PowerColor Devil13 HD7990 Review

Conclusion

PowerColor Devil13 HD7990 Review

Conclusion

To say the PowerColor Devil13 is a pleasant surprise is an enormous understatement.

So often the 'two GPUs on a single PCB' cards are great performers, albeit problematic in areas. The GTX690 SLI took us ages to get working properly, the GTX590 is really two GTX570s rather than GTX580s, and the HD6990 was let down by the underlying quality of the Cayman XT GPUs. The only cards that have really made the most of the possibilities on offer is the ASUS Mars II, and that was rarer than hens teeth and equally expensive.

The PowerColor Devil13 is expensive. Let's not beat around the bush. It's amazingly expensive. But, and this is the thing that we can't help be constantly surprised about, it actually is good value. Or perhaps it's better to say that if we had spent the money on the card we wouldn't be disappointed. You're paying a large chunk of change, but getting a large chunk in return. The packaging is outstanding. From the wax seal to the high quality of the included accessories, everything about opening it up is an event. We all know that you want to enjoy the moment for as long as possible when you get a fresh new piece of hardware but more often than not the packaging is merely a delay before getting your hands on it. Not so with the Devil13.

Of course we'd be kidding ourselves if we weren't aware of the real reason you'd splash £800 on a GPU, and the Devil13 doesn't disappoint in that regard either. Barring a couple of titles it was the fastest, highest scoring, card we've ever tested. The only setup that regularly beat it was the GTX690 SLI arrangement and that's twice the price and GPUs. So in real-terms if you buy the Devil13 you'll not only have the ultimate thing to put in your forum signature but the results will back it up too. Probably most amazing is the fact that, with a combination of the way games are coded and planned, most of the titles in our review suite aren't even taking full advantage of the card. More often than not it's only 50 or 60% utilised.

If you're the type of person who skips to our conclusion then we have to repeat that here at OC3D we always test the version that you will buy in the shops, and PowerColor have fixed the heatsink pressure problems that were on their early prototypes.

Normally a product such as this receives our Performance Award. We don't live in a vacuum and understand that value for money and price have to be taken into consideration. But the Devil13 is so impressive, so comprehensive in its "top of the world" performance, that to give it anything other than a Gold Award would be doing it a disservice. It's awesome, and that's not something we often find ourselves saying. The best GPU on the planet.

     

Thanks to PowerColor for supplying the Devil13 for review. Discuss our findings in our OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-09-2012, 14:39:29

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...084613855l.JPG


The latest in the extraordinary Devil13 range from PowerColor is upon us. Does it deliver everything you desire?


Continue Reading

30-09-2012, 17:40:18

Master&Puppet
Jesus, that thing is unbelievable.

Still better off with 2 670s/7970s/7950s though.

30-09-2012, 18:10:10

Luscious
CF with a 2nd card and get back to us!

30-09-2012, 19:16:58

Excalabur50
Well it really did set the cat amoungst the pigeons!

01-10-2012, 00:03:44

Vicey
Nice card I guess but I have to admit these custom designed cards turn me off due to the difficulty in getting a water block for them. It feels like a card with a very limited market because the people who have the money and will to purchase such an obviously high end card are going to be the same people who water cool which would obviously limit its success in the market.

I wonder if they are partnering with EK or Swiftech to get a block for this thing? I don't know too much about it admittedly.

01-10-2012, 00:17:18

airdeano
good for power color! innovative and thinking outside the box. if the namesake
will not build a card, then so be it, they will. i was really meah.. until the afterburner
overclock and now thats what i think it should have come out of the box. not that
one couldn't do the same, but if left to the suppliers tool for performance, the
buyer would have been a lil sore. leaving a 20% performance gain on the table
at high end cost makes it better, but that should have already been binned for
customer appreciation.
really cool stuff from power color.. keep it up, 'cuz it looks like they are on their own

airdeano

01-10-2012, 04:26:37

Lollipop
I really don't like the look of triple slot coolers.

01-10-2012, 04:57:28

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master&Puppet View Post
Jesus, that thing is unbelievable.

Still better off with 2 670s/7970s/7950s though.

Only on price. Performance wise you need to go back and check the review / video

01-10-2012, 09:02:13

Master&Puppet
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Only on price. Performance wise you need to go back and check the review / video
Sure, although the price of the devil13 is actually less than I would have expected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luscious View Post
CF with a 2nd card and get back to us!
Here is my twin 7950 2.1 heaven bench (not 100% sure I've used the same settings as the review though).
http://i.imgur.com/MjTtm.jpg

Also a 3D Mark 11 performance score. Although I'm not sure of the Devil's graphics score (can't read it from the video) and I'm running on a 3570K so the physics score significantly reduces the Pscore.

01-10-2012, 09:29:52

Rastalovich
Great bit of engineering.

I question paying massive amounts of cash on cards that don't do 'everything' tho, mean not 'all the bells and whistles'.

02-10-2012, 21:04:57

NRG!
epeen card. Bit of the old exclusivity. Lol. Would be waaaay too loud for my liking though.

Glad you pointed out the frankly glaring error with logo/ backplate writing. Those are the kind of things that would put me off purchasing things in all honesty. (If i wasn't already such a silence freak).

10-10-2012, 16:35:09

toxic123
it looks awesome, takes 3 8pin pcie connectors, takes up 3 slots and performs amazingly. great job powercolor

13-10-2012, 15:52:35

Skoubo
I was thinking of buying one of theese cards but i'm in kind of a dilemma because i all so like the idea of 2 Asus 7970 that are watercooled.
So i need you guys to help me decide which one that i should pick?

13-10-2012, 16:22:24

FTR.4500MHz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skoubo View Post
I was thinking of buying one of theese cards but i'm in kind of a dilemma because i all so like the idea of 2 Asus 7970 that are watercooled.
So i need you guys to help me decide which one that i should pick?
7970 Watercooled Crossfire would be my choice ! =)

14-10-2012, 05:54:20

Skoubo
I'm leaning towards that as well
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.