nVidia GTX760 Review

Alien vs Predator

nVidia GTX760 Review

AvP

As the oldest benchmark in our suite, Alien vs Predator is the one with the biggest back catalogue of results. The first thing to note is that the GTX760 gives the same 88.6 FPS average whether at stock or overclocked. For comparison the GTX670 was nearer 100FPS and the HD7870 is around the same performance as the GTX760, albeit for much less money. 

 

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-06-2013, 08:49:49

tinytomlogan
The latest mid-priced card from nVidia is the GTX760. Has it got enough stuff to pique our interest?


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121725718l.jpg


Continue Reading

25-06-2013, 08:56:18

AverageNinja
Thanks for the review Tom!
Reading through it now!
I've been excited for this card. If it's better/similair to the 660 Ti it might end up in my next rig

25-06-2013, 09:09:42

BradKing
Thanks for the review Tom, quick question: on page 1 it mentions a 230 pounds price while on page 17 it's 210 pounds?

Was really hoping to see how these were compared to the 660 TI cards, oh well. Sure hope they come in at a lower price, just can't see myself going for these for a new system otherwise, much rather stay with older cards then.

25-06-2013, 09:18:17

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by BradKing View Post
Thanks for the review Tom, quick question: on page 1 it mentions a 230 pounds price while on page 17 it's 210 pounds?

Was really hoping to see how these were compared to the 660 TI cards, oh well. Sure hope they come in at a lower price, just can't see myself going for these for a new system otherwise, much rather stay with older cards then.
Aria have a reference one on preorder for 190, not bad at that price.

https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...roductId=56211

25-06-2013, 10:30:19

VonBlade
Re the price issue. Our reviews are often written prior to NDAs being lifted and so we can only go on the price that retailers think the product will arrive at. It's why we have a price link at the top of the page which covers the actual cost.

But you're all intelligent people. We're sure that you can understand prices are subject to change... can't you?

However, on the off-chance that you're unable to read the price at the top, or reconcile the difference between a MSRP and actual street price, I've edited the first page to reflect the actual price.

25-06-2013, 11:25:53

BradKing
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
Re the price issue. Our reviews are often written prior to NDAs being lifted and so we can only go on the price that retailers think the product will arrive at. It's why we have a price link at the top of the page which covers the actual cost.

But you're all intelligent people. We're sure that you can understand prices are subject to change... can't you?

However, on the off-chance that you're unable to read the price at the top, or reconcile the difference between a MSRP and actual street price, I've edited the first page to reflect the actual price.
^^ thnx, prices are indeed subject to change, just didn't expect them to change within the review itself

It has a 240 euro suggested price over here, with prices at Aria coming in at ~190 pound I am indeed expecting ~225 euro prices over here, making it a pretty nice price, still a bit below the 7950 and 660 ti's. Still, it's hard to pick a gpu solution for higher than 1080p resolutions, looking forward to 760 sli tests

25-06-2013, 12:14:17

Feronix
So with this gap between the 760 and the 770, can we expect the 760 Ti?

25-06-2013, 15:24:01

FTLN
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Today's review, the GTX760, is a rebadged GTX670.

How can this be a rebadge if it has less cuda cores ??

25-06-2013, 18:49:06

CalVic
Interesting review.

I'm currently running a 560Ti 448 Edition. The 760 might just be the card to upgrade too. Still unsure however.

25-06-2013, 18:50:34

Remmy
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
How can this be a rebadge if it has less cuda cores ??
I heard they just cut some of the cores off with some scissors

25-06-2013, 19:08:02

SieB
Yeah, the 760 is basically a slightly cut down 670 with a larger memory bandwidth.
Like the 770 was a slightly faster 680, the 760 is a slightly slower 670.

Same PCB and GPU core, all they have done is taken the the 670 and changed a few things and named it the 760.

For the price though, it's the best midrange card out at the moment, it mostly beats the 7950 and 660TI anyway. Like Tom said in the review though, if you already have a AMD or Nvidia card from this generation, then no point in getting one. But for those upgrading it's the card to get at them moment.

25-06-2013, 22:41:52

Kopesetic
Was about to order the Maximus VI Gene for my new rig build until I saw this. Went ahead and got one of these instead to start with. Can't wait to finish my Haswell rig and see what this puppy can do.

25-06-2013, 23:38:09

CalVic
I'm pretty close to pre-ordering from Aria, but to be honest I may just wait out and see if there's going to be a Ti version.

26-06-2013, 00:23:25

garih
on aria the 760 windforce is the same price as the 7950 xfx DD, i know which one i would order, (not team green)

26-06-2013, 01:56:44

AverageNinja
I was going to say I was going to like the 760 DCU2, but it has no backplate and a pretty small pcb. So it's going to be either the EVGA ACX or the MSI 760 Gaming Edition

26-06-2013, 04:52:50

Nine Iron
I hope some of the vendor versions come with a reduced-length cooler - as an mATX'er, I really don't like these cards with so much unnecessary arse hanging off the back of the PCB.

26-06-2013, 05:02:46

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by garih View Post
on aria the 760 windforce is the same price as the 7950 xfx DD, i know which one i would order, (not team green)

Id actually buy the 7870 Tahiti LE and overclock it and save even more money tbh.

27-06-2013, 16:35:45

Ferrariman
I realize a lot of lads here live in the UK, but to those who live in the US, the pricing is really advantageous to the GTX 760. HD7870s are going for $215-245 new, and a HD7950 will be from $290-320. The 660ti (which the 760 beats) is around $300. I just ordered my GTX 760 SC from EVGA with the ACX cooler for only $259 and I've seen a lot of situations in which it will match a 7950 (only in certain games of course). Seems like a good deal, just another view guys.

30-06-2013, 19:01:42

VerocityRequiem
So I've been using a 560Ti for the last couple of years, but it's just not realistic to get "Good" frame rates running games like Far Cry 3 or Battlefield 3 whilst in 3D.

I'm seriously hoping the GTX 760Ti will be coming out, I could wait until late August time or I could just get a 760 instead of waiting for a card that's not coming

I'm not exactly loaded so I'm wondering if upgrading will be worth it at all in terms of real world performance with a GTX 760/760Ti

02-07-2013, 11:44:38

fadithegenius
That's totally a beast inside

16-07-2013, 05:42:20

angel247
VerocityRequiem , as tom said in the review , it's not really an upgrade if you have a gtx660 and want to upgrade , but from your gtx560ti i think its a good idea 2 upgrade . I had the gtx660 and finished crysis3 and metro last light with medium and high settings 1920x1080 . Think that gtx760 is between gtx660 and gtx670 and u can find lots of offers out there, I say GO 4 it :P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.