a hideous console port that is only just starting to be patched up to PC Spec, we're stuck with Warhead for much longer than we'd like. However the LCS HD6970 really rocks hard here. That monster GPU Core overclock taking it to new heights.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-04-2011, 05:24:11

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the latest in PowerColor's Graphics Card range, the LCS HD6970. Factory-fitted waterblock Sir?



Continue Reading

22-04-2011, 05:40:02

SieB
I must admit i'm impressed. After the first review of the 6970 with an air cooler the 6970 seemed pointless but this version is definietly worth the money especially after looking at the performance results.

22-04-2011, 05:40:56

dugdiamond
scrum-dilidy-umptious

22-04-2011, 05:52:26

Karlos_the_n00b
Always liked the look of this. Watercooling without the warranty voiding.

Hope you get to do a review of the 6990 version when its released.

22-04-2011, 09:42:58

MxFScotch
Yeah just tweaking my xfx 6970 that I put a xspc razor block on a few days ago. Sitting at 950mhz and 1425 on the ram amazing what watercooling can do. This card running heaven never breaches 53 Degrees. That's in loop with one 360 rad and a 950 cpu @ 4.0 ghz.

22-04-2011, 10:35:15

Mark26
Would love one of these too add too my rig

22-04-2011, 13:13:58

Zeals
Personally I would prefer a waterblock that completely covers the card, even though they won't really change the performance it will look nicer imo.

22-04-2011, 14:31:42

wotevajjjj
who wrote this ? there's no-one next to author

22-04-2011, 18:31:41

Karlos_the_n00b
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Personally I would prefer a waterblock that completely covers the card, even though they won't really change the performance it will look nicer imo.
I agree, but remember in most cases you won't actually see the waterblock once it's mounted to the mobo. The back you will see however and that's completely covered.

The 6990 version though does have a full waterblock that completely covers the card.

http://www.nordichardware.com/news/71-graphics/42908-powercolor-shows-water-cooled-hd-6990-and-hd-6950-vortex-2.html

Sorry I keep harping on about the 6990. Just really looking forward to that one.

28-04-2011, 00:17:06

Godsmack
Why it still dual slots card? they should make it one slot card.

28-04-2011, 04:18:15

jonowee
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsmack View Post

Why it still dual slots card? they should make it one slot card.
You did read the full review right?

28-04-2011, 07:28:45

Karlos_the_n00b
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsmack View Post

Why it still dual slots card? they should make it one slot card.
It's basically PowerColors PCS+ card with a waterblock fitted instead of a cooler. To redesign the PCB so all the sockets on the back span over one slot would just cost too much when you consider how many of these cards there actually going to sell.

I actually welcome this card and really hope we see more cards being sold with waterblocks, hopefully bellow the 300 mark, but at the moment with only the real enthusiasts using watercooling its hard to know how cost effective cards like this are.

28-04-2011, 12:13:14

Godsmack
I didn't read the full review I watched the benches.

I didn't know that the redesign will coast too much. But I think if they make it one slot card it will sell more.

29-04-2011, 05:10:08

MxFScotch
Not enough to justify redesigning PCB to wack off that top dvi port.

07-05-2012, 14:41:09

Mike & Kazri
Will a Razor 6970 waterblock fit the 6950?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.