Palit GTX780 Ti Jetstream Review

Conclusion

Palit GTX780Ti Jetstream Review

Conclusion

There are a couple of things that are clear from our time spent with the Palit GTX780Ti Jetstream.

The first is that even the most exciting card to test can lead to results so amazingly consistent that we quickly run out of new ways to express them. Lots of fun to play with, not much fun to write about.

The second, and more important by far, result is that the enhanced cooling capabilities of the Jetstream cooler have benefits far beyond that of just being, well, cooler. nVidia's GPU Boost 2.0 technology works by converting spare thermal capacity into clock speed improvements, and throughout our testing it was clear how much of a benefit this can have. In every test, whether a synthetic benchmark or actual gameplay experience, the Palit comfortably out-performed the reference nVidia card, and in both the 1920x1080 and 2560x1440 resolutions too.

The one area we would have expected to be able to find some big gains, manual overclocking, actually didn't do better than the nVidia model. The memory was 50MHz shy of the huge score the nVidia GTX780Ti obtained, and the 13MHz extra boost clock speed of the Palit wasn't able to overcome it. It was extremely close, let their be no doubt, but perhaps a bridge too far.

We're not overly sold on the cooler. The triple fan design certainly keeps it cool and allows us to make the performance gains at stock that we saw. But the two little fans and one big one surrounded by a strange bronze effect in what is otherwise a sea of cheap-feeling black plastic is hardly something that reeks of quality, especially at the huge price that top-end GPUs are currently selling for. We know that complaining about the aesthetics of your GPU cooler is akin to bemoaning the cup-holders on your Porsche, but we want people to look at our system and get an instant grasp on how much it must have cost to put together. The Palit doesn't give that air of 'wow'. Another point is that Palit claim it is 7db quiter than the reference cooler, out of the box plumbed in and left we would go as far as to say it might be AS quieter but its never quieter, it is well worth pointing out it IS cooler though so maybe if you backed off the fans a bit they may still be able to make that claim.

This does mean that we have a nice clear result though. If what you want from a graphics card is to just buy it, plug it in, and then forget about it, the Palit GTX780Ti is absolutely the one for you. It's as blisteringly quick as we would expect a Kepler-based graphics card to be. It's phenomenally consistent, not flinching in any of our tests at all and, despite the Jetstream cooler, actually rocks up about the same MSRP as the ordinary GTX780Ti. Just don't expect it to manually overclock much beyond any similar GK110 card.

For excellent, no fuss, out of the box performance we're happy to award the Palit GTX780Ti Jetstream our OC3D Gamers Choice Award.

    

Thanks to Palit for supplying the GTX780Ti Jetstream for review. Discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-12-2013, 05:50:26

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...132443312l.JPG

Our first GTX780Ti with a non-reference cooler comes from Palit. Does this extra cooling unleash even more performance?

Continue Reading

06-12-2013, 07:33:15

T3chwarri0r
You may need a 4K-Res. Display for the next Generation of Graphics Cards to see if they can handle the next step of evolution ;-) ^^ :-D

06-12-2013, 07:47:55

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by T3chwarri0r View Post
You may need a 4K-Res. Display for the next Generation of Graphics Cards to see if they can handle the next step of evolution ;-) ^^ :-D
Thats a way off in our eyes both for us and the consumer matey

06-12-2013, 07:50:13

ShaunB-91
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Thats a way off in our eyes both for us and the consumer matey
Yeah like I can afford 4K, I wish. There will only be like 1% of these forums that get 4K in the next year.

06-12-2013, 07:53:27

Excalabur50
I wouldn't mind winning $4K LOL

06-12-2013, 07:56:51

ShaunB-91
Hmm just reading through this review,

You're getting over 60 fps with a 7970 at 1080, why am I only getting 21 at 1080 on my build? (Arkham Origins).

06-12-2013, 08:36:33

Watsyerproblem
Good review, 4k is rather pointless from a consumer review standpoint. It's far too pricey for 99.9% of people.

It would only be useful for an overkill3D video and then you need a manufacturer willing to give one away for review.

06-12-2013, 16:29:32

Luscious
Dell should be releasing their UP2414Q stateside Dec 16th. This 24 inch 3840x2160 monitor will be much cheaper than the Asus PQ321. I'll be trying to get my hands on one pending availability.

06-12-2013, 20:17:00

J0s3e
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunB-91 View Post
Hmm just reading through this review,

You're getting over 60 fps with a 7970 at 1080, why am I only getting 21 at 1080 on my build? (Arkham Origins).
That's Arkham City benchmark shown here matey, not Arkham origins..

06-12-2013, 20:42:14

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luscious View Post
Dell should be releasing their UP2414Q stateside Dec 16th. This 24 inch 3840x2160 monitor will be much cheaper than the Asus PQ321. I'll be trying to get my hands on one pending availability.
Ya i can bet it will be a 30hz 4k monitor. Also 24inch? Ya doubtfull. 1440p starts at 27inches, don't see how it could be 24.

07-12-2013, 02:13:33

Luscious
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Ya i can bet it will be a 30hz 4k monitor. Also 24inch? Ya doubtfull. 1440p starts at 27inches, don't see how it could be 24.
Specs below:

http://dcse.dell.com/us/en/gen/perip...-up2414q&s=gen

MSRP should be $1399. It runs @60Hz when using DP 1.2 and MST.

08-12-2013, 21:11:11

CommanderJ
I'm pretty certain Palit's own software in Master mode unlocks voltage on this card, yet the reviewer didn't mention that at all. Would be interesting to see if he could OC further when playing with voltage.

09-12-2013, 07:31:54

ShaunB-91
Quote:
Originally Posted by J0s3e View Post
That's Arkham City benchmark shown here matey, not Arkham origins..
Ahh I know, thats why I put it in brackets. Was kind of just throwing out there for suggestions.

10-12-2013, 06:47:25

Terodius
Dell will be releasing its 4K 24 and 28 inch screens with MSRPs of 999-1399 USD soon, which is a much more affordable price point than 3500 USD.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.