Powercolor HD3850 Extreme PCS - AMD 3850 Performance explored

Synthetic Benchmarks - 3DMark

Benchmarking - 3DMark

I used the popular gaming benchmarks made by Futuremark to bench all of the cards. I used 3dMark 03, 05 and 06. I ran all benchmarks from the stock settings as well as at 1920 x 1200 (4 x AA).

3DMark 03

First we start with 3DMark03. This is a benchmark that relies heavily on DirectX 8 features. This will give an indication of how the card will run on games that rely on DX 8.

3dmark03
 
Here the HD3850 didn't fare so well in the 3DMark stakes compared to the higher end cards. It still puts out an acceptable performance though.

3DMark05

I ran 3dMark05. This benchmark requires some more features of DirectX 9 and gets slightly more taxing on the cards.

3dmark05

Again the Powercolor HD3850 just doesn't manage to keep up with the more expensive cards in 3DMark05.

3DMark06

3dMark06 is the latest in the benchmarking tests from Futuremark. It has a lot of DirectX 9.0c features such as HDR and use of Shader model 3.0. This benchmark is very taxing for the cards and also includes quite a harsh CPU benchmark. Seeing as this was run with the exact same CPU this was not an issue. This is the latest Futuremark benchmark and so carries a bit more weight for modern games than the previous two.

3dmark06
 
Surprisingly here the score for the HD3850 suffers even more than in the previous two benchmarks. It seems that the DX9.0c performance in the Futuremark suite isn't quite the HD3850's forté.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-11-2007, 01:20:25

FarFarAway
Well it's release day and the day most of you have...well, not really known too much about I suppose!

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214353849s.jpg

Click for more

Digg it!

15-11-2007, 01:55:56

Nagaru
Nice review Kemp. Performance was a little underwhelming but it all depends on the price point really. I think on the first page hard should be harm.

15-11-2007, 12:12:17

FarFarAway
Cheers mate. Performance was pretty damn good if you ask me, 135 for a card that nearly performs as well as an 8800GT?

15-11-2007, 12:17:11

ali_james
Nice review there, I really thought I would have to be canceling my 8800gt order! But not quite. I've never had an Ati card, but I take it the price will be around 130 and up for pre oc'ed cards. Is the powercolor a reasonably middle of the road brand for Ati?

The cooler looks pretty decent, found a link to manufactures of them:

http://www.zerotherm.net/eng/product/GX815.asp

Nice one

15-11-2007, 12:25:29

ionicle
looks awsome

performs medeocre - reasonable

not bad i guess

15-11-2007, 12:47:35

!TIMMY!
ATI are back in the game, well sort of. I wonder when places will get them in stock.

15-11-2007, 12:56:49

ai_01
For a stock clocked 8800gt you can get it for 250 at zipzoomfly.com right now its out of stock but if anything its less. I do love the fact that ati is cutting down on power consumtion and higher temps.

15-11-2007, 13:09:07

Mr. Smith
Review a 3870? CF?

Review was decent though

15-11-2007, 15:03:34

FarFarAway
Yep they will be forthcoming, didn't get a 3870 initially but I'll be sure to get one in soon

For 139 in the UK and $140 in the US it's a bargain card that performs almost as well as an 8800GT.

15-11-2007, 19:15:33

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Yep they will be forthcoming, didn't get a 3870 initially but I'll be sure to get one in soon

For 139 in the UK and $140 in the US it's a bargain card that performs almost as well as an 8800GT.
Sweet, thinking of CF 3870 (oh Rast, where are you?)

I love the direct conversion from $ to ... Import ftw!

23-01-2008, 09:35:35

Rastalovich
Tried not to bump too old a thread, but I`ve just noticed that PowerColor/Radeon/Sapphire are making an AGP 8x of the 3850.

Interesting for those holding onto 939 boards with their teeth.

Gotta get some decent results from that.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.