PowerColor LCS HD6970 Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

PowerColor LCS HD6970 Review

Introduction

Back when we first got our hands on the HD6970 from AMD we found it to be a good performing card, but intolerably noisy and hot. To be one or the other is not good, but acceptable. To be both isn't so fancy.

Of course there are two major ways to be cool and quiet. Either have a third-party cooler with a much better design and array of fans or, as is the case here, put the whole thing into a watercooled loop.

Watercooling has moved a long way from the early days and with non-conductive liquids and much higher quality fittings it's no longer the scary upgrade it once was. The major problem is the voiding of your warranty should you choose to fit a waterblock to your graphics card.

PowerColor have helpfully got around those problems by fitting a full-cover EK water-block to their HD6970 to give us the LCS HD6970 and that's what we're taking a look at today.

Technical Specifications

Beneath that Acetal top beats a standard HD6970 overclocked just shy of the 940MHz that we find on the PowerColor PCS+. If there is one thing that the watercooling should ensure it's much greater overclocking headroom than we saw on the PCS+.

Graphics Engine RADEON HD6970
Video Memory 2GB GDDR5
Engine Clock 925MHz
Memory Clock 1425MHz (5.7Gbps)
Memory Interface 256bit
DirectX® Support 11
Bus Standard PCIE 2.1
Standard Display Connecors DL-DVI-I/SL-DVI-D/HDMI/2* mini DisplayPort
OpenGL Support
CrossFireX™ Technology Support
ATI Stream Technology Support
ATI Eyefinity Technology Support
VGA Output Via Adapter
DVI Output DL-DVI-I/ SL-DVI-D
DisplayPort On Board
HDMI On Board
HDCP Support Support
VGA 2048x1536
DVI 2560x1600
DisplayPort 2560x1600
HDMI 1920x1200
Board Dimensions 275mmx111.2mmx38mm
Minimum System Power requirement (W) 550W
Extention Power Connector One 6-Pin and One 8-Pin PCI Express Power connectors


Time to get up close and personal with the LCS.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-04-2011, 05:24:11

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the latest in PowerColor's Graphics Card range, the LCS HD6970. Factory-fitted waterblock Sir?



Continue Reading

22-04-2011, 05:40:02

SieB
I must admit i'm impressed. After the first review of the 6970 with an air cooler the 6970 seemed pointless but this version is definietly worth the money especially after looking at the performance results.

22-04-2011, 05:40:56

dugdiamond
scrum-dilidy-umptious

22-04-2011, 05:52:26

Karlos_the_n00b
Always liked the look of this. Watercooling without the warranty voiding.

Hope you get to do a review of the 6990 version when its released.

22-04-2011, 09:42:58

MxFScotch
Yeah just tweaking my xfx 6970 that I put a xspc razor block on a few days ago. Sitting at 950mhz and 1425 on the ram amazing what watercooling can do. This card running heaven never breaches 53 Degrees. That's in loop with one 360 rad and a 950 cpu @ 4.0 ghz.

22-04-2011, 10:35:15

Mark26
Would love one of these too add too my rig

22-04-2011, 13:13:58

Zeals
Personally I would prefer a waterblock that completely covers the card, even though they won't really change the performance it will look nicer imo.

22-04-2011, 14:31:42

wotevajjjj
who wrote this ? there's no-one next to author

22-04-2011, 18:31:41

Karlos_the_n00b
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Personally I would prefer a waterblock that completely covers the card, even though they won't really change the performance it will look nicer imo.
I agree, but remember in most cases you won't actually see the waterblock once it's mounted to the mobo. The back you will see however and that's completely covered.

The 6990 version though does have a full waterblock that completely covers the card.

http://www.nordichardware.com/news/71-graphics/42908-powercolor-shows-water-cooled-hd-6990-and-hd-6950-vortex-2.html

Sorry I keep harping on about the 6990. Just really looking forward to that one.

28-04-2011, 00:17:06

Godsmack
Why it still dual slots card? they should make it one slot card.

28-04-2011, 04:18:15

jonowee
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsmack View Post

Why it still dual slots card? they should make it one slot card.
You did read the full review right?

28-04-2011, 07:28:45

Karlos_the_n00b
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsmack View Post

Why it still dual slots card? they should make it one slot card.
It's basically PowerColors PCS+ card with a waterblock fitted instead of a cooler. To redesign the PCB so all the sockets on the back span over one slot would just cost too much when you consider how many of these cards there actually going to sell.

I actually welcome this card and really hope we see more cards being sold with waterblocks, hopefully bellow the 300 mark, but at the moment with only the real enthusiasts using watercooling its hard to know how cost effective cards like this are.

28-04-2011, 12:13:14

Godsmack
I didn't read the full review I watched the benches.

I didn't know that the redesign will coast too much. But I think if they make it one slot card it will sell more.

29-04-2011, 05:10:08

MxFScotch
Not enough to justify redesigning PCB to wack off that top dvi port.

07-05-2012, 14:41:09

Mike & Kazri
Will a Razor 6970 waterblock fit the 6950?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.