Powercolor HD6970 PCS + Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Powercolor HD6970 PCS + Review

Test Setup

PowerColor PCS+ HD6970/Catalyst 11.1
Intel Core i7-950 @ 4GHz
ASUS Rampage III Extreme
Muskin Joule 1200w
6GB Mushkin Redline
Noctua NH-D14
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Overclocking

As the PCS+ comes with such a mind-bending overclock out of the box it's not a great surprise to see there is very little left in the tank. This absolutely isn't a bad thing. Nothing is more irritating than paying the price premium that pre-overclocked models demand and still having tons of headroom.

Powercolor HD6970 PCS + Review

Another impressive element of the PCS+ is how well that cooler works. It really does keep everything whisper quiet and nice and cool. Great looks and great cooling. Count us in. Time to see if great performance is part of the deal too.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-02-2011, 05:56:30

tinytomlogan
The PCS+ cards from Powercolor have always been a mighty fine performer. Is their 6970 version as potent?



Continue Reading

07-02-2011, 06:14:57

Zeals
Love the Powercolor red PCB, it's a nice deep proper red that suits an ATi/AMD build extremely well.

07-02-2011, 06:19:15

tinytomlogan
Its not the card, its the new ATI drivers.

07-02-2011, 06:20:19

Zeals
Mental note don't skip to graphs xD

07-02-2011, 07:49:54

adicool96
Nice curvy heatpipes now thats one card i would like to have.

07-02-2011, 08:58:27

chaotic_russ
watched the video the otherday , been waiting for the writen review

07-02-2011, 09:10:56

SieB
I watched the vid and was quite surprised, Powercolor are one of the last brands I think of when buying a graphics card Asus and MSI being the first but they have done a good job of the 6970. It might not be the bedt looking card (in my opinion) but it's the best performance wise.

07-02-2011, 14:28:59

Rastalovich
The cooler is the same as the one Palit used on their 285 cards, red pcb too, (I'm trying to kill one atm) except I wouldn't swear the copper's the same thickness. Shrouds are shrouds.

I've got to take a look at these drivers, there has to be a reason for what they've done.

07-02-2011, 14:45:41

harv
Great vid tom gd to see you liking a ati again, just as ive been talked into buying a ati on here so where do i sign cant find 1 any where

08-02-2011, 06:31:44

silenthill
Add another 120 and get two GTX 560 TI & run them in SLI and this whole review will be blown to bits, Seriously AMD has got to do something about the prices of 6970 &6950 because OC UK are selling the ASUS 480 GTX for 219 & SCAN have just put it out for 208 so a word of advice to AMDs marketing department you need to sit-down and rethink your pricing strategy because the time of stupid impulse buyers is over everybody these days has become specialist in buying computer components and read loads of reviews before buying anything, the world has changed and we now have very smart customers, believe me thats the message Ive been trying to but in my dinosaur boss head for months now but without any results unfortunately.

10-02-2011, 23:15:10

south side sammy
I have to ask since this review is different from what I've seen elsewhere. The FarCry2 benchmarks using the GTX560, they seem very low in comparison to others I've seen. Way low as a matter of fact. Are they correct or is this a misprint?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.