PowerColor HD6870X2 Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

PowerColor HD6870X2 Review

Introduction

The X2 suffix has quite a lot of history with AMD cards. Anyone who remembers how amazing the HD4870X2 was will be eagerly anticipating the latest in the lineage, the HD6870X2.

PowerColor are one of those companies that are well known amongst enthusiasts and their PCS+ and PCS++ line of cards have always produced outstanding performance.

Now we have all the power of a HD6870 Crossfire setup, but on a single card. Billed as a GTX580 killer, we can't wait to see how it performs.

So let's crack on.

Technical Specifications

Normally a dual-GPU card has to make concessions in the architecture for either heat or power draw reasons. However the HD6870X2 is just two HD6870 chips on a single board. Hopefully this could really give the card a kick in the pants and lead it to great things.

Graphics Engine RADEON HD6870
Video Memory 2GB GDDR5
Engine Clock 900MHz
Memory Clock 1050MHz (4.2Gbps)
Memory Interface 2 X 256bit (256bit)
DirectX® Support 11
Bus Standard PCIE 2.1
  • Stream Processors
1120
Texture Units56
Z/Stencil ROP Units128
Color ROP Units32
Standard Display Connecors DL-DVI-I/SL-DVI-D/HDMI/2* mini DisplayPort
OpenGL Support
CrossFireX™ Technology Support
ATI Stream Technology Support
ATI Eyefinity Technology Support
DVI Output DL-DVI-I/ SL-DVI-D
DisplayPort On Board x2
HDMI On Board
HDCP Support Support
VGA 2048x1536
DVI 2560x1600
DisplayPort 2560x1600
HDMI 1920x1200
Board Dimensions 292.1mm x 111.2mm x 38mm
Minimum System Power Rq (W) 600W
Extention Power Connector Two 8-pin PCI Express Power connectors

 

But before we find out if that's the case it's time to see what the card looks like.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-07-2011, 16:38:28

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the latest graphics card from PowerColor, the HD6870X2. Does it live up to it's X2 predecessors?



Continue Reading

05-07-2011, 16:51:53

ruthless_villain
yay and amd card thats cheaper than a 580 and beats it

05-07-2011, 16:53:08

wotevajjjj
Performance is good, but the card is just fugly

05-07-2011, 16:57:14

TicTac
I would agree its looks abit horrible ^^

05-07-2011, 17:04:47

SieB
I was expecting it to be about 260/70 even with a better cooler 300 seems a bit steep.

Nvida might even drop the price of the 570 or maybe the 580 now in response to this, they usually drop their prices when AMD out performs them.

05-07-2011, 17:45:50

Ghosthud1
the price is right tbh

130-40 x2 + the lucid on board chip.

totally forgot about this card in the mist of buying a new one.

05-07-2011, 18:03:43

Mr Moose
Very nice review Bryan, I agree that the heat pipes could do with a little bit of elbow greece. Do you have the poor crossfire in unigine down to drivers or poor compatibility? Seems odd that it can't compete with 6870CF when that's exactly what it is..

05-07-2011, 20:03:25

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruthless_villain View Post

yay and amd card thats cheaper than a 580 and beats it
Well it might be more expensive since theres no price right now

06-07-2011, 04:30:08

Ya93sin
Looks poor, performs great

06-07-2011, 05:47:31

SieJoe
Good performance there. Price seems spot on IMO. Shame it just looks so cheap as most AMD cards do!

06-07-2011, 07:23:50

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Moose View Post

Very nice review Bryan, I agree that the heat pipes could do with a little bit of elbow greece. Do you have the poor crossfire in unigine down to drivers or poor compatibility? Seems odd that it can't compete with 6870CF when that's exactly what it is..
To be honest I am unsure. The Crossfire performance in a title such as Warhead or Metro was good enough to believe that it's working okay. 3DM11 is akin to Unigine in that it's very shader heavy, but that did well too.

So I think it's probably a driver issue, but it's equally possible that only in very extreme loadings (and Unigine is fearsome) does the limitations of the dual-GPU single-card solution become apparent.

06-07-2011, 11:44:41

badtaylorx
both gpu manufactures have low"er" cost dual gpu solutions out now....what i would have like to see would have been this 6870 VS. GTX460 2WIN.......any takers???

btw newegg has it for $519

06-07-2011, 14:15:40

integratable
Why oh why do power color think that if it's radeon, it needs red pcb... Those days are long gone. WAKE UP, DAMN IT!

07-07-2011, 00:44:02

Relayer
Was it the GTX560 or GTX560ti in SLI that was used in the charts?

07-07-2011, 02:43:52

Qu4k3r
Very good review as usual.

Nice card with good perfomance.

I was hoping a better price, maybe cheaper than two 6870's, was it too much to ask?

I was waiting for a 6870x2 review, this is the first I see on the net, thanks oc3d!

07-07-2011, 12:06:39

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by Relayer View Post

Was it the GTX560 or GTX560ti in SLI that was used in the charts?
Ti. That's the only SLI GTX560s we've reviewed and at the time the non-Ti version wasn't around. They are the MSI ones.

07-07-2011, 13:12:25

marsey99
doesnt really hammer the 580 does it :/ i mean yea it has much higher max fps and the avg is higher too but as a gamer you dont see your max fps, its the min fps that you live and die by and those bars are much closer together in all the games than i was expecting. throw in how much better nv drivers are today than last november and where it matters they could be the same.

that being said if they are 300 its going to be hard to ignore these when they hit the shelves.

oh yea xD

Okay. Um... Had wooden teeth, chased Moby Dick.

07-07-2011, 14:13:59

Karlos_the_n00b
Really enjoyable this review. Thanks Von.

Wish the PCB was a different caller though.

Would have seriously considered this with a Z68 sniper but you know what they say about red and green

07-07-2011, 22:07:30

Relayer

Ti. That's the only SLI GTX560s we've reviewed and at the time the non-Ti version wasn't around. They are the MSI ones.



Thanks, Bryan. I asked because I would have been surprised if it was the "non TI" performing that well. It could cause confusion and make some think that the 560 was that fast.

19-07-2011, 10:50:46

Alpert_P
could you please ad F1 2010 to your reviews in the future.

19-07-2011, 10:56:13

BlameTruth
Nice card and nice review

19-07-2011, 17:28:46

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

To be honest I am unsure. The Crossfire performance in a title such as Warhead or Metro was good enough to believe that it's working okay. 3DM11 is akin to Unigine in that it's very shader heavy, but that did well too.

So I think it's probably a driver issue, but it's equally possible that only in very extreme loadings (and Unigine is fearsome) does the limitations of the dual-GPU single-card solution become apparent.
Agreed on things like Unigine alot cards like this flaws start appear also sli low level cards tend to fail at heavy shader content when had 2 gtx 460 they could handle heavy shader related gaming now went upgraded too 2x asus directcuII gtx 580 my life is so easy now.

21-07-2011, 09:35:41

Asta
Hi there,

I had the 4870x2 and it was a room heater, big and ugly. Until i water cooled it. Now I have the nVidia GTX470 and I am happy with it. I liked the review, especially graphs and I like the card to be honest. I don't like the temps and would like to se better designed cooling like Asus does it. End. Cya.

21-07-2011, 15:59:14

F-alienware
I had issues with my 5770 xfire in Unigene. I mean, my 470 peed on them. The max FPS was always miles high, but due to the terrible micro stuttering dropping me to 2fps my scores were always screwy at the end.

It was going to my 470 that made me realise you are always better off with a single powerful gpu. I would never rely on the incoming 295 but I have heard that the 590 has no micro stutter issues at all so I am quite hopeful about it. In DX10.1 it hit both Tropics and Heaven out of the park, breezing past a 480 so I would assume it was due to the drivers..

Radeon issues are always the drivers man. I really hoped with the massive success of the 5 series Rads they would have improved, but it was like stepping back to 2005
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.