PowerColor HD7870 PCS+ Review

Test Setup, Overclocking and Temps

PowerColor HD7870 PCS+ Review

Test Setup

As there are only a limited amount of LGA2011 systems around, today we're reviewing on our LGA1155 setup. Given how little, to a certain degree, CPUs factor into the equation with mid-range cards this shouldn't have an enormous effect. The multi-core programs might lose a little, but it should be only a frame or two.

PowerColor HD7870 PCS+
Catalyst 12.3 Drivers
ASUS P8 Z77V Pro
Intel Core i5-2500K @ 4.6 GHz
Kingston Genesis 2133MHz
Cougar CM1000 PSU
Corsair F80 SSD
Thermalright Silver Arrow
Windows 7 x64

Overclocking

With the PCS+ we have a huge overclock straight out of the box, with a whopping 1100MHz on the core. Rather than overvolt we're looking at just how much we can get out of it with the default settings. Surprisingly, considering this is the highest PowerColor model in the HD7870 range, we got 135MHz extra on the GPU Core and 55MHz on the GDDR5.

PowerColor HD7870 PCS+ Review

Temperatures

At first glance it might appear that the PCS+ gets a little bit warm under heavy loading, but the most surprising thing is the silence. It is, as near as makes no difference, silent. The open test setup has the card about 2 1/2 feet away (80cm ish) from me and it was just about inaudible. The Silver Arrow was louder than the card under load.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-04-2012, 05:00:48

tinytomlogan


Time to take a look at a HD7870 on steroids, courtesy of the fine folks at PowerColor.

Continue Reading

11-04-2012, 05:22:03

SieB
The 7870 is the only next gen card that is worth the price to performance ratio in my opinion, especially given the overclockabillity to the level of a stock 7950, still more than they should be but definitely good cards.

11-04-2012, 05:32:12

Noilzan
Great review, and what an impressive card!

11-04-2012, 06:23:30

Rastalovich

Firstly we know only too well how many of you don't want to faff about with overclocking your card and will always look for one that comes out of the box with a blazing speed attached to it.



I'd hope that's not too true.

11-04-2012, 06:40:49

dipzy
Great review

11-04-2012, 06:41:10

mArTyN
Nice looking card............and it performs !

11-04-2012, 07:25:36

TheOneHalf
Nice card, seems like a good purchase. Also the fact it is really quiet is quite nice I must say. If I do a secondary rig it will probably get this card, since I would want it to be compleatly silent

11-04-2012, 09:01:34

Pendragon
I would love to see it in Crossfire, if not this exact card but just a pair of 7870's. Also I would have like to see more detail about how it compares to the card it's replacing. I'm running a pair of 6870 and would like to know if the upgrade would be worth the extreme cost involved. 6870's in crossfire is a sweet spot in performance vs cost. I get a Heaven score of 1900 with avg fps of 74 with my AMD/crossfire rig.

I would be looking to buy one card then at a later date pick up another. Looking at these numbers there would be a significant drop in performance running one of these before I could save up for a second card. Might just be better off ditching my pair of 6870's for a single 7970, then at a much later date once prices come down pick up a second...

11-04-2012, 15:32:46

VonBlade
In 0xAA Unigine it scored 1586, and with the 8xAA it scored 1114.

For sheer size reasons we cannot keep every possible setup in our graphs. They're already very large. If anyone doesn't mind losing the maximum frame rate graphs we could move the OC ones to a separate graph which would allow us to retain more models. However, in your particular case you'll find we still have the 6950CF results in the graph, and the HD7870 comes in just beneath it in most games. A few FPS at most.

Personally I'd say get a HD7950 and OC it, which is nearly a HD7970, much cheaper, and the likelihood of affording another would come sooner.

11-04-2012, 15:41:31

ArjenIsM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

In 0xAA Unigine it scored 1586, and with the 8xAA it scored 1114.

For sheer size reasons we cannot keep every possible setup in our graphs. They're already very large. If anyone doesn't mind losing the maximum frame rate graphs we could move the OC ones to a separate graph which would allow us to retain more models. However, in your particular case you'll find we still have the 6950CF results in the graph, and the HD7870 comes in just beneath it in most games. A few FPS at most.

Personally I'd say get a HD7950 and OC it, which is nearly a HD7970, much cheaper, and the likelihood of affording another would come sooner.
Perhaps you could keep all of the results in OC3D history in a massive graph that you could link to? Keep it one a dedicated page just for reference. Could come in handy for some people.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastalovich View Post

I'd hope that's not too true.
Lol, given the name of the website I'd agree!

11-04-2012, 15:58:04

Master&Puppet
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

In 0xAA Unigine it scored 1586, and with the 8xAA it scored 1114.

For sheer size reasons we cannot keep every possible setup in our graphs. They're already very large. If anyone doesn't mind losing the maximum frame rate graphs we could move the OC ones to a separate graph which would allow us to retain more models. However, in your particular case you'll find we still have the 6950CF results in the graph, and the HD7870 comes in just beneath it in most games. A few FPS at most.

Personally I'd say get a HD7950 and OC it, which is nearly a HD7970, much cheaper, and the likelihood of affording another would come sooner.
Definitely get rid of the max frame rates, they aren't important. Average and minimum are all that is needed. Also could you try and order the graphs in least to most (by minimum fps) to make it easier to read through?

Totally agree with you about the 7950. The 78xx have great processors but I think the 2gb might become limiting so I'm not willing to fork out for anything less than 2.5gb.

11-04-2012, 16:09:37

Hackedoff
I'm not sure this card offers much to the party. When OC'd it's biting the heels of a GTX 580. But you can pick up a 580 for 294 now and you can then overclock that further. I'm also not sure this card deserves the gold award. That should be reserved for greatness, and seeing this card runs hot, although quiet, doesn't quite cut gold for me.

11-04-2012, 20:08:06

MaXiMiZe
Great card

14-04-2012, 02:02:20

jackjack
splendid review T like the core clock speed

this little beast will roar more if you put it on Crossfire.

14-04-2012, 03:55:04

YogevSkill
I

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hackedoff View Post

I'm not sure this card offers much to the party. When OC'd it's biting the heels of a GTX 580. But you can pick up a 580 for 294 now and you can then overclock that further. I'm also not sure this card deserves the gold award. That should be reserved for greatness, and seeing this card runs hot, although quiet, doesn't quite cut gold for me.
It cuts the cheese. I agree hot vs quite is a matter of opinion, the price and performance are a fact though, and and the 580 trumps this one.

Solid review nontheless.

16-04-2012, 01:48:41

sharps_87
Nice review fella!

02-05-2012, 04:43:58

Anthrax27
Nice review

25-10-2013, 19:09:32

Giaboe
HI I just got the 7870 and it was spares and repairs it had artifacts on the screen from the memory so I reflowed it and it worked then a light test in system rating caused it to take off like a jet plane then i got a white screen and black lines now it will not give an out put no matter what i do. has anyone got an idea if a capacitor has gone a diode or the gpu

25-10-2013, 20:06:30

dalewakelin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giaboe View Post
HI I just got the 7870 and it was spares and repairs it had artifacts on the screen from the memory so I reflowed it and it worked then a light test in system rating caused it to take off like a jet plane then i got a white screen and black lines now it will not give an out put no matter what i do. has anyone got an idea if a capacitor has gone a diode or the gpu
Make a new thread and we could help you out
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.