nVidia GTX570 Review

FarCry 2 and Metro 2033

nVidia GTX570 Review

FarCry 2

FarCry 2 clearly doesn't stress the modern capabilities of the cards and is rather more dependant upon pure power as the GTX570 comes behind all of the top-end models.

 

Metro 2033

We see the same results in the fearsomely high detail Metro 2033 but for the opposite reason. Whereas in FarCry 2 its DirectX 10 and so prefers just horsepower, Metro 2033 takes everything DirectX 11 has to offer and it's here when the lesser abilities of the GTX570 finally catch up with it. 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-12-2010, 08:55:21

tinytomlogan
Is the newly released GTX580 a bit too steep for your wallet? Today we take a look at the GTX570 to see if it can keep up the performance of its sibling.

Continue Reading

07-12-2010, 09:07:29

Stromatolites
Now look what you have gone and done. You have made me reach for my wallet....

07-12-2010, 09:14:11

Mr. Strawberry
i think i am in love lol

07-12-2010, 09:17:19

hmmblah
Fits right where we expected. I would have liked to have seen 470 results in there as well because I am sure a lot of people will be trying to decide between the lower priced 470 and the new-kid-on-the-block 570. Nice review though. I hope nVidia can keep on this path of winning cards for awhile. It will be interesting to see what AMD fires back with at the $350 price range.

How early did you get 3DMark 11?

07-12-2010, 09:17:21

khorngor
Tom what would you recon is best, a 580 gtx overclocked or 2x MSI 460 GTX Hawk overclocked?

And will you do a review of the MSI 460 GTX Hawk?

07-12-2010, 09:28:13

Heebs
I saw the AMD 1100T review and thought to myself, the 570 review is bigger news, is Tom on crack?

Great review again.

No point to do a 460 GTX Hawk review, its a great card, its got a better cooler than reference and arguably can handle over voltage without issue. Honestly, I'd go and pick up a 570 before I dropped money on a 2x GTX 460 Hawk configuration.

07-12-2010, 09:34:20

khorngor
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heebs View Post

I saw the AMD 1100T review and thought to myself, the 570 review is bigger news, is Tom on crack?

Great review again.

No point to do a 460 GTX Hawk review, its a great card, its got a better cooler than reference and arguably can handle over voltage without issue. Honestly, I'd go and pick up a 570 before I dropped money on a 2x GTX 460 Hawk configuration.
Guess ill just pick up a single 580 then rather than 2x 460, just figured that overclocked 2x 460s would do near identical preformance for a 100 less.

But i guess that was wishful thinking

07-12-2010, 09:36:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post

Fits right where we expected. I would have liked to have seen 470 results in there as well because I am sure a lot of people will be trying to decide between the lower priced 470 and the new-kid-on-the-block 570. Nice review though. I hope nVidia can keep on this path of winning cards for awhile. It will be interesting to see what AMD fires back with at the $350 price range.

How early did you get 3DMark 11?
We havnt really tested a 470 and the fact it kills a 480 should be enough for you to use your noggin.

Had 3d11 for the first launch before we were asked to stay quiet for the 'patch'

07-12-2010, 09:38:22

Mr. Strawberry
looking on HWbot it needs another patch for SLI scaling so i also need to sort that out later?

07-12-2010, 09:39:08

Heebs
Quote:
Originally Posted by khorngor View Post

Guess ill just pick up a single 580 then rather than 2x 460, just figured that overclocked 2x 460s would do near identical preformance for a 100 less.

But i guess that was wishful thinking
This should help

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2010/12/02/geforce_gtx_580_vs_460_1gb_sli/3

07-12-2010, 09:47:29

hmmblah
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

We havnt really tested a 470 and the fact it kills a 480 should be enough for you to use your noggin.
Oh, I most certainly can use my noggin, occasionally . It wasn't for us regulars here, but I can see the threads already, "What's better, 570 or 470?" It also helps people to decide if the extra performance justifies the extra premium or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'

Had 3d11 for the first launch before we were asked to stay quiet for the 'patch'
You do way too good of a job at keeping quiet. I'd be bursting at the seams keeping quiet with all these NDAs . Or at least be as giddy as a schoolgirl.

07-12-2010, 09:47:36

khorngor
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heebs View Post
Ah thanks, seems i've missunderstood how SLI works, this speaks of the advantage the 580 has because of its greater memory, i thought the two cards would just share the total of 2gb ram, and by that do better than a single card just having 1.5gb

07-12-2010, 10:39:59

F-alienware
Trust me to be busy

What a card eh? Good to see though that the temps are the same as mine, though mine probably makes three times the noise

Thanks as ever for the review Thomas, top stuff

ED. OCUK have these in stock now, though only the EVGA @ 309.99.

Gotta say tho, EVGA's best looking sticker yet

Also. 3DM11.. OMG, getting now. That deep sea thing looks ufking amazing !

07-12-2010, 12:12:29

AMDFTW
294 at scan

hmm as i have no gpu so unless i win them 460's this is were my money shall be going

07-12-2010, 12:15:20

Heebs
People are already ranting that the 6870 is a better buy than the 570. IS there a 100 dollar difference?

07-12-2010, 12:30:10

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heebs View Post

People are already ranting that the 6870 is a better buy than the 570. IS there a 100 dollar difference?
Let people rant imho, this walks over a 6870, the ATI equiv we hope will be the 6950.

07-12-2010, 12:44:41

thestepster
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

294 at scan

hmm as i have no gpu so unless i win them 460's this is were my money shall be going
im tempted to sell up for one of these!

07-12-2010, 13:15:50

AMDFTW
wouldent sli 460s beat it?

07-12-2010, 13:16:47

thestepster
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

wouldent sli 460s beat it?
im wanting to upgrade cards gettin bored of my hardware! would want to run 3 of them in time

07-12-2010, 13:21:42

AMDFTW
if you can seel all ur 460's and be able to aford three 570's then i would say go for it fella

07-12-2010, 13:23:36

thestepster
i wont be running them as tri sli, basically 3 of them for folding purposes! and gamin even tho dunno how they fold wasnt in the review

cause those new 6800's are really heavy

07-12-2010, 13:24:29

AMDFTW
yer i assumed you would be folding lol.

if it can be done then do it mate

07-12-2010, 13:25:50

thestepster
yeah too right i think i might wait off on my first one till the non reference ones come out with voltage tweaking

07-12-2010, 13:26:58

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

wouldent sli 460s beat it?
Right about the same I would imagine.

A single 470 can score around the 20k mark in Vantage on performance (the regular setting at the beginning). A 460 scores around 16k IIRC. SLI gives you about 70% speed boost so let's guess at the 30k mark tops. A 570 seems to do a good job of that. And, when you consider that a pair of 460s is slightly faster than a stock 480, and that a 570 is slightly faster than a stock 480..

Seems about balanced to me. However, you have one card, cooler, pulling less power and putting out the same results. It's about chuffing time Nvidia gave THAT kind of performance to price on a single card. Cos up until THIS card they were out pricing all of their single cards with SLI lmao.

For example. A pair of 450s poos on a 470. A pair of 460s poos on a 480. A pair of either is considerably cheaper and cooler than the big boys.

Mind you, ATI were doing it too

Bloody silly billies

07-12-2010, 13:36:29

Heebs
I cant wait for next week, going to be awesome with the hopeful renewal of the price wars for Christmas shopping!

Going to have to sell my 460 Hawk

07-12-2010, 13:38:26

thestepster
u can get 30-31k with 768 460's 1gb's do a decent bit more

07-12-2010, 14:18:09

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestepster View Post

u can get 30-31k with 768 460's 1gb's do a decent bit more
Seems about perfectly matched then really. So, no point at all in switching unless -

You want less noise and power consumption.

You intend on using more than one to get more PPD out of less slots. Or, more PPD out of the same ammount of slots.

Personally bro I wouldn't bother. At least not for now

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heebs View Post

I cant wait for next week, going to be awesome with the hopeful renewal of the price wars for Christmas shopping!

Going to have to sell my 460 Hawk
You absolutely and utterly will not get one of these on the cheap. They are the newest technology and the price will not drop.

What is likely to happen is that we will see a repeat of ATI's chrimbo bo**ocks and they will sell out til March and then go up in price

07-12-2010, 14:22:12

PCTwin
Since I swapped out my 8800GTS for the HD4890 I've had no reason to go back to nvidia. Is this my reason.

O gotta pay the bank a visit. time for a new system

07-12-2010, 19:17:23

SpriteAlpha
Just picked up one for 240. Now that's a good deal.

07-12-2010, 19:18:11

thestepster
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpriteAlpha View Post

Just picked up one for 240. Now that's a good deal.
where?

07-12-2010, 19:27:59

SpriteAlpha
Am I allowed to post things like that on this site? The rules say "no promotion of other websites allowed", so I want to check first.

07-12-2010, 19:29:54

Mr. Strawberry
think that means promotion of other hardware review sites

07-12-2010, 19:39:30

SpriteAlpha
Oh, OK. In that case, I got it from Dabs. It's 260 there, but if you pay through Quidco you get a 10 off voucher (valid until the end of Sunday), which brings it down to 250. In addition, paying this way earns you 4% cashback, which knocks around another tenner off the price, albeit you won't be refunded the cashback instantly. But in any case, you're essentially paying only 240 for the card.

07-12-2010, 19:43:06

thestepster
nice makes the card even more tempting!

07-12-2010, 19:43:26

Mr. Strawberry
agreed lol

07-12-2010, 19:45:57

SpriteAlpha
Stocks are low though. I predict supply of this card will be as poor as the 580 for the short-term - but I'm just speculating.

07-12-2010, 19:46:32

thestepster
looks at his 3 460's and they are shaking at gettin replaced so soon ha ha

07-12-2010, 19:47:55

Mr. Strawberry
read the other day the UK got 3000 of these bad boys in so hopefully stock will last around the UK but at 240 doubt it will last at dabs lol

08-12-2010, 11:06:38

Todd
Hmm, takes the price-performance crown off the 460 SLI? I don't think so.

08-12-2010, 11:10:31

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestepster View Post

looks at his 3 460's and they are shaking at gettin replaced so soon ha ha
I see some very nice F@H numbers coming

Im picking up my second GTX470 tomorrow or saturday...

08-12-2010, 11:19:26

thestepster
yeah ever since i heard there numbers are going to start to get humped more and more over time i want to upgrade them to better ones, less points overall but better cards in time that will last longer

08-12-2010, 12:48:45

murphy7801
SLI review please

09-12-2010, 06:44:17

SnW
Folding numbers or still NO time as with the GTX580 ?

NVM this will do,



18-12-2010, 16:48:31

murphy7801
Does anyone when the gainward gtx 570 gs-glh is coming out ?

19-12-2010, 04:54:26

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post


You guys are more experienced folders than I am, but would you say, ignoring the model numbers for a minute, that the folding performance is proportional to the number of cores each of these has ?

i.e. the folding performance is the same X core numbers ?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.