Powercolor HD3850 Extreme PCS - AMD 3850 Performance explored

Conclusion

Conclusion

AMD/ATI have brought out a card that totally re-writes the books as far as mid-range gaming goes. At a price of around £135 (currently only available from OCUK), this card really enters the market at a very aggressive price point.

Gaming on the Powercolor HD3850 was smooth and fun and the card enabled me to play at a very high resolution with very high detail. The HD3850 kept pace with cards ranging from just about twice the price to those almost four times as expensive.

The cooler Powercolor have used for the HD3850 is both cool and quiet. Couple this with the fact that it looks great and the card only consumes 90watts at full load and you're onto a winner for sure.

Whilst the Powercolor HD3850 isn't as exciting as rumors led us to believe, this is a mid to high level card that is so cheap you may as well buy two for an awesome budget crossfire rig (and you do NOT hear me say that often).

I'm reluctant to give out some more awards as the 8800GT had a few accolade's passed it's way, but sometimes needs must...

I'm awarding a well-deserved "Value for Money" Award, coupled with an "Editors Choice" Award to the Powercolor HD3850.

value for money editors choice

The Good

+ Awesome value
+ Great cooler
+ Quiet fan
+ Good looking
+ Great performance per £

The Mediocre

* Not so good for benching

The Bad

- True DirectX 10 performance (Crysis) tough on the card

Thanks to Powercolor for the review sample

Discuss with the friendly members of our awesome Forums
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-11-2007, 01:20:25

FarFarAway
Well it's release day and the day most of you have...well, not really known too much about I suppose!

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214353849s.jpg

Click for more

Digg it!

15-11-2007, 01:55:56

Nagaru
Nice review Kemp. Performance was a little underwhelming but it all depends on the price point really. I think on the first page hard should be harm.

15-11-2007, 12:12:17

FarFarAway
Cheers mate. Performance was pretty damn good if you ask me, 135 for a card that nearly performs as well as an 8800GT?

15-11-2007, 12:17:11

ali_james
Nice review there, I really thought I would have to be canceling my 8800gt order! But not quite. I've never had an Ati card, but I take it the price will be around 130 and up for pre oc'ed cards. Is the powercolor a reasonably middle of the road brand for Ati?

The cooler looks pretty decent, found a link to manufactures of them:

http://www.zerotherm.net/eng/product/GX815.asp

Nice one

15-11-2007, 12:25:29

ionicle
looks awsome

performs medeocre - reasonable

not bad i guess

15-11-2007, 12:47:35

!TIMMY!
ATI are back in the game, well sort of. I wonder when places will get them in stock.

15-11-2007, 12:56:49

ai_01
For a stock clocked 8800gt you can get it for 250 at zipzoomfly.com right now its out of stock but if anything its less. I do love the fact that ati is cutting down on power consumtion and higher temps.

15-11-2007, 13:09:07

Mr. Smith
Review a 3870? CF?

Review was decent though

15-11-2007, 15:03:34

FarFarAway
Yep they will be forthcoming, didn't get a 3870 initially but I'll be sure to get one in soon

For 139 in the UK and $140 in the US it's a bargain card that performs almost as well as an 8800GT.

15-11-2007, 19:15:33

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Yep they will be forthcoming, didn't get a 3870 initially but I'll be sure to get one in soon

For 139 in the UK and $140 in the US it's a bargain card that performs almost as well as an 8800GT.
Sweet, thinking of CF 3870 (oh Rast, where are you?)

I love the direct conversion from $ to ... Import ftw!

23-01-2008, 09:35:35

Rastalovich
Tried not to bump too old a thread, but I`ve just noticed that PowerColor/Radeon/Sapphire are making an AGP 8x of the 3850.

Interesting for those holding onto 939 boards with their teeth.

Gotta get some decent results from that.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.