PowerColor Devil13 HD7990 Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

PowerColor Devil13 HD7990 Review  

Introduction

Enthusiast based graphics cards, ones that come complete with all the bells and whistles, are usually to be found late in the lifespan of a particular GPU. Today we have a definite switch around of that concept as the PowerColor Devil13 HD7990 has appeared in our offices without much of a fanfare, and certainly without a reference HD7990 being hinted at, much less produced.

It's therefore perfectly possible that this will be the only HD7990 available. Two full-fat HD7970 cores in one card. It reminds us, conceptually, of the ASUS Ares. The Devil13 certainly matches up in terms of ambition and packaging, as well as price.

In some respects we're always nervous about dual-GPU cards. The power requirements and heat issues normally mean that the GPUs are cut-down from the top-end models. However, PowerColor have given us two full on Tahiti XT cores so it will be interesting to see if the card matches up against two solo HD7970s.

We have a lot to cover in this review, so let us crack on.

Technical Specifications

It's a positive beast of a thing. Triple slot cooler, 6GB of GDDR5, 3 8pin PCI-e power connections. It's extreme in every sense. 

Graphics EngineRADEON HD7990
Video Memory6GB GDDR5
Engine Clock925MHz / 1000MHz
Memory Clock1375MHz x 4 (5.5Gbps)
Memory Interface384bit X2
DirectX® Support11.1
Bus StandardPCIE 3.0
Standard Display ConnecorsDL DVI-I / SL DVI-D / HDMI / 2 X mini DisplayPort
OpenGLSupport
CrossFireX™ TechnologySupport
ATI Stream TechnologySupport
ATI Eyefinity TechnologySupport
VGA OutputYes, By DVI to VGA converter
DVI OutputDL-DVI-I/ SL-DVI-D
DisplayPortOn Board(mini DP) x2
HDMIOn Board
HDCP SupportSupport
VGA2048x1536
DVI2560x1600
DisplayPort4096x2160
HDMI4096x2160
Board Dimensions315mmx140mmx60mm
Minimum System Power requirement (W)850W
Extention Power Connectorthree 8-pin PCI Express Power connectors

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-09-2012, 14:39:29

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...084613855l.JPG


The latest in the extraordinary Devil13 range from PowerColor is upon us. Does it deliver everything you desire?


Continue Reading

30-09-2012, 17:40:18

Master&Puppet
Jesus, that thing is unbelievable.

Still better off with 2 670s/7970s/7950s though.

30-09-2012, 18:10:10

Luscious
CF with a 2nd card and get back to us!

30-09-2012, 19:16:58

Excalabur50
Well it really did set the cat amoungst the pigeons!

01-10-2012, 00:03:44

Vicey
Nice card I guess but I have to admit these custom designed cards turn me off due to the difficulty in getting a water block for them. It feels like a card with a very limited market because the people who have the money and will to purchase such an obviously high end card are going to be the same people who water cool which would obviously limit its success in the market.

I wonder if they are partnering with EK or Swiftech to get a block for this thing? I don't know too much about it admittedly.

01-10-2012, 00:17:18

airdeano
good for power color! innovative and thinking outside the box. if the namesake
will not build a card, then so be it, they will. i was really meah.. until the afterburner
overclock and now thats what i think it should have come out of the box. not that
one couldn't do the same, but if left to the suppliers tool for performance, the
buyer would have been a lil sore. leaving a 20% performance gain on the table
at high end cost makes it better, but that should have already been binned for
customer appreciation.
really cool stuff from power color.. keep it up, 'cuz it looks like they are on their own

airdeano

01-10-2012, 04:26:37

Lollipop
I really don't like the look of triple slot coolers.

01-10-2012, 04:57:28

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master&Puppet View Post
Jesus, that thing is unbelievable.

Still better off with 2 670s/7970s/7950s though.

Only on price. Performance wise you need to go back and check the review / video

01-10-2012, 09:02:13

Master&Puppet
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Only on price. Performance wise you need to go back and check the review / video
Sure, although the price of the devil13 is actually less than I would have expected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luscious View Post
CF with a 2nd card and get back to us!
Here is my twin 7950 2.1 heaven bench (not 100% sure I've used the same settings as the review though).
http://i.imgur.com/MjTtm.jpg

Also a 3D Mark 11 performance score. Although I'm not sure of the Devil's graphics score (can't read it from the video) and I'm running on a 3570K so the physics score significantly reduces the Pscore.

01-10-2012, 09:29:52

Rastalovich
Great bit of engineering.

I question paying massive amounts of cash on cards that don't do 'everything' tho, mean not 'all the bells and whistles'.

02-10-2012, 21:04:57

NRG!
epeen card. Bit of the old exclusivity. Lol. Would be waaaay too loud for my liking though.

Glad you pointed out the frankly glaring error with logo/ backplate writing. Those are the kind of things that would put me off purchasing things in all honesty. (If i wasn't already such a silence freak).

10-10-2012, 16:35:09

toxic123
it looks awesome, takes 3 8pin pcie connectors, takes up 3 slots and performs amazingly. great job powercolor

13-10-2012, 15:52:35

Skoubo
I was thinking of buying one of theese cards but i'm in kind of a dilemma because i all so like the idea of 2 Asus 7970 that are watercooled.
So i need you guys to help me decide which one that i should pick?

13-10-2012, 16:22:24

FTR.4500MHz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skoubo View Post
I was thinking of buying one of theese cards but i'm in kind of a dilemma because i all so like the idea of 2 Asus 7970 that are watercooled.
So i need you guys to help me decide which one that i should pick?
7970 Watercooled Crossfire would be my choice ! =)

14-10-2012, 05:54:20

Skoubo
I'm leaning towards that as well
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.