PowerColor HD 4850 PCS 2GB PCI-E

F.E.A.R & GRID Results

F.E.A.R
 
F.E.A.R. is a game based on the Lithtech Jupiter EX engine. It has volumetric lighting, soft shadows, parallax mapping and particle effects. All results were recorded using F.R.A.P.S, with a total of 5 identical runs through the same area of the game. The highest and lowest results were then removed, with an average being calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
Once again the reference ATI 4850 takes the lead, this time by an even greater margin than Crysis over the previous page. At both 1280x1024 and 1900x1200 the higher memory clockspeed of the ATI gives it a ~10FPS advantage over the PowerColor, and at 1600x1200 this is almost doubled to a 17FPS advantage.
 
 
Racedriver GRID
 
Race Driver: Grid is a visually taxing game that presents a challenge to any graphics system. Results were recorded using FRAPS to log the average FPS over a 2 minute race. To ensure consistency, the same track, car and general path of travel was used in each of the 5 benchmark runs for each graphics card, with an average FPS being calculated from the median three results.
 
 
Things don't get any better for the PowerColor 4850 PCS in GRID either. With an average defecit of 5FPS against the stock ATI card across all resolutions, the results are extremely disappointing.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-08-2008, 07:22:53

JN
"With a 2GB frame buffer and custom cooling, can PowerColor improve on an already awesome GPU?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...222859830s.jpg

PowerColor HD 4850 PCS 2GB Review

16-08-2008, 07:58:39

PV5150
Nice review mate. Why oh why did they have to go and do that? I would have preferred some software (3DM06 etc) than extra memory that handicaps a card.

16-08-2008, 12:19:40

Hassan
What a shame

16-08-2008, 13:40:02

gdawg304
...any word on the Powercolor HD 4870 PCS+ tho? clocked up to 800MHz on the core and with a Zerotherm cooler...OCuk have it for 182ish at the moment but I've seen no reviews anywhere yet.

Also Asus have the EAH4870 TOP with stock cooler but 815MHz core....

I've seen a few reviews of the overclocked 4850s but if i'm dropping money i'll pay the extra for a 4870 or GTX 280 (depending on the 55nm version getting good reviews and not being eye-wateringly pricey). Want consistency too much to go for a dual GPU option when the biggest monitor i'm ever likely to have is a 24"

16-08-2008, 14:17:55

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='gdawg304'
...any word on the Powercolor HD 4870 PCS+ tho? clocked up to 800MHz on the core and with a Zerotherm cooler...OCuk have it for 182ish at the moment but I've seen no reviews anywhere yet.
Don't really have any plans to review it at the moment, but if we get a break in the schedule I'll consider it. One thing I will say though is the Zerotherm/PCS cooler on the HD4850 does an extremely good job of keeping it cool.

16-08-2008, 14:25:13

gdawg304
Ah well - that's a shame. Thought the pre-OC'd 4870 would be a hot one to review considering the fuss over the standard card....I shall have to keep my eyes open I guess!

(Not to mention comparing non-standard cooling given the issues in reviews over the temps on the stock cooler). Still - there are only so many hours in the day for reviewing!

The one on the 4870 is a different design than the 4850 so I wonder how they compare.

16-08-2008, 14:32:53

tinytomlogan
ATI were doing so well

the 4850 2gb and 4850x2 will keep profits down

those cards shouldnt have been bothered with

the main 3 cards are the ones everyone wants and where the honey is for a company that wasnt doing so well. I think they should have kept it simple.

16-08-2008, 15:55:32

gdawg304
without wanting to pimp other websites - for anyone interested there's a review of an overclocked Diamond 4870 on Tweaktown

http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/155...ion/index.html

much higher memory speed than the powercolor oc'd version...but stock cooler.

Not sure about their method of testing noise with a sensor 2cm from the fan - would rather have a subjective test of what it sounds from inside a case under a desk! Conflicting noise reports have put me off the GTX 280 so far (since the price drop, at least). That and the threat of 55nm parts from nvidia....maybe i'll just wait for the next gen when a card might be released to play crysis on very high....lol

17-08-2008, 05:17:22

Socks
what a waste.....

17-08-2008, 17:29:45

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
ATI were doing so well

the 4850 2gb and 4850x2 will keep profits down

those cards shouldnt have been bothered with

the main 3 cards are the ones everyone wants and where the honey is for a company that wasnt doing so well. I think they should have kept it simple.
Gotta disagree with you on the 4850X2... That will be spot on for quite a lot of people.

But yeah the 4850 2GB is a bit pointless.

19-08-2008, 06:54:32

JN
As part of our review procedure, all manufacturers are given the right to reply to any issues that arise or comments we make during the course of the review. PowerColor have chosen to excersize this right and have replied with the following statement:

This is an engineer sample in early stage of this model and we still try hard to make it performance well and then provide to customers the best product; based on the feedback produced by the Overclock3D review of our HD 4850 2GB, we have decided to make some alterations to the product before it enters the retail market. The card will now feature the same memory speed as a reference 4850 512MB giving it the same performance in games that do not make use of the 2GB frame buffer, and greater performance in games that do. The retail product will have higher clocked memory to get great performance with games.

19-08-2008, 11:29:59

Bungral
That's great stuff.... Fair play to them for listening to the feedback and actually acting on it.

Really impressed.

19-08-2008, 19:33:30

FarFarAway
Fair play from Powercolor, they're always on the case
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.