Powercolor HD3850 Extreme PCS - AMD 3850 Performance explored

Game Tests - UT3 Beta and Crysis Demo

UT3 Beta

UT3 runs on the Unreal 3 engine (really?? - Ed). Again it's a nice scalable engine and we played it in Vista using the DX10 setting. Remembering that UT3 is currently in the beta stage and so figures will not be final, let's see what the performance is like for UT3. UT3 was played at 1920 x 1200 with full settings in-game.

ut3 beta benchmark
 
The Powercolor HD3850 played the UT3 beta smoothly and it was a pleasure to play. The performance here was easily on par with the XFX 8800GT i rated highly in a previous review.

Crysis Beta

Crysis is also currently in beta stage so please be aware of this as you read the numbers. It is looking to be the game that really takes graphics forward and the only game coming out soon that fully utilises DirectX 10. DirectX 10 really looks like it is going to be taken to the next level with Crysis.

Note that Crysis was played at 1368 x 768 with details on "Very High" with 2 x AA, which was only very barely playable in DX10 for all the cards tested.

crysis benchmark


Crysis was the only game I felt that the HD3850 didn't fare so well at. The 8800GT barely limped along at an unplayable frame rate utilising the DX10 path on "Very high" settings and 2 x AA and the Powercolor HD3850 was actually unplayable.

Lowering the detail to "Medium" resulted in a much more playable game, but hell: it wouldn't be a benchmark if it wasn't tough would it?!
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-11-2007, 01:20:25

FarFarAway
Well it's release day and the day most of you have...well, not really known too much about I suppose!

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214353849s.jpg

Click for more

Digg it!

15-11-2007, 01:55:56

Nagaru
Nice review Kemp. Performance was a little underwhelming but it all depends on the price point really. I think on the first page hard should be harm.

15-11-2007, 12:12:17

FarFarAway
Cheers mate. Performance was pretty damn good if you ask me, 135 for a card that nearly performs as well as an 8800GT?

15-11-2007, 12:17:11

ali_james
Nice review there, I really thought I would have to be canceling my 8800gt order! But not quite. I've never had an Ati card, but I take it the price will be around 130 and up for pre oc'ed cards. Is the powercolor a reasonably middle of the road brand for Ati?

The cooler looks pretty decent, found a link to manufactures of them:

http://www.zerotherm.net/eng/product/GX815.asp

Nice one

15-11-2007, 12:25:29

ionicle
looks awsome

performs medeocre - reasonable

not bad i guess

15-11-2007, 12:47:35

!TIMMY!
ATI are back in the game, well sort of. I wonder when places will get them in stock.

15-11-2007, 12:56:49

ai_01
For a stock clocked 8800gt you can get it for 250 at zipzoomfly.com right now its out of stock but if anything its less. I do love the fact that ati is cutting down on power consumtion and higher temps.

15-11-2007, 13:09:07

Mr. Smith
Review a 3870? CF?

Review was decent though

15-11-2007, 15:03:34

FarFarAway
Yep they will be forthcoming, didn't get a 3870 initially but I'll be sure to get one in soon

For 139 in the UK and $140 in the US it's a bargain card that performs almost as well as an 8800GT.

15-11-2007, 19:15:33

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Yep they will be forthcoming, didn't get a 3870 initially but I'll be sure to get one in soon

For 139 in the UK and $140 in the US it's a bargain card that performs almost as well as an 8800GT.
Sweet, thinking of CF 3870 (oh Rast, where are you?)

I love the direct conversion from $ to ... Import ftw!

23-01-2008, 09:35:35

Rastalovich
Tried not to bump too old a thread, but I`ve just noticed that PowerColor/Radeon/Sapphire are making an AGP 8x of the 3850.

Interesting for those holding onto 939 boards with their teeth.

Gotta get some decent results from that.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.