OverKILL-3D ASUS HD7970 Quadfire Madness

3D Mark 11

ASUS HD7970 Quadfire Madness

3D Mark 11

Similarly to the Vantage result, whereas we previously saw 22k and 11k in 3D Mark 11, this time round we've got 25481 in P-Score, and a mighty 12397 in the Extreme preset. To put that into context the MARS 2 SLI setup saw 7694 X Marks. Or, to look at it another way, by overclocking our cards we've gained a HD6970s worth of extra performance.

ASUS HD7970 Quadfire Madness

 

3DMark 11 P Score HWBOT Validation

 

3DMark 11 X Score HWBOT Validation

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-02-2012, 05:04:19

tinytomlogan


In combination with ASUS we're rerunning our Quadfire HD7970 test with the benefit of overclocking. Roll up, roll up.

Continue Reading

28-02-2012, 05:18:31

Ofan
Bonkers.......but I love it

28-02-2012, 05:22:35

Ofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ofan View Post

Bonkers.......but I love it
Truly bizarre when I post here it shows my profile picture as my last(fully n00b)rig....not my current one on profile

28-02-2012, 05:27:18

grammaton_feather
What PCIe bandwidth are the 4 x GPU's getting? x8 each?

Very impressive scores.

Will it run BF3 on Ultra?

28-02-2012, 05:31:02

Ofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by grammaton_feather View Post

What PCIe bandwidth are the 4 x GPU's getting? x8 each?

Very impressive scores.

Will it run BF3 on Ultra?
I suspect it will run N.A.S.A on ultra and with a fat overclock too. I understand all the lanes run at 8x

28-02-2012, 05:31:26

grammaton_feather
"4 x PCIe 3.0/2.0 x16 (x16; x16/x16; x16/x8/x16 and x16/x8/x8/x8, red) *1"

28-02-2012, 05:32:57

ExtremeBB
I want Tom's playing hours

al tho then i am afraid i will put Folding on it , POS for F@H or NOT

28-02-2012, 05:44:31

yassarikhan786
Mouth watering results

28-02-2012, 05:47:28

Ofan
Even with these cards is there an appreciable difference with x8 vs x16? I know for the last gen of card it didn't really make any odds, are these new gens of cards so fast that the x8 slows them any? The PCie.3 review Tom did showed that the new standard didn't really make much difference to performance.

28-02-2012, 05:55:37

Excalabur50
CONGRATS on being No1 in Britain, Awesome review as always

28-02-2012, 07:12:28

SieB
OC3D - breaking hearts and setting world records http://i.imgur.com/oqYN6l.gif

Now bring on the DICE

28-02-2012, 07:53:14

dugdiamond
hey guys

when LIKING the vids on YT, please hit the +1 button too

it helps TTL make us more nerd pr0n like this beauty

thanx for doing this tom - we lurves ya

28-02-2012, 07:55:09

Azurite
Awesome scores and review. How far could you push that cpu with proper wc?

Would be fun to see some benches with dice also :-)

28-02-2012, 09:12:35

badtaylorx
glad i looked back .....thought this was a rerun

28-02-2012, 09:41:04

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azurite View Post

Awesome scores and review. How far could you push that cpu with proper wc? Would be fun to see some benches with dice also :-)
Water wont make any difference, temps are not the problem here.

28-02-2012, 10:13:59

Legacy-ZA
Tom, I have been wondering, since you are held back by the CPU, do you perhaps have a EVGA Classified Super Record 2 (SR-2) Motherboard lying around there somewhere with two high end 1366 Xeon processors to go with it? I know it's an older architecture but maybe that will give you that little bit extra that you need?

It sure would make an interesting review if it did.

28-02-2012, 12:20:44

Rasmus66
Dammit TTL bring out the dice and cool that cpu

5400 MHz on the cpu and the score whould a been 75000+ in vantage

28-02-2012, 12:23:34

Ron
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExtremeBB View Post

I want Tom's playing hours

al tho then i am afraid i will put Folding on it , POS for F@H or NOT
What an amazing rig, but you are right in saying its just like a Veyron. Look but dont bother touching as you cant afford the fuel to run the thing.

Reason I reply to your post is coz I love your quote, BUT.. What happens if the iron is no longer an option? Mind and body on different wavelengths... That is the worst thing life can do to someone that has truely seen and enjoyed life O.C'd.

28-02-2012, 12:57:26

PetrolHead247
Those scores were insane! Honestly, i fear what sort of scores you could do with the CPU at a higher clock. 3960X under dice would absolutely demolish those benchmarks.

28-02-2012, 13:49:51

Azurite
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Water wont make any difference, temps are not the problem here.
Ok :-)

28-02-2012, 14:36:46

trazom
wow I really need to stop the beer, I see double ... twice.

Otherwise good review as usual.

02-03-2012, 14:29:07

cz3141
Out-freekin-standing. Questions...

Given the sys setup:

4x ASUS Radeon HD7970 @ 1225MHz

Catalyst HD7970 Drivers 11.12

Intel Core i7-3960X @ 4.8GHz

ASUS Rampage IV Extreme

2x Corsair AX1200W

Corsair GTX8

Corsair H100

Noctua NF-F12 Fans

Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Are two 1200W PSU really needed? Did I completely overlook them, or were there no power draw figures provided in this review? Other reviews of quad 7970 (not overclocked, but under heavy load) showed power consumption north of ~830W. Would be curious to see the power consumption digits for this rig as reviewed.

Great work, hoping to match it

cz

02-03-2012, 14:42:36

PetrolHead247
Quote:
Originally Posted by cz3141 View Post
Are two 1200W PSU really needed?
He needed 2 PSU's because there isn't enough PCI-E power connectors on a single PSU.

Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.