Powercolor HD3850 Extreme PCS - AMD 3850 Performance explored

Overclocking and Power Consumption

Overclocking

Overclocking on the Powercolor HD3850 was performed using the excellent RivaTuner v2.06. A test run of 3DMark06 was performed after the overclock to verify stability and also if the OC was worth the time.

Note that no hard or soft mods were performed on the card apart from setting the higher clocks.

Results

Here's what happened:

 
overclock

Not a bad overclock of .786/1982. I expect given time and some more mature driver that this card is capable of more as the cooler certainly keeps the card chilly.

3dmarkocd

A small rise in the 3DMark score shows that the overclock was worth it!

Power consumption

To get the power consumption of the cards listed I booted the PC with a GPU that takes up a negligible amount of power and recorded the power draw at the plug. I then compared this to the output of the exact same system with each card in turn at idle and full 100% load using RTHDRIBL.

Whilst this is not 100% accurate, it's a good measure of system power consumption.

power consumption

As we can see, the Powercolor HD3850 is very good on power consumption, easily lower than the power hungry 8800GTX and not doing too badly compared to the 8600GT, beating it at peak load power consumption.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-11-2007, 01:20:25

FarFarAway
Well it's release day and the day most of you have...well, not really known too much about I suppose!

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214353849s.jpg

Click for more

Digg it!

15-11-2007, 01:55:56

Nagaru
Nice review Kemp. Performance was a little underwhelming but it all depends on the price point really. I think on the first page hard should be harm.

15-11-2007, 12:12:17

FarFarAway
Cheers mate. Performance was pretty damn good if you ask me, 135 for a card that nearly performs as well as an 8800GT?

15-11-2007, 12:17:11

ali_james
Nice review there, I really thought I would have to be canceling my 8800gt order! But not quite. I've never had an Ati card, but I take it the price will be around 130 and up for pre oc'ed cards. Is the powercolor a reasonably middle of the road brand for Ati?

The cooler looks pretty decent, found a link to manufactures of them:

http://www.zerotherm.net/eng/product/GX815.asp

Nice one

15-11-2007, 12:25:29

ionicle
looks awsome

performs medeocre - reasonable

not bad i guess

15-11-2007, 12:47:35

!TIMMY!
ATI are back in the game, well sort of. I wonder when places will get them in stock.

15-11-2007, 12:56:49

ai_01
For a stock clocked 8800gt you can get it for 250 at zipzoomfly.com right now its out of stock but if anything its less. I do love the fact that ati is cutting down on power consumtion and higher temps.

15-11-2007, 13:09:07

Mr. Smith
Review a 3870? CF?

Review was decent though

15-11-2007, 15:03:34

FarFarAway
Yep they will be forthcoming, didn't get a 3870 initially but I'll be sure to get one in soon

For 139 in the UK and $140 in the US it's a bargain card that performs almost as well as an 8800GT.

15-11-2007, 19:15:33

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Yep they will be forthcoming, didn't get a 3870 initially but I'll be sure to get one in soon

For 139 in the UK and $140 in the US it's a bargain card that performs almost as well as an 8800GT.
Sweet, thinking of CF 3870 (oh Rast, where are you?)

I love the direct conversion from $ to ... Import ftw!

23-01-2008, 09:35:35

Rastalovich
Tried not to bump too old a thread, but I`ve just noticed that PowerColor/Radeon/Sapphire are making an AGP 8x of the 3850.

Interesting for those holding onto 939 boards with their teeth.

Gotta get some decent results from that.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.