Powercolor HD3850 Extreme PCS - AMD 3850 Performance explored

Game tests - Quake 4, CNC3 and Bioshock

Quake 4

Quake 4 is a game built on the Doom 3 engine. This uses many DX 9.0c features and is a game that nVidia traditionally did well on being an OpenGL game. Once again I did three two minute runs on Quake 4 on each card and took the average of all my readings from these. I played a fast and furious part of the game that required both internal and external scenes.

At Ultra settings in our game test, this should give the ATI card a good run for its money.

quake 4 benchmark
 
Quake 4 is a little bit of an older game and the HD3850 seemed to breeze it, playing at Ultra High detail with 4 x AA on and barely breaking a sweat.

Command and Conquer 3

C&C3 is the much awaited RTS from EA. Hugely popular and with some pretty nice visuals almost every modern PC should be able to play it. I tested a skirmish right at the end when I had a screen full of mechs to defeat the enemy. AA was set to the highest level it could be in-game.

After seeing how the HD3850 does in the other tests, this should be a breeze for it.

cnc 3 benchmark

Bioshock

Bioshock is a recent FPS shooter by 2K games. Based on the UT3 engine it has a large amount of advanced DirectX techniques including excellent water rendering and superb lighting and smoke techniques. I used the DirectX 10 path in Windows Vista to test the game in this part of the review.

bioshock benchmark

Again the Powercolor HD3850 made Bioshock playable at this high resolution and detail setting. This is an excellent performance from a card around the £120 mark.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-11-2007, 01:20:25

FarFarAway
Well it's release day and the day most of you have...well, not really known too much about I suppose!

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...214353849s.jpg

Click for more

Digg it!

15-11-2007, 01:55:56

Nagaru
Nice review Kemp. Performance was a little underwhelming but it all depends on the price point really. I think on the first page hard should be harm.

15-11-2007, 12:12:17

FarFarAway
Cheers mate. Performance was pretty damn good if you ask me, 135 for a card that nearly performs as well as an 8800GT?

15-11-2007, 12:17:11

ali_james
Nice review there, I really thought I would have to be canceling my 8800gt order! But not quite. I've never had an Ati card, but I take it the price will be around 130 and up for pre oc'ed cards. Is the powercolor a reasonably middle of the road brand for Ati?

The cooler looks pretty decent, found a link to manufactures of them:

http://www.zerotherm.net/eng/product/GX815.asp

Nice one

15-11-2007, 12:25:29

ionicle
looks awsome

performs medeocre - reasonable

not bad i guess

15-11-2007, 12:47:35

!TIMMY!
ATI are back in the game, well sort of. I wonder when places will get them in stock.

15-11-2007, 12:56:49

ai_01
For a stock clocked 8800gt you can get it for 250 at zipzoomfly.com right now its out of stock but if anything its less. I do love the fact that ati is cutting down on power consumtion and higher temps.

15-11-2007, 13:09:07

Mr. Smith
Review a 3870? CF?

Review was decent though

15-11-2007, 15:03:34

FarFarAway
Yep they will be forthcoming, didn't get a 3870 initially but I'll be sure to get one in soon

For 139 in the UK and $140 in the US it's a bargain card that performs almost as well as an 8800GT.

15-11-2007, 19:15:33

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Yep they will be forthcoming, didn't get a 3870 initially but I'll be sure to get one in soon

For 139 in the UK and $140 in the US it's a bargain card that performs almost as well as an 8800GT.
Sweet, thinking of CF 3870 (oh Rast, where are you?)

I love the direct conversion from $ to ... Import ftw!

23-01-2008, 09:35:35

Rastalovich
Tried not to bump too old a thread, but I`ve just noticed that PowerColor/Radeon/Sapphire are making an AGP 8x of the 3850.

Interesting for those holding onto 939 boards with their teeth.

Gotta get some decent results from that.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.